Is Engineering - A dead end career ??

Cavver

not bad sia, looks good on ur cv. u intend go which field? maybe u can apply to be project lead, with your experience. Maybe in charge of helpdesk or a team of support engineers. U have a future in that, trust me [thumbsup][;)]

As above .

Very scarely sia ,, I'm still a poly student @ engin [:(][sweatdrop][sweatdrop][:(]

Read the statistics that are published in the papers from time to time. Companies that get 6 month bonuses, are they from engine? No.

Shortage and poaching of employees, are they from engine? No.

Percentage pay rises, engine top? No.

Industry salary, engine top? No.

Pay of graduates after a few years at work, engine top? No.

Singapore aiming to be service and FINANCE/BANKING centre, is engine the focus? No.

Some idiotic minister previously said that local engineers are paid moe than Aussies and US engineers so pay must be controlled. He promptly STFU after MOM revealed statistics that proved him wrong. The fact is engineering pay has been kept low to make singapore competitive all along, so it has stuck and will take time to change, can you wait?

Sure you will make a living, but if you are after pay, its not the industry to be in, sure some will make it big, just like someone will strike TOTO this thursday, but look at the statistics. Look at average chance.

And remember, China India etc produces more engineers than they can use, so where do those engineers go? Here apparently.

By all means, get an engineering education, but you dont have to do hard engineering work after that.

Actually very keen in IT sec, wanna to take CEH but kinda lazy now. Furthermore without relevant IT sec experiences it is difficult to go into. [:(]

Project lead? bro... i worked in O&S for 6yrs+ liao leh. Si bei sianz already... [rolleyes]

me also lazy now....if wanna take another course, will need to strive hard. if u really keen IT security, try ur best get certifications....

haha...then maybe u can head for other fields....but it is always easier to get good pay based on ur previous experience. Hope this help.

As above .

Very scarely sia ,, I'm still a poly student @ engin [:(][sweatdrop][sweatdrop][:(]

Every 'career' is an DEAD end career if you don't enjoy what you are doing and get the satisfaction that comes every day after a day's work! [sly]

But then again dispensing such quotes to a young chap like you...is just like having water over a duck's back! [laugh][laugh]

casket service u need to ask RadX ley.. tongue.gif

marine really pays well this days... sales a lot of paperwork and after sales to follow up..but sales let u meet more other people in related field.. maybe your future employers..

siang ka pagerunimpressed.gifunimpressed.gifunimpressed.gif

[wave][wave] hihi....

if you are my son, i will poke yr eyes, break yr legs and chop off yr fingers before throwing you into the slums to work as a beggar

bcos i think that way, you will have a brighter future than being an engineer

enough testimony for you ?

As above .

Engineering is a good stepping stone for bigger things to come down the road... be it semicon, marine, biochem, petroleum, civil or mechanical

key is increasing portfolio... you cannot be stuck to engineering for 10yrs and expect to excel... unless you are very technically inclined... getting into research/professional licences

It makes no business sense to the company running production/operation to keep experienced engineers at 6~8k mth running line which can be replaced by fresh grads or FT...dead end

Increasing portfolio means getting into sales, finance, mkting and even HR... you have the edge

Take heart... alot of senior management/executive board are engineers by training

As above .

Very scarely sia ,, I'm still a poly student @ engin frown.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.giffrown.gif

Read the statistics that are published in the papers from time to time. Companies that get 6 month bonuses, are they from engine? No.

Shortage and poaching of employees, are they from engine? No.

Percentage pay rises, engine top? No.

Industry salary, engine top? No.

Pay of graduates after a few years at work, engine top? No.

Singapore aiming to be service and FINANCE/BANKING centre, is engine the focus? No.

Some idiotic minister previously said that local engineers are paid moe than Aussies and US engineers so pay must be controlled. He promptly STFU after MOM revealed statistics that proved him wrong. The fact is engineering pay has been kept low to make singapore competitive all along, so it has stuck and will take time to change, can you wait?

Sure you will make a living, but if you are after pay, its not the industry to be in, sure some will make it big, just like someone will strike TOTO this thursday, but look at the statistics. Look at average chance.

And remember, China India etc produces more engineers than they can use, so where do those engineers go? Here apparently.

By all means, get an engineering education, but you dont have to do hard engineering work after that.

like what i told the other bros, dun make engineering sound so bad....especially semicon....

i do know of engineers getting > 6 months bonus.....