Coolad 5th Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Maybe becoz its the market... Taiwan and singapore all have hordes of uncles that will buy anything with toyota badge... hence good to download to these mkts for older engines... more profit too... China has an elastic mkt... u sell something below std... nobody buys... they have no strong brand attachment... you got to fight VW/Audi/Honda/Mazda of all which are locally made and its also cheap ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Narutofd Neutral Newbie April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Is vtec in the fd? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Is vtec in the fd? Yes, i-VTEC. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Narutofd Neutral Newbie April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Ah ya bro, i know lah.. Cos i m a ah beng..kekeke..FD2M rock!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblues Neutral Newbie April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 I've not tested the Altis, only the Civic so I can't compare. Having said that I feel pretty satisfied with my current Civic 2.0L auto. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Youaredie Clutched April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Once you step into a civic, you won't want to drive any other Japanese cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderman302 2nd Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Old Ah Bengs drive Honda Acord Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Lexus LS460? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblues Neutral Newbie April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 I won't know that. I'll have to drive ALL Japanese cars before I can come to that conclusion don't you think? Have you driven all Japanese cars to justify that statement? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Civic 2.0L is one step ahead of all others. even the price. but still a good buy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Where the threadstarter liao? Kana whack up down left right center by us Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shern25 2nd Gear April 10, 2008 Author Share April 10, 2008 (edited) I have been warned before that MCF is full of Honda supporters. Looks like I experience it myself... but it's OK. Anywhere, I am too busy with my life to engage further in the arguement for the 2 models comparison.. After gathering more information by myself about the 2 cars, I am now very clear that the new altis will be my choice and preference, if I were to choose between the 2. but since I only plan to change my ride at beginning of next year, there may be more new cars to choose from. Maybe I will end up with the new honda city yet to appear. I think it's stupid to try to support any car brand since I do not own any of their shares and my life is totally unaffected by whoever makes it to the top seller. I am just a consumer who is not so rich and cannot afford to anyhow buy car without gathering all the information and to consider all the factors very carefully. this is spore where car is the most expensive. If in other country, I probably can just buy car without much detialed considertion since it so much cheaper. Pls stop accusing me that I am trying to say altis is better. At the start of the thread, I am only stating on what I gathered from internet. But now I have gathered more info and I decided not to share here b'cos will only bring more meaningless debates... just buy what I think is the best decision for me, and enjoy the ride with myself and family. Edited April 10, 2008 by Shern25 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 It is a fact that Honda makes driver car and Toyota makes passenger car. Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder so many things are subjective, however not all things can be said that way. It is not meaningless for us because many many others will read this thread. They are all entitled to their conclusion like you. Many of the people who replied to you know a lot more about cars than the paper specs that you can obtained over the internet, I believe this is the very reason why you decided to post here to share what you have gather and maybe justify your decision. You are right about buying the car that you feel suits your need best. It is actually quite obvious what you have already decided and we respect that. However, we must correct you that the new Altis is not a better car than the Civic simply because it is not. Now, I don't think the ppl deserves this sweeping statement about "I am too busy with my life to engage further in the argument for the 2 models comparison.. " I suggest you re-read your first post. I suppose we all have problem interpreting your post to accuse you of what you have suggested. Right. Goodnight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 (edited) Once you step into a civic, you won't want to drive any other Japanese cars. CRX, NSX, Integra, S2000, MR2, Supra turbo, Mitsu VR4, Eclipse, EVO, STI, silvia, 300zx, 350z, R32, R34, R35 GTR, IS250, SC430, Miata, RX-7 Edited April 10, 2008 by Viceroymenthol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzy28 Clutched April 11, 2008 Share April 11, 2008 Did you test drive both cars? Don't rely on the information from the internet, the feel is different when u are at the wheels. Honda or Toyota both are reliable products.:) Choose whichever suits ur budget and comfortable with. Try out Mazda 3. U might have a change of heart :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 11, 2008 Share April 11, 2008 Perrier Upon reading TS's latest post, I wanted to reply him in a fair and amiable manner but what u've said summed up my thoughts nicely. Thank you so much. Its for the benefit of everyone here. and btw, Shern25, I own a TOYOTA picnic and a mazda 3, I've never owned a Honda before. At the same time, I am very well aware of WHO is shortchanging consumers and who isn't Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 11, 2008 Share April 11, 2008 (edited) U could have mentioned that U only have a respectable budget for an Altis, instead of putting down such a proven Civic model just because its slightly beyond your reach. and with regards to calling people dunderhead just because they support a certain car make, is totally uncalled for. Do you not support any football club? any idol etc? Even if U do not, i'm sure someone close to u, your spouse, friends, family members support. SO do they have shares in the football club? NO its the entertainment value they attain that makes them so willing to part with their precious money. same goes for driving. Honda Civic is an entertaining driving machine. Edited April 11, 2008 by Friendstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear April 11, 2008 Share April 11, 2008 brudder... people support football club because it makes them money at sg pools lah just as good as owning shares in the club what ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...