SUV Advises

Sparcoray

No lah.... I'll leave that to CoolMX. God knows how high his car is mod to now..... he'll probably need that for his expeditions. laugh.gif

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif haha u know CoolMX too.....This guy makes his ride very high ground clearance.... this guy deserved my admirations with all the activities he's doing. thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Hi, anyone can give advises on what SUV that is available currently suitable for on-road and off-road drive ability?'

Sorri to ask such a noob question but just want to know more the experts / SUV owners.

Thanks alotsly.gif

Personally, i think that both SUV and MPV are best running on diesel(especially turbo diesel)...better low end torque and cheaper to run...

brudder.... turbo-diesel is gd if our gadment can implement it. high torque and cheaper maintenance...... too bad we onli hv a few turbo-diesel rides available for personal usage.shakehead.gif

tks bro for the info....great informations.

i did read up on 4x4 preparations from the web and recently got a mag. recommendating most of the SUVs available and their reviews.

it's quite a old car right?

RAV4, CRV & GV??? or

RAV4 quite exp, looks good. toyota SE service [thumbsdown]

CRV quite exp, fugly front

GV price good, suspension good for Offroad, so will be hard on normal road. low end torque good, pretty bad FC.

Jimny can do hardcore off-roading but on the road, it feels a bit clumsy. Fix a winch in front and u're ready to go. The smaller size of the ride makes it nimble but still able to ford mud pools.

Rav4 and CRV are good choice also but price is [sweatdrop] After paying that price, u dun wanna go off-road liao [laugh] Joking lah...I've seen White Grand Vitaras going off road [thumbsup]

Being a GV owner myself (mine's 2WD but I've driven an AWD off-road), I must say tt although GV is still not quite as refined as the Honda CR-V and Toyota RAV4, it shld still be able to please most drivers.

Much of this has to do with its construction. Most Sports Utility Vehicles (SUVs) are now essentially jacked-up cars with all their mechanical components bolted to a main floor. But authentically jungle-faring examples of the breed are typically built with their bodies mounted onto a tough, independent frame.

The Suzuki is something of a Frankenstein of these concepts, with a Unibody floor that integrates an off-roader's frame underneath it. This has resulted in a combination of car-like behaviour and off-road ruggedness.

The GV is now able to match those manners, though, while being able to satisfy the serious mud-plugging enthusiast with its proper off-roading credentials. As things stands, then, the Grand Vitara seems like the best available compromise between real off-roading ability and on-road refinement. It's perfect, in other words, if your closet is mainly filled with neckties and business clothes, but also has the odd loincloth somewhere in the back.

[flowerface]

I'm not a CM's SE though [sly] Just my humble opinion after testing the ride in rugged terrains. Anyhow, this is the ride I could only afford so far so cannot complain liao [:p]

Well, RAV4 & CRV are quite exp. and personally felt that it's a on-road SUV only.

GV now comes with 2WD unlike the previous batch that comes with 2.0L 4WD. Hard suspension is fine with me... sly.gif

Hi, anyone can give advises on what SUV that is available currently suitable for on-road and off-road drive ability?'

Sorri to ask such a noob question but just want to know more the experts / SUV owners.

Thanks alotsly.gif

FORESTER lo

tks for the review bro...it's a good one on some of the features that I yet to hear of.

The current GV have abit of executive rugged looks but abit on the downside is the 2WD rather than 4WD. It's features included are quite attractive as compare to others of the same range.

I saw one SJDxxx white GV at my house MSCP.... quite a attractive ride indeed.

Are u driving a 2.7L V6 24valves 4WD or 2.0L DOHC 16vales 2WD?wink.gif

oh yeah..i missed my uncle's 1990 Jimny in msia..

whenever i go back, without fail i will take the Jimny to a off-road spin in our rubber and oil palm plantation..

and the 4WD gearbox is still working.. [thumbsup]

now THAT's a rugged off-road..

I'm driving the 2.0L 2WD only. I can't afford the 2.7L V6 [:/]

The diff. in price on the 2.0L AWD and 2WD is abt. $9K and I believe u can still get a 2.0L AWD at CM (on indent basis). The looks and interior of the 2WD and AWD is identical in everyway. Underneath the sheet metal, however, the entry-level Grand Vitara looses a couple of differentials and half shafts, making it a rear-wheel drive vehicle. In the process, it manages to shed 60kg too, which also translates to better performance and fuel consumption.

Suzuki's original plan for the Grand Vitara was for it to be a refined family car that can also be used as a workhorse. Which is why it uses a hybrid chassis system consisting of a monocoque body with a built-in ladder frame. The advantages of monocoque body are mostly for the sake of road holding and ride comfort. The ladder frame set-up, on the other hand, allows the vehicle to have superior off-road abilities, but with a compromised on-road performance. So by combining the two, Suzuki is hoping the Vitara can provide the best of both worlds.

In reality, the Vitara has been proven to be a reliable and capable workhorse, but it still lacks the refinement of its Japanese rivals such as the Honda CR-V and Toyota RAV4 when driven on tarmac.

With a reduced body mass, the two-wheel drive Grand Vitara is a different animal compared to the more expensive four-wheel drive versions. Off-the-line acceleration is more instant and the braking performance is also improved. This makes the car more agile, too, when cornering, as you can brake later into the turn and carry more speed out of it. The only thing that still needs to be improved in the handling department, is there's lots of body-roll.

Fuel consumption should also be better than its four-wheel drive counterpart. As it doesn't have all those extra mechanical components to move around, it has less weight and friction in the drivetrain,

On rough roads and speed-reducing strips, the two-wheel drive Grand Vitara rides more comfortably than the four-wheel drive versions.

All in all, the two-wheel drive Vitara makes the most sense as long as you do most of your driving on asphalt.

Just my humble opinion so plse don't whack me if u felt otherwise, i.e., that my ride is a thrash [flowerface]

I use to have one in my farm for workers to commute around but it went topsy turvy along Jln Bahar 3 yrs ago when my driver slept whilst driving [sweatdrop] The car end up in scrapyard after tt.

Edited by Chickenfarm

Thank you . Can you please advise your SE contact and freebies you have .

How is the waiting time for sericing in CM as I put up in the eastern part .

Rdgs

[wave]

List of standard equipment includes two front airbags, fog lamps, roof rails, 16-inch alloy wheels, immobiliser and an external spare-wheel cover. Solar Film is Huper-Optiks.

Waiting time for servicing not so good in my opinion cos longest I've ever waited is 5hrs [sweatdrop] For tt matter, waiting time for the veh. to arrive in Singapore is also very long...minimum 3 months [sweatdrop]

I'll pm u my SE's contact [flowerface]