Chrissng Neutral Newbie March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 Hi, anyone know if there are any stall in the north selling the thunder tea?? so far the nearest i know is balestier... looking for a nearer stall. thank you ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 another one is in geylang. in sgp, its almost unheard of... die die have to be in the north meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 I remember seeing it being sold at food republic in Suntec and Vivo.. eh.. so where is north har? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 boon lay got....the hawker at 100+ there one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrissng Neutral Newbie March 26, 2008 Author Share March 26, 2008 i know vivio, suntec, boon lay, balestier have... i stay, work and breathe in north ma... hahaha.. so being a lazy singaporean, wonder what is the nearest thunder stall around... kekeke.... like the food, healthy.. so no guilt in indulging it... so far, nearest is balestier lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 better for you to provide ur intended location, else people are just throwing places which may be too far from where you stay i know amoy street food centre also got one. opp the popular beef noodle stall. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 Not the north...but there is also one at Joo Chiat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingbowler Neutral Newbie March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 which part of joo chiat?? tks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 Amoy wan CMI...dun waste time Suntec wan is not too bad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrissng Neutral Newbie March 26, 2008 Author Share March 26, 2008 i stay woodlands... so any stall nearest can also... ya.. forgot.. had my 1st thunder tea at amoy street.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 Very difficult to make a good Lei Char and not too many pple know how to appreciate it (it's an acquired taste cos of the menthol and herbs)...thus the "shortage" of supply. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 u reminded me how much i missed my mom's version....but due to age, she no longer able to cook it ..too much work to be done..... seriously, i have never seen it in sg.. fromt he places u huys mentioned, no wonder i didnt notice it.. since me also a north, northeast guy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 It is almost a "lost art" cos those Hakkas who knows how to make lei char are old oredy. My grand auntie knows how to make good lei char but as her title (grand auntie) suggest, she no longer makes them liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrissng Neutral Newbie March 26, 2008 Author Share March 26, 2008 ya.. i know its a hard dish and not a lot of people know how to do it.. esp with so many things to chop... thats why i was introduced to the commercial version of it.... seemed like the nearest to woodlands is balestier..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 Hi, anyone know if there are any stall in the north selling the thunder tea?? so far the nearest i know is balestier... looking for a nearer stall. thank you wah what is this thunder tea ah? neber hear before, like what one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 which part of joo chiat?? tksAlong Joo Chiat Road between Dunman Road and Marshall Lane, on the opposite site of the CC. Beside where 'My Mum's Kitchen' used to be. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 (edited) Thunder tea is a phonic translation from the chinese word "Lei Cha". In Hakka lingo, "lui3" (mandarin = Lei) is a kind of herb used in the recipe. Hakka origin is very complicated cos they dun have a land or province of their own. So they got to tong pung other pples land (that's why they are known as "Guest pple" The chinese name for Hakka clan). Lei cha is a kind of energy food the Hakka pple invented so they could keep them (without turning bad easily) and could derive all the necessary nutrients, energy as well as quench their thirst from the simple meal when tilling the land in their rice field or farms. It is rice with many kind of herbs (minced into small pieces) on top of it and it comes with a menthol taste green liquid (the tea) that some pours into the rice. The menthol keeps their body system "cool" under the scotching sun. Some say it taste funny but others like it. Thus I said earlier it is all acquired taste and either u like it or u don't Edited March 26, 2008 by Chickenfarm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picopico Neutral Newbie March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 Jurong East have oredi lah ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...