Kevs Neutral Newbie April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 Lol. You guys are amusing. Don't you feel that you're generalizing and passing a sweeping statement by stating: "It is a fact that Honda makes driver car and Toyota makes passenger car... " I'm wondering how factual is that statement? I'm sure you've watched the movie Fast and the Furious; how about the Toyota Supra, is that a passenger car? I caught sight of a Supra coasting on the freeway, a couple years back; struggled to keep pace with it, just to admire that incredible speciment of engineering design. On the flip side, consider the Honda City; No offense to the bros out there, but I can't really tell which part of it is a "driver car" . Both Honda and Toyota design and manufacture brilliant cars (in their own way, be it performance, economy, cost etc.) as inherent of their Jap lineage. Between the Altis and FD, of which is of a better ride, is up to the individual to decide. Every individual will have different evaluation criteria as part of their decision making process. I have driven both rides; like the Altis for its clean cut looks and comfy steering. FD on the other hand, has a nice rev-able engine, as with most Honda makes. And, before the groupies start with their meaningless comments; I'm no clone. My ride is a Honda too. But some of the opinionated perspectives here just reek too badly. Be open and receptive to opinions which may not conform with yours. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 Aiyah, everyone has their own meat and poison. Just ignore the noise makers I booked the tomyam car. Still waiting for COE and delivery Err i think civic has slightly more room lah. maybe if sitting 3 at the back, still civic bit more comfy. The civics stock suspension is also bit more firm esp at the back. This one u wont really notice after driving for a prolonged period. 0-100 and FC are no point comparing. I wld say in light acceleration from 50-70km/hr the altis is bit more noisy than the civic cos it only has 4 gears whereas the civic's 5th gear will kick in arnd 70km/h at light foot. Noise insulation - altis wins by a tad I wld say at 68388 (last known altis price prior to the 9 apr COE bidding, dunno if increased liao) vs the civic 1.6A (which i tink is now 74k if u take a minimum loan). Since u have 3 young ones, if u aren't looking at the altis should look at the stream which instead of buying a civic, u might as well get a stream which wld suit your family needs more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 Moi don't think it's about supporting a brand or whatever... This kinda debate/topic cannot finish one. Juz like photography, cameras, or whatever junk/hobbies, pple start to argue cos they cannot swallow that breath or just start being egoistic... I think to sum it, you happy can liao... If wanna talk about bashing, I think the correct target is Intel vs AMD... This one really got alot bashing... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 finally started to see sensible replies Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 World is round la.. Who noes one day one may need help from another... In fact, I met one MCFer who gave me some nice advice on a particular issue.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 If the TS is willing to live with an older engine, he can actually consider Wish. Stream will still give the firmer ride. Also the boot is very small for a family of three. Stream is also cheaper, only that it is only offered by PI now. It is rumored that BM will bring Wish in. My recommendation if TS is considering MPV too. We dun talk about brand here, just the model. Period. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 Here is the link from Toyota Japan website http://toyota.jp/carlineup/name.html Minus the Mark X, which other car is a driver car. Let talk about production model. No point talking about the cars of yesterday. Honda website for your perusal. http://www.honda.co.jp/auto/ We hope to continue amusing you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 Thanks. We just share the same opinion on the same issue. You drives a Pinic/M3 and I drives a Latio..... amusing right.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzy28 Clutched April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 wah, u think i so boliao to create a new ID so as to fake one new identity to support myself? I think regarding sweeping statement, no statment can be more sweeping than to say those who replied in this thread knows more about car. Search through the whole thread, can anyone quote me any sentences that could at least indicate that these people knows more about car? I basically did not get any new technical info from this thread. And yes, I am ignorance about car, otherwise I would not have started this thread to see if I can get more info, before committing my hard earned cash. Anywhere, there are now more local magazines published about the new altis test drives, namely autocar, carma, torgue etc. though the essays is not directly comparing with civic, but they have more or less compared with civic for certain factors. I have no need to search from internet or from this forum. there will be more magazines coming out talking about the altis and they will compare with the civic. To sum up, the key factor that civic wins over altis is 0-100 km/h timing and FC, while the key factor that altis wins over civic is noise insulation and ride comfort. Basically the tradition still hold: altis is more for passenger while civic is more for driver; or as someone has put it, altis will attract more ah pek while civic will attract more ah beng. I being mid-30s and a father of 3, I certainly qualified to be ah pek aka uncle. Btw, in my uni days, I drove civic 5th gen (my mum's car) to school and I don't even know vtec was when people around me keep asking me whether my car got vtec. It's certainly that altis sale will exceed civic eventually. but this is nothing for me to cheer about. the price has gone up from $64800 offered to me when I went for test drive in previous month, and now is almost $70K. The 2nd hand civic FD 1.8A has now break the $60K barrier (selling < $60K to almost the price of the new vios 1.5G), so now it's start to appear in my radar. Hm...sound like U need a MPV more. For altis at the current price, I would say it is not that attractive anymore. Have you consider the new Lancer or others (Nissan)? 2nd Civic 1.8A more then 2 years leh....U sure u wanna get that?:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 L O L yes yes all our cars aren't Honda. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 To argue with you is really a waste of time. Your comments all sounded so emotional and lack of substance. This will be my first and last reply to your comment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 Lol. You guys are amusing. Don't you feel that you're generalizing and passing a sweeping statement by stating: "It is a fact that Honda makes driver car and Toyota makes passenger car... " I'm wondering how factual is that statement? I'm sure you've watched the movie Fast and the Furious; how about the Toyota Supra, is that a passenger car? I caught sight of a Supra coasting on the freeway, a couple years back; struggled to keep pace with it, just to admire that incredible speciment of engineering design. On the flip side, consider the Honda City; No offense to the bros out there, but I can't really tell which part of it is a "driver car" . Both Honda and Toyota design and manufacture brilliant cars (in their own way, be it performance, economy, cost etc.) as inherent of their Jap lineage. Between the Altis and FD, of which is of a better ride, is up to the individual to decide. Every individual will have different evaluation criteria as part of their decision making process. I have driven both rides; like the Altis for its clean cut looks and comfy steering. FD on the other hand, has a nice rev-able engine, as with most Honda makes. And, before the groupies start with their meaningless comments; I'm no clone. My ride is a Honda too. But some of the opinionated perspectives here just reek too badly. Be open and receptive to opinions which may not conform with yours. Why don't u bring Toyota's F1 car into the picture instead of a supra? of coz we know that Toyota indeed has cars which can sprint. the bashing doesn't aim at toyota in general, it is targeted specifically at the new altis which is obviously an exceptional way for Toyota SEA to shortchange the singapore market. I know it takes 2 hands to clap, one willing to whack, the other willing to get whacked. But i've done my part by vehemently putting my point across. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shern25 2nd Gear April 12, 2008 Author Share April 12, 2008 I did considered MPV before but realised I need a MPV that seats 6 people and still can has cargo space for tramp and groceries, something which wish and stream cannot do. the honda edix or the bigger MPV will fit in nicely but more expensive and I still just cannot get over with the ugly looks of MPV. The only acceptable looks are the 5 seater jazz/fit and getz. My dad has 4 children and he never had a MPV in his string of car ownerships (owned 6 cars one after the other - all family sedan). Probably I have been influenced somehow to stick to family sedan. and to make up for the capacity, I always prefer a wider family sedan car. And being a consevative uncle, I only restrict my choice to Honda and Toyota. If i am rich, I only restict my choice to BMW and mercedes. And I think I am far from being alone to be so restictive within these 4 brands only. So it's either the civic or altis for me, and I will tends to prefer the ones that cost lower. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shern25 2nd Gear April 12, 2008 Author Share April 12, 2008 I tends to be forgetful. thanks for reminding me. But since I have broken my this commitment, i might as well not keep it. Anywhere i have decided to move on and not to continue any meaningless conservation with you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shaun Neutral Newbie April 13, 2008 Share April 13, 2008 Which part of my statements are incorrect? Looking at it, I think its either the first or the second. Care to elaborate? I would love to hear your view. Thanks I have not made those statements, so I am not sure if I should be the one to prove they are incorrect. However, I am just wondering why you seem to regard your "opinion" as "fact" (this is based on your own statements). It is impossible to have a meaningful debate if the participants cannot differentiate the two. I am not about to engage in this debate because I'm no expert in these two cars in question. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shaun Neutral Newbie April 13, 2008 Share April 13, 2008 Shaun, are u Shern25 clone? You seem to be having fun, aren't you? "hey, lets just throw out this accusation, and see how our opponents respond..." Anyone that doesn't agree with Perrier, or yourself, is a Shern25 clone? I almost decided not to respond to your post, but decided to nevertheless when I see Shern25 feels necessary to "defend" your wild shot. Unfortunately, this is not so much of a debate. I agree with some posters that saw this as basically turning into more of a "supporter's rally", essentially by some participants who are emotional, and not quite interested in engaging in an intelligent manner. You may have the last word, if you wish to. Let this be archived and for others to judge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 13, 2008 Share April 13, 2008 Let's not digress into a philosophical argument here. Move on! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...