Scoots 3rd Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Thanks for the 'ray of hope' .... But seriously tho, I feel semicon is definitely NOT a place to be anymore. Competition from China, Taiwan, Malaysia and India. Singapore fabs will definitely be hard pressed on earnings, hence won't be able to pay well. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Yo... we can try for thre Professional Engineer certification. Local university's engineering degreee recognised. I have a Uni friend who was working for MOM after he graduated. Last I saw him, he was working as a PE in his own company.... *Sigh* ... people PE, earn good $$, I also PE, but earn peanuts (NOT Durai's peanuts) Difference is in the P... his is 'Professional'; mine is 'Process'.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 semicon normally pay very high extra shift allowance, etc. my fren a supervisor getting close 3k without OT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 i disagree to a certain extent. i am in the semicon line too. But it will depend on which field you working within semicon. For instance, setting up of various regional headquarters in SG would mean good for pple looking at supplier management, purchasing, planning, sales, technical support. But of course that would mean that low end manufacturing will be moving out. higher value add portion of the semicon such as foundry's business should also continue to thrive. Recent addition of Soitec, Qimonda, Siltronic should back this point.It is competitive, but at least we know we have a job for the next 10-20 years. China competition may seem strong, but it have its own inherent problems which may surface in time to come... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Ya, thats why i am having the impression that engineers in the semicon industries are well quite well paid, though they might not be the highest, but definately way above average. Many engineers in their mid-late 20s easily grossing 4K +/-. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Not disputing the fact that those companies moving in to Singapore are the highlights for semicon scene, I feel that it's not anything to jump about. Samsung-Siltronic is pretty much a co-operation between a supplier and consumer (one secures wafer substrate supply, one secures a big, long term customer) Qimonda still kinda uncertain. Bottom line is that there's no new tecnology/products that will drive another upturn. Basically all semicon fabs are doing what they can to compete on output, pricing and quality of existing products. With more players rising out of low cost areas, the fabs in Singapore will be hard pressed on being competitiveness. If the semicon fabs are your CUSTOMERS, then yes, those SUPPLIERS should very well look at this as an opportunity, but that hardly place them as being IN the semicon industry ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 qimonda is not uncertain. its already fixed. hiring is ongoing actually. There's also a JV for a manufacturing site to be built in JB. You do not need exactly new technology to drive an upturn. the consumer products are out there just as fishes in the pond. Look at TECH, they have one customer only and they are receiving a good payout every year. I not saying the picture is as rosy as TECH for everyone else, but just like in hard disk, its the value add that is going to stay in SG. With these guys coming in, it means job openings, though not as many as those labor-intensive lower end manufacturing. Bottom line is, stay optimistic, and map out which area of this field you want to be Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Thanks for the 'ray of hope' .... But seriously tho, I feel semicon is definitely NOT a place to be anymore. Competition from China, Taiwan, Malaysia and India. Singapore fabs will definitely be hard pressed on earnings, hence won't be able to pay well. you cannot discuss these so rigidly... it all boils down to that piece of face you have... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 (edited) semicon normally pay very high extra shift allowance, etc. my fren a supervisor getting close 3k without OT. u saying 3K is high? Edited February 20, 2008 by UncleWolve Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 yes. a supervisor normally is diploma grad. fresh diploma grad now get 2k+ if signed on with uniformed groups. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 never see big snake pee before hor... say 3K is high Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 (edited) pee nuts are expensive k 600K to be exact Edited February 20, 2008 by Mazda_mad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 qimonda is not uncertain. its already fixed. hiring is ongoing actually.There's also a JV for a manufacturing site to be built in JB. You do not need exactly new technology to drive an upturn. the consumer products are out there just as fishes in the pond. Look at TECH, they have one customer only and they are receiving a good payout every year. I not saying the picture is as rosy as TECH for everyone else, but just like in hard disk, its the value add that is going to stay in SG. With these guys coming in, it means job openings, though not as many as those labor-intensive lower end manufacturing. Bottom line is, stay optimistic, and map out which area of this field you want to be TECH used to enjoy 6-10 months bonus. IIRC around 2002-2004, no bonus... not sure about the situation now. When PCs evolved from 486s -> Pentium, consumers change PCs rather frequently. Now do we need to change PCs that soon? When handphones became available, the world was a market. Now that handphones are pretty much 'standard eqipment', do we change handphones that frequently? The way I see it is that demand is diminishing. Supply is increasing. Competition is increasing (and from lower cost areas). Jobs may still keep, but will engineers be paid well?... I don't think so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Thanks for the 'ray of hope' .... But seriously tho, I feel semicon is definitely NOT a place to be anymore. Competition from China, Taiwan, Malaysia and India. Singapore fabs will definitely be hard pressed on earnings, hence won't be able to pay well. you cannot discuss these so rigidly... it all boils down to that piece of face you have... Like that jialat liow lor ... not a good looker. Somemore work in fab face covered all the time.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yunfeng Neutral Newbie February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Like that jialat liow lor ... not a good looker. Somemore work in fab face covered all the time.... ________________________________________________________________________________ _________ ... u working as engineer in Fab ? Which Fab u working in (200mm, 300mm .. etc) Normally ppl working in Fab have lots of OT one .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparespares Neutral Newbie February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 that is a very miopic view of the semicon industry. the semicon content in consumer electronics and cars have actually been increasing..... hence, the demand for semiconductor is increasing year on year.....from a per unit basis.... the problem is the price erosion.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Hmm.... true. I was only thinking about those products I'm familiar in. Not sure about developments in automotive or medical side. But as you have pointed out: price erosion. That's a result of rising low cost areas and competition. So it looks like the supply is increasing more than the demand. Still not good for us... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Working as vendor. Mainly in 200mn but also have touched on 150mm and 300mm.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...