RadX Moderator February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 casket service u need to ask RadX ley.. marine really pays well this days... sales a lot of paperwork and after sales to follow up..but sales let u meet more other people in related field.. maybe your future employers.. siang ka pager ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krieger 5th Gear February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 Quite a few engineering (Mechanical) guys i knew in Marine. I must say their job and pay is quite good, even in bad times. But then, they come to see me more often as compared to other prof. They suffer from stress, minor physical injuries (Strain etc). Oh ya, the hours... Their OT is erhem...i must say can reach half of what they earn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 yes it is a dead end, i know cos im an engineer in semiconductor industry. lots of engineers from china / india / philipines / myanmar and malaysia willing to do the job. it gets especially worse when your boss/supervisor is from the above and he will tend to hire and promote his own kind ahead of you. and when you are a singaporean with NS liability, u can forget about moving ahead... if u dont believe, try the big semiconductor company in yishun... then u will know what i mean Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 Finish your engin diploma but pursue a business/accountancy degree. With this combination, you can enjoy both sides of the cake. Me currently in IT, damn sick of it. thot of taking a deg but dunno leh... so sick of IT already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 personally i study in mechatronic. Me also study mechatronics. When I graduate that time in mid 1990s, no local university. So I have to switch course. Once I switch course, it means that I switch my career path. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 IT has a very bright future. but you must be good. being mediocre in any field wont get u anywhere. With the 2008 budget focusing on innovation, and the shortage of IT pro here. the future is v bright. dont give up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheerios Neutral Newbie February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 then why not join stat board... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 Shortage of IT pro here meh? I see many Ah tiong n Ah neh in IT leh, see until ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 No certs leh... Stat board need toilet paper de. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 are u an engine grad from poly? if so, stick to IT or engine... if u got interest in biz studies dan further ur studies in tis area, if not further ur studies in engine and u can work both IT and engine... I am a part time undergrad in engine, working full-time as server administrator... so this 2 can be linked depends on how u see it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 yo bro, Depends what u want to do...eg whether u want to specialised in something like a network engineer...then probably go for cisco certifications,etc. If u want go other fields, like sales or something, maybe a business degree helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 personally i study in mechatronic. Me also study mechatronics. When I graduate that time in mid 1990s, no local university. So I have to switch course. Once I switch course, it means that I switch my career path. u can switch to mechanical or electronics in the university, right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 Yah. But like that, sianz 1/2 liaoz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Katou Neutral Newbie February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 Shortage of IT pro here meh? I see many Ah tiong n Ah neh in IT leh, see until ... You meant Sim lim square ah? There's a shop owner in his early 20s owned a shop at level 4 or 5 selling memory items. Appear on paper as well, claiming he start from $1000 to this shop and however, he got a good family background. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 so which course u switched to then? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 likedat not counted lah. like adam khoo, his papa also rich. so starting a few business not so difficult with the $$ capital from lao peh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Katou Neutral Newbie February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 How i wish i'm born with that kind of spoon. But I'm more happy to have a saloon car to drive. The rest, gotta earn with my hands and my legs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear February 19, 2008 Share February 19, 2008 yo bro, Depends what u want to do...eg whether u want to specialised in something like a network engineer...then probably go for cisco certifications,etc. If u want go other fields, like sales or something, maybe a business degree helps. Got CCNA liao, and the Prof. Dip. of IT security liao, but still sianz... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...