Apollo 1st Gear April 19, 2008 Share April 19, 2008 Pee Sai ong is coming to get u.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched April 19, 2008 Share April 19, 2008 The manager who severed us is superb. Mai kan cheong leh...... so what style he or she used?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iceklsy Neutral Newbie April 19, 2008 Share April 19, 2008 Presently, im helping my bro to search for his wedding dinner tables in a restaurant rather den those hotels type ones. We will need a wedding dinner space for abt 30-40 tables which we can book for next yr in Dec 09. Their actual custom wedding date has nt been finalised yet. Anyone can share which locations are good as long as the newly wed couples dun ned to walk so far to the restaurant upon their arrival during the dinner time? I would aso like to knw abt their food tasting wise. Greatly appreciated! There was a restaurant at Singapore Badminton Association, "Fatty Weng".. served Cantonese Cuisine.. quite popular in the olden days, not sure still ard or not.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccjna Clutched April 19, 2008 Author Share April 19, 2008 wan chip chip de chinese wedding dinner try long men ke zhan, 88, or the orient something at miramar hotel.. but i prefer pearl river palace at suntec .. juz suggestions la.. saw this thread a bit too late.. lol my own wedding i dreaming of it to be at hyatt.. attended one there abt 10 yrs ago.. super nice .. TQ for ur suggestions but more or less, we hv cfm a few of the chinese restaurants liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccjna Clutched April 19, 2008 Author Share April 19, 2008 As u've mentioned abt this restaurant, i've heard from one of my fren said that this restaurant aso nt bad leh but dun thk we like cantonese style food. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie April 19, 2008 Share April 19, 2008 ong and ong wont kill one another.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear April 19, 2008 Share April 19, 2008 I personally think its a rip off these days by the hotels where wedding banquet is concerned. nowadays any normal hotel also charging over $1000 for a table..even normal and not so high end hotels like Carlton hotel and Grand Copthorne also charging abt $1000 per table now..few yrs back, 1K per table is only for high end hotels like Shangrila. although there is considerable inflation since then, the cost couldn't have increased over 25% in the space of 4-5yrs...wedding banquet offered by restaurants these days is much more value for $$ compared to hotels..we are simply paying at least 30% premium for hotel 排场 imo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iceklsy Neutral Newbie April 20, 2008 Share April 20, 2008 Now so ex le ? I still remember few yrs ago when i go sourcing with my gf for her wedding dinner.. Marriot only abt 700 + per table leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Delonchew Neutral Newbie April 20, 2008 Share April 20, 2008 You might want to try this Chinese restaurant at Bukit Batok CDANS. I've heard from my wife that the food is actually quite good over there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iceklsy Neutral Newbie April 20, 2008 Share April 20, 2008 You mean this ? http://www.qianxi.com.sg/hilltop.htm Kinda nice food.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear April 20, 2008 Share April 20, 2008 hyperlink for u.. (+1 post) http://www.qianxi.com.sg/hilltop.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccjna Clutched April 27, 2008 Author Share April 27, 2008 As what u've mentioned, im nt too sure aso as during my time wedding dinner per table was so cheap & now.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccjna Clutched April 27, 2008 Author Share April 27, 2008 TQ for ur infos... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 28, 2008 Share April 28, 2008 I personally think its a rip off these days by the hotels where wedding banquet is concerned. nowadays any normal hotel also charging over $1000 for a table..even normal and not so high end hotels like Carlton hotel and Grand Copthorne also charging abt $1000 per table now..few yrs back, 1K per table is only for high end hotels like Shangrila. although there is considerable inflation since then, the cost couldn't have increased over 25% in the space of 4-5yrs...wedding banquet offered by restaurants these days is much more value for $$ compared to hotels..we are simply paying at least 30% premium for hotel 排场 imo. The sad things is .... in S'pore ... it's all about 排场. Just see the "Somebody slapped somebody on the SIA plane thingy". In S'pore, people judged you by the car you drive also ... what to do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 28, 2008 Share April 28, 2008 My experience with frens and relatives: Depending on whether you want to pay for good food or so-called ambience if you have a tight budget. Go hotel more ex but mayb look better. However, if you have to choose the cheapest menu (which can easily tell from the dish they serve) to save $$, then it doesnt look good on the host as guest would have given slightly bigger angbao due to location i.e you can make some $ out of it (expensive sounding place but cheapo menu).Alternatively, going to a restuarant but choose a menu with good food mayb about the same price as above. Lose out on "percieved" ambience and also prepare to lose some $$ as guest may give less thinking its restuarant. But end of the day, guest go back feeling satisfied if they are aware the host gave solid food. Of cos best is got budget for both food and venue but if not then its a personal choice to strike a balance btw the 2. I haven't did mine ... but I'm sure ... no matter how good one does ... we can't please everybody. So MAYBE the best way is .... "先上车,后捕票" ... then just say "Don't want dinner" .... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...