Cleaning K&N filter

Freeman

Anyone ever used other cleaning solution to clean your K&N filter before.

Just to share with you guys.

I was cleaning my filter yesterday, noticed that the K&N cleaning solution was finished but oil still got a lot.

So I bo chap...just used my shampoo to washing & everthing looks perfectly fine....

Don't dare to try something stronger like dish washing solution.

Anyway, I think should be ok coz when they adverdised their product they always claim that it's tough on these & that. But Comes to cleaning it's so sensitive that we must use their KNN cleaning solution. [sly]

my workshop ever used running tap water to wash my filter. guess its not really impt to use their cleaner

my guess is e cleaning agent is to degrease e filter,makimg it less 'sticky' so dirt can be dislodged from it under running water. The oil is more imp than e cleaning agent [rolleyes]

my workshop ever used running tap water to wash my filter. guess its not really impt to use their cleaner

according to K&N... their cleaner solution does not contain detegents that might harm the cotton in the air filter... and they said that if u use conventional soaps or detergents..then you may affect the micro-fibre contents of the cotton in the air filter... that's why it's advisable to use their cleaner.

If you use just running tap water... the problem is... it might not be cleaned throughly... it's like us humans...if we just wash our hands before we eat..might not be cleaner than using soap and then washing our hands... [laugh]

just that soap in this case is the cleaner..and our hands refer to the air filter...

Anyways..just my opinion la... i still use the cleaner though... anyone knows where can i buy the cleaning kit (recharger) cheaper? [laugh]

Edited by Josephteo

Thank you bro! [thumbsup]

on another note... in my own opinion... it's more advisible to clean your own K&N air filter... coz the oiling process is quite delicate... i went to workshop let them clean for me b4 and they really over-oiled my filter... so much so that it was dripping from my air filter box...

damn sian... could have messed up my MAF sensors etc.... i took it out, cleaned it myself and so far...FC improved by 1-2km/l... [thumbsup]

Edited by Josephteo

I bought from speedworks. $10 per bot

cool, thanks for info, i didnt know they sell seperately.. i bought my cleaner set from speedwork too.

ehhh...so $10 for the oil and $10 for the cleaning solution?

is that correct? or the oil is diff price?

btw...Chucky2007..so you bought the cleaner set (cleaning solution+oil) from speedworks..how much was it? $20?

i also didn't know they sell seperately

haha...just took out my air filter to look look see see...still quite clean..removed some leaves from the air box... [:p]

My cleaning solution also running out

I was told cleaning of the filter usually done every 50,000km interval

i hear many different stories... but they say recommended is 25,000km...

no lah..i just took it out to see..coz few days ago...drove and knew some leaves gone in...then go and remove the leaves lor...

the oil still there... very good... FC very good...everything very good... [laugh]