Engine oil

Adawang

Bro for a car that's coming to 17yrs old is better to use 15w40, 15w50 or 20w50. Your current 10w40 oil only clock 3K+ wait till u clock 5K+ then u check see whether swee swee or not

=========================

hmm... serious ah? i will monitor then. but wont w50 be an overkill???

if really jialat i will go ahead with your recommendation.

and paiseh for one shot reply all.. [laugh]

Wont over kill

oil level drop? how old is your car and wat is the weight of the oil?

anyw some oils are known to consume at a higher rate...so tats y need to check regularly n top up where nec...

act my orig post was for giving carl*be a cos it served me well all the way to 10k..

====================

that time was using w30 so drop like crazy. den e carl*be is black very easily.. can last till 10k no problem. but jus very dirty...

btw.. mine's a old ride. 16yrs old

Black & Dirty showed that the engine oil is cleaning yout engine like wat u mentioned your's a old ride

im driving a 16 yr old coming 17 car. just change my oil in feb. b4 the change and flush i was using * 5W40. when hit 4k the oil very black and dirty liao. den flush that time. the car like lao sai like that. problem is before i change to * i also flush liao. conclusion is mechanic say this oil not good for my car.

then he tell me try OWS multilight 10W40. change liao now clock 3K+ the oil still like swee swee. slightly brown only. then FC and power much better than usual.

in my opinion the oil is bad. change it. wink.gif

after try OWS i would say highly recommended. some might have other opinions. heard redline, amsoil and royal purple not bad. u might wanna try it out. im not really a supporter of commercialise products like M1, SHU and Castrol. so if asked me i wont used those.i think they over price liaoz.

Bro for a car that's coming to 17yrs old is better to use 15w40, 15w50 or 20w50. Your current 10w40 oil only clock 3K+ wait till u clock 5K+ then u check see whether swee swee or not laugh.gif

My previous car reached 16 years and clocked over 400k km still ran 10w30 without any problem. Just consumed some engine oil which I think is normal for a high mileage car...

WoW 16 years and clocked over 400k km still ran 10w30....wondering which brand? will definitely comsumed engine oil for sure coz is a old ride and u are using thin oil

Multi-weight oils (such as 10W-30) are a new invention made possible by adding polymers to oil. The polymers allow the oil to have different weights at different temperatures. The first number indicates the viscosity of the oil at a cold temperature, while the second number indicates the viscosity at operating temperature. This page from the Sci.Electronics.Repair FAQ offers the following very interesting description of how the polymers work:

At cold temperatures, the polymers are coiled up and allow the oil to flow as their low numbers indicate. As the oil warms up, the polymers begin to unwind into long chains that prevent the oil from thinning as much as it normally would. The result is that at 100 degrees C, the oil has thinned only as much as the higher viscosity number indicates. Another way of looking at multi-vis oils is to think of a 20W-50 as a 20 weight oil that will not thin more than a 50 weight would when hot.

The above from auto.howstuffworks

The

Edited by Adawang

[reply]

im driving a 16 yr old coming 17 car. just change my oil in feb. b4 the change and flush i was using * 5W40. when hit 4k the oil very black and dirty liao. den flush that time. the car like lao sai like that. problem is before i change to * i also flush liao. conclusion is mechanic say this oil not good for my car.

then he tell me try OWS multilight 10W40. change liao now clock 3K+ the oil still like swee swee. slightly brown only. then FC and power much better than usual.

in my opinion the oil is bad. change it. wink.gif

after try OWS i would say highly recommended. some might have other opinions. heard redline, amsoil and royal purple not bad. u might wanna try it out. im not really a supporter of commercialise products like M1, SHU and Castrol. so if asked me i wont used those.i think they over price liaoz.

Bro for a car that's coming to 17yrs old is better to use 15w40, 15w50 or 20w50. Your current 10w40 oil only clock 3K+ wait till u clock 5K+ then u check see whether swee swee or not laugh.gif

My previous car reached 16 years and clocked over 400k km still ran 10w30 without any problem. Just consumed some engine oil which I think is normal for a high mileage car...

WoW 16 years and clocked over 400k km still ran 10w30....wondering which brand? will definitely comsumed engine oil for sure coz is a old ride and u are using thin oil

That time Giants got offer Mobil 1 at below $10, so I tried it for 10k km then drain out. The engine sounds ok and rather smooth reving. But since then no such offer... With a 10w30 engine oil I can get >12km/l even with faster driving.

sorry for not making myself clear... dizzy.gif

I mean the nos behind the "W"...heehee..

Huh...5k interval by factory??

May I know what is your ride...?

For what I know most jap ride stated a 10k interval while conti ride are at 15k...

My bro audi is doing a 15k interval...

20k interval so far got no issues... laugh.gif cos the oil i used can travel 15k miles b4 the next oil change...which is about 24k... thumbsup.gif

I did that for all my previous 4 rides wink.gif

How much engine oil required for your oil change? I'd guess should be quite a big sump to allow for extended OCI...

i also bought the $9+ mobil 1 quart oil. Quite good i would say..buy my old ride perform best with CAS oil...think theirs is unicorn oil brand

Ok, didn't know of such brand before... Quite a thick oil you were using. I thought you were on Castrol 15w40 previously on your Suzuki?

Multi-weight oils (such as 10W-30) are a new invention made possible by adding polymers to oil. The polymers allow the oil to have different weights at different temperatures. The first number indicates the viscosity of the oil at a cold temperature, while the second number indicates the viscosity at operating temperature. This page from the Sci.Electronics.Repair FAQ offers the following very interesting description of how the polymers work:

At cold temperatures, the polymers are coiled up and allow the oil to flow as their low numbers indicate. As the oil warms up, the polymers begin to unwind into long chains that prevent the oil from thinning as much as it normally would. The result is that at 100 degrees C, the oil has thinned only as much as the higher viscosity number indicates. Another way of looking at multi-vis oils is to think of a 20W-50 as a 20 weight oil that will not thin more than a 50 weight would when hot.

The above from auto.howstuffworks

The