Bunny21 Neutral Newbie March 23, 2008 Share March 23, 2008 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mean76 1st Gear March 23, 2008 Share March 23, 2008 Bro, If the opposition proves that they are capable to make a stand. I do not see why the younger Singaporeans won't support them. Those who choose not to come back or break the bond whlist studying overseas already proves that we are not brain-dead. Not trying to create any Ho-Ha issues here but if you go to the Super Delicious Papaya website. 99.9% of the topics relates directly or indirectly to MIW. While I agree with most of the statment released, I see no point shooting the MIW day-in, day-out and believe it or not, they actually have supporter from other countries. God knows what can these "outside" fellows will do to us if the winning parties falls to wrong side. I do believe we vote but more for correct reasons and not just the merely GST offset or ERS shares. We are not blind and stop thinking that we asked for it. Just make sure you done your part and vote for the corret party. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched March 23, 2008 Share March 23, 2008 your quote strike it loud and clear...for us, singaporean...we live as it is when the problem doesn't come to us or hit us...we will remain silence and not make a noise even we know that we are being explored...what have we become of? I feel so tiny..comparing to those taiwanese and hongkongers...and even now...our friend from bolehland had spoken up...with their vote...what will our generation become? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged March 23, 2008 Share March 23, 2008 Bro, most of yr posts are pessimistic. Don't you know that "people only like to hear the good stuff"? But I do agree with you. With each passing nanosecond, our government know that they can get away treating us like a number. With each passing microsecond, our government know that every Sporean can be replaced with a FT. With each passing second, I see is a goverment whose only solution is to rely on law of demand and supply to solve all the problems. With each passing minute, we can only suffer in silence. With each passing hour, more preferences are given to FT. With each passing day, more and more FT are calling S'pore their home. With each passing week, we get more depressed cos we know we are dead ducks. With each passing month, we felt like 2nd class citizen. With each passing year, we wish our government will wake up to their senses. All I ask for is a government with heart of gold not not one that hanker after gold. All I ask for is a government who can prove their weight in gold. All I ask for is a government who cares about whether we truly belong here. All I ask for is a government who will not wait for a National Crisis to happen to tell Sporeans apart from Parasites. For when that day comes, it will be too late for regrets or actions cos we would have lost our faith. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 We can all be pessimistically optimistic... Ironic? Yes but what to do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lv3338 Clutched March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 (edited) I really hate when sillyporean say this "If the opposition proves that they are capable to make a stand." It is more like a chicken and egg problem.....so chicken first or egg first? The man in white also takes decades to become such a big gang....a big corporate company .and later enact rules and regulations to restraints this and that...... Which company starts as a mega corporate company ? Microsoft , dell ? HP ?. They actually starts small scales to prove themselves... We keep critisizing.... the opppo...party this and that.....have we given them a chance ? The question , sillyporean.will says..it will be a big risk to us..... Are we risk taker as compared those nationals...from neighbour even malaysian...or taiwanese? Edited March 24, 2008 by Lv3338 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 Ultimately, the avaerage Xinkarpor lang will still take the "safer" way out... But I believe that the next GE, the APA's percentage will drop below 60%... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 And that candidate turned up for Nomination Day in slippers and shorts. Would you vote for someone like that? by voting PAP, u give them "strong mandate". is that the message u are trying to send them? the very least u could do in such a case is to spoil your vote, if u believe the PAP shd change. of course if u like what they've been doing, then by all means continue voting for them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 I can see where you are going with that line of argument. The vote is yours to cast, and if you want to cast a protest vote, it is also your right to do so. i would vote for a cow if a cow ran for opposition. however, if mas selamat ran agains PAP, i'd spoil my vote. a spoiled vote is a protest vote too. just not as strong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 by the way, I am also very tire day in day out reading about your complains about my posting get a life HOW YOU LOVE TO LIVE HERE FOREVER!! may be you should be taking your own advice jump in front of the MRT train then you will live forever in the next world good luck make sure to wipe after you jump if not MRT may have to hire china cleaners and replace our local cleaners because they can be hired cheaper Fact No. 1 : FTs will keep coming here and they'll start to take all the lower skilled jobs and skill ones too...so eithier you up your own skill standard to compete with them on your own turf or go to their country instead! Fact No .2 : Cost of living will keep going up so you will have to meet that cost or else you'll have to migrate to countries with lower cost! Fact No. 3 : keep complaining that the gahment is not 'doing enough' to help the suituation is just wasting your time..if you don't like them, then change them when their 5 years is up! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched March 24, 2008 Author Share March 24, 2008 you raised an eye opener question questioned why we always claim to better in almost everything when compared to our neighbours Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched March 24, 2008 Author Share March 24, 2008 there are many cows and cowlets in power Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched March 24, 2008 Author Share March 24, 2008 one person cannot move mountain unless you are Muhammed who has the power from GOD therefore collectively if we believe in the same thing why not do what we have to do together there is no place on earth, with time, that jobs will be taken over by FT sooner or later, cost of living will go up and etc BUT in so many countries, even in AMERICA and CHINA, where the land is huge is millions times bigger than sillypore, the population a millions times more than sillypore, BUT they do NOT pay their government MULTIMILLION dollar salary it is a huge chunk out of our GDP the question, also begs other benefits that ministers get special privelleges that are obvious, eg where in SILLYPORE,can anybody except our dear PM that gets MEE siam with HUM. I went all over town and HDB heartland, they only response is BOH lEH Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damonfong Neutral Newbie March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 Taxi CBD rule corrected... after two weeks. Not much harm done yet. EM3 system, after few years.... many hurt and gave up. Is this the government you want? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 So what makes you think a new govt will do better? I will not take the risk as i think overall they have performed good enough. You have stated the bad but what about the good? The safety of our children, the riot-free state.... even drugs are not as rampant as most if not all countries.... All you have stated is on monetary terms..... is money that important to you that you choose to ignored the rest of the intangible things.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 the key here is not to overthrow, but to send a strong message. also, to build up a credible opposition, for the sake of everyone. the opposition can be the current one, or even the PAP , bottom line is it must be strong enough to pose a deterrent to pple enacting self-serving policies etc etc. now one cannot expect the ruling party to make things easy for their competition, so it's all up to the citizens at the polls . if we like not having a say, we like what the current govt is doing, then PAP rocks man!!! however, it would be good if everyone were to have a say, and is allowed to give constructive feedback (not all feedback is constructive, granted, but some well-meaning feedback is rejected by the gahmen.. ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 firstly, to build a strong opposition, you must have a good opposition.... so where is the good opposition? how do you determine what is good? Will you give them a chance? and if you do, what if they fail? Sure everyone wants to have a say but different people have different opinion.... you can't please them all, so who do you listen to? Is 1 person's view more important than another? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kifakw Clutched March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 the people should not be afraid of the gahmen, the gahmen should be afraid of the people. as quoted from V ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...