Kelpie 2nd Gear April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 155BHP from a 2L engine? That's run of the mill in today's context, IMHO. If 155bhp is run of the mill then there are many around liao, including many conti cars. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 (edited) Exactly. Conti BHP measured at wheels some more, not at crank! Edited April 15, 2008 by W210k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 Conti BHP measured at wheels some more, not at crank! Not always true from what I've read in the magazine. The truth will only be revealed on the tracks or street race . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 For tracking or street racing, then other things would come into play like chassis rigidity, F/R weight balance, suspension setup, brakes, driven wheels, LSD (or the lack thereof) etc. Can't judge just by engine BHP and power-weight-ratio only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 For tracking or street racing, then other things would come into play like chassis rigidity, F/R weight balance, suspension setup, brakes, driven wheels, LSD (or the lack thereof) etc. Can't judge just by engine BHP and power-weight-ratio only That would be too cumbersome, just stock to stock on the race tracks. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 I don't mean expert expert i mean expert in Honda Civic I don't even qualify as an expert in Civic . I just enjoy driving and owning the car...easily contended, I would say . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 (edited) my friend altis 1.6 average FC 10+km/litre, my civic 2.0 average FC 11++km/litre no joke..no surprise to me if odyssey can can get 13km/litre I don't know how good an ody is in fuel economy. I only knew that when I went up North for holidays with a group of friends, there was this Ody that has to refill 1-2 times more than us and made everyone waited . Regards, Edited April 15, 2008 by Kelpie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnson 1st Gear April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 True...competitive/track driving is about Driver & Car but we are talking about buying a car to go from point A to point B in comfort so going on saying that the Mazda 3 (noticed why i don't use M3 cos BMW M3) handling being a class of its own, especially when handling in cars that category are mediocre at best & are relatively uniformed, so the relevance for the average consumer like myself and hopefully, the thread owner should be fixated on fuel consumption, engine reliability. running cost and safety... i agree with u..there is too much amplification from points of views ppl on normal passengers cars till they can do wonders. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newcar 1st Gear April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 Hi guys, Just recieve below link from my brother, Just wondering whether current civic is having this, http://asia.vtec.net/Engines/K20Z/index.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beavc Clutched April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 actually i think, paisay, they are missing the point...we are not looking at a performance car...but rather a car for day to day use and within the budget of a Honda Civic and an Altis...don't know when pple take it out of context to talk about racing lah... in any case...both cars are similar except for me i will go for the civic...more form factor than anything... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 Nice articule on the K20Z2 engine. Is there a write up on the 190bhp K20Z3 engine? Thanks. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newcar 1st Gear April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 Sorry brother, Me am nuts to honda...! Very ...Paisey Just to share info with all only...! but, seems much better than mine current TomYam Altis... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 Sorry brother, Me am nuts to honda...! Very ...Paisey Just to share info with all only...! but, seems much better than mine current TomYam Altis... It is ok, whether you drive an Altis or a Civic, we're all drivers. Just that preference differs from one person to another. Thanks for sharing. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolad 5th Gear April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 How wrong you are! Just to name a few 2L N.A. engines for comparision (there are many more): Lexus IS200 2L 155BHP N.A. Toyota Altezza RS200 2L 210BHP N.A. Citroen C4 VTS Coupe 2L 180BHP N.A. Lotus Exige 1.8L 190BHP N.A. (using Toyota's 2ZZ-GE engine) Mazda MX-5 2L 170BHP N.A. Toyota Celica SS-2 1.8L 190BHP N.A. (aka GT-S in the USA, but with 180 BHP) Alfa Romeo GT 2.0L JTS 165 BHP N.A. Bro, relevance of Honda is performance at relative cheap price... all the cars you quote not very cheap leh... howabt 80K region to start with... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nalgene79 Neutral Newbie April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 I'm curious why u think civic fd2 can smoke a madza 3 2.0 if comparing stock to stock. Is there really such a big difference? I dink it is very hard unless our understanding of 'smoke' is different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferrari7 Neutral Newbie April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 Exactly. Conti BHP measured at wheels some more, not at crank! May I ask what makes you say that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hilander4650 Neutral Newbie April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 i'm comparing within CIVIC/ACCORD/INTEGRA.. since when i compare with CTR? give me any make tat have 155bhp N.A. pls dun give me WRX or Evo.. How wrong you are! Just to name a few 2L N.A. engines for comparision (there are many more): Lexus IS200 2L 155BHP N.A. Toyota Altezza RS200 2L 210BHP N.A. Citroen C4 VTS Coupe 2L 180BHP N.A. Lotus Exige 1.8L 190BHP N.A. (using Toyota's 2ZZ-GE engine) Mazda MX-5 2L 170BHP N.A. Toyota Celica SS-2 1.8L 190BHP N.A. (aka GT-S in the USA, but with 180 BHP) Alfa Romeo GT 2.0L JTS 165 BHP N.A. people comparing 2.0l sedan aka family car..not coupe or roadster la..like tat i name one can liao civic type RR 245bhp N.A Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hilander4650 Neutral Newbie April 15, 2008 Share April 15, 2008 must be confident in your car & skill mah tio bo?....even by one car length or less is considered smoke..148bhp vs 155bhp may not seems alot by many people but do you know how difficult it is to squeeze another 7bhp to be on par with civic unless TC. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...