Rickster 5th Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 Also a thing to note. If you use the GPS on your phone , can you still use the phone simultaneously to talk or receive calls? How long can the juice last when you use it for GPS and also as a phone (if not plugged into car charger). Do consider all these. Yes, it is possible to talk over the phone and use GPS at the same time with the N82. Been there, done that. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jlkl Clutched April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 I am very anti nokia maps becos of the highly exhorbitant subscription charges they impose. Haha me too leh. Read from gsmarena that the yet to reach sg Sonyericson fones comes with gps too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 Wah lou....u still asking around ? Aiyo, just buy rah..... He wanna get the best set first by consulting the expert here lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 True but then I got another thing to put in my pocket. If the phone has it, it wil b much easier to carry around with me all the time. Unless I use a waist pouch to put all my stuff in. Garmin 3.5 inch can put in shirt front pocket and u can get whole world map in too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 So the N95 is a better GPS? I don't need all those other functions so I don't want to have to pay for them. All I need is a phone to make/receive calls & SMS'. It sud have good reception & battery can last long. Now wud like a GPS too which I can use in the car & carry in my pocket. All the other stuff I never use. Well,N95 use to have a problem of fixing sat...but the new f/w got agps which aids sat. lock. AGPS need to pay for gprs charges No comment for N95 or N95 8gb since i dont like slider and dont use them.I'm using N82 w/o agps and the sat lock is ==================== Hmmmmm.......so many different comments. So 4 u the N82 is a good phone & a good GPS then? Even the chap chickenbackside who intro whole of mcf to buy nuvi said N82 good...u say lei For me, i still think a specialised gps is best. it is like i wan to buy digital camera, do i buy Handphone with camera? Ultimately choice is yours of course Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 But that uncle is no longer young leh.... 3.5" might having difficulty viewing, especially driving. Note: Must view the navigation route and not totally rely on the voice prompts as there could be errors at times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 for me it is perfect liao. no need so big. i like portable and somemore i have perfect (used to) eyesight. I kw that uncle not young...but he aint that old too...think 1971. he mentioned before in his nuvi installation famous thread Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 Eastgear got sell housebrand hp with GPS function. For those who don't like to carry a standalone GPS and walk around, this may be the alternative cos of their frequently updated maps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 GPS cannot too big rah.....wait cover half the windscreen then how to drive ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 Ooops... 1971 ah.... wah lau... I'm older. One uncle calling another uncle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 Incidentally, I passed by Eastgear and saw one really gigantic GPS vehicle mounted unit about the size of A4 paper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 (edited) Actually, even 4.3" one still a little small. It could do with maybe a 5" screen??? So that the zooomed out map doesn't apprear too small. (Zoom in is alright ) Edited April 4, 2008 by Dwoon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 so u buying again? third set? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 Was mulling over it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 hi uncle! so which yr are u? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 u must be gps no.1 fan for me, i am ver satisfied liao and w latest map Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 (edited) No I is looking for an ultimate solution but sadly there isn't any for sale and that's why I ended up buying and buying and they end up in my car storage compartment and hardly used I think the next best solution is to engage an Ahmad but I couldn't afford one Edited April 4, 2008 by Chickenfarm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 what do u mean ultimate solution? i tot before we buy something, we should look around and see if it fulfill our need then buy. Or u doing the other way round?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...