Chrispie 5th Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 it is always a prob. I even kena a big tow truck trying to squeeze me out of the road... singapore too stressed i guess, too many ppl trying to vent their steam on the road. And how often you gave way for others, and they didnt even bother to wave thanks. Wheres the graciousness? It seems easier to drive in msia at times. Traffic so bad, but easier to filter in and out.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear April 18, 2008 Share April 18, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pplater 1st Gear April 20, 2008 Share April 20, 2008 (edited) YES. there is so many stupid irresponsible educated BAS**** singaporeans!!! i seriously have to cursed and swear at least once when i get to work and home... 1 example. last thursday in robinson when i go pick my gf from her office. i gotta go back to the east via ecp. at that junction there can go 3 directions. left is to esplanade dr, then straight is to ecp right back to shenton way. i naturally keep to ctr right. but then there got 4 lane. 2 straight and 2 right. swayingly i was in the 2nd lane from right so i LL at the right and straight junction i gotta go back to 3rd lane. i signal left and look at blind spot. scarli got 1 grey lancer appear at my blind spot so i accelerate cuz im too near the junction liao i start to filter a little to my left then GUESS WAD!? the F**K*** lancer move straight to my left side. i was like KNNBCCB!!!!! behind the car high beem me... den i LL just go straight in a right turn lane. i realised the car behind also came along with me. behind of the lancer was another white car following closely! its a disgrace to see such things happening in s'pore.. and guess wad. the lancer's drive was a middle age uncle wearing a tie somemore. wad a good incident to spoil my evening............................. hey.. i don't know man.. If you want to make a lane change, the onus is on you to execute a clean lane change. Signalling does not mean the vehicle already in your blindspot has to slow down to give way to you. If the driver does, its a courtesy. If he doesn't, its just tough luck. The other driver could well be thinking you did not planned your route in advance and tried to execute a last minute acceleration near the split to cut into his lane. So who exactly is in the wrong here? I would say, its just a typical senario. No one was wrong; only everyone needed a little more courtesy. Edited April 20, 2008 by Pplater Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugsbunny Neutral Newbie April 20, 2008 Share April 20, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged April 20, 2008 Share April 20, 2008 sometimes the lane turning markings not clear until you get nearer the junction and sometimes too many cars in front for you to see the turning markings at all.. i think he should not be blamed. it is true that the momoent you signal, people will speed up to prevent the car from changing lanes. even when you signal early, some idiots will purposely travel same speed as you to prevent you from changing lanes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged April 20, 2008 Share April 20, 2008 Just want to rant a bit... Not too pissed but just feel that traffic can be much smoother... I use the PIE (Changi Airport) and exit at Lornie Road exit to get to Sin Ming Road. There are 2 lanes at first but it merges into a single lane. Can I please plead for the drivers who uses that road to just merge into a single file according to the lane markings? Don't you think it's quite dumb to "compete" with each other only to result in an accident whereby the cars brush each other? The traffic will definitely be smoother if everyone just merge. The exit into Lornie road is only so wide so come on... Okie... Feel better now... actually i see that the traffic coming out has a dedicated lane at the end. i still see some idiots stop down there and don't move out. even if they want to make u-turn ahead, there is still lots of room to filter out, but they just wait there long long time. i can see why some drivers will squeeze past these people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear April 21, 2008 Author Share April 21, 2008 Yup... Perhaps they are not too familiar with the roads... But you cannot do the U Turn until around 0930H mah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear April 22, 2008 Share April 22, 2008 Talking about Merging lanes.. The bedok exit from PIE is sorta a round bend, followed by a merging lane at the end. There was once, there was a police car infront of me. Nearing the end, where the lanes are merging , the police car (without any signal) starts to slowly 'filter' to the right, meaning half the car already into the other lane.. Seeing that, i accelerate, only to have the police car come back into my lane! I didnt slow down, jz try to accel more and kept to the left.. til my wheels practically brushing against the kerb.. After i passed the police car, i looked back into the rear mirror and see it back to behind my car.. Im thinking.. 'Oh sxxt.. im dead.' Luckily didnt rec any summons for 'reckless driving..' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear April 22, 2008 Share April 22, 2008 merging lanes are crap la, waiting for accident to happen design and slow traffic down only. 3 lanes become 2 then 2 become 1 wth? Lornie rd exit also like that, road so wide but merge and draw chervon marking at the side only to have drivers driving on the markings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear April 22, 2008 Share April 22, 2008 Singapore roads are quite crap lah.. so many places you see lines or cars trying to filter left and at the same time, lines of car trying to filter right... e.g: CTE at havelock road exit. ECP exit at rochor many other expressways...where there is exit and entry at close proximity.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nighthawkcity 1st Gear April 22, 2008 Share April 22, 2008 Just want to rant a bit... Not too pissed but just feel that traffic can be much smoother... I use the PIE (Changi Airport) and exit at Lornie Road exit to get to Sin Ming Road. There are 2 lanes at first but it merges into a single lane. Can I please plead for the drivers who uses that road to just merge into a single file according to the lane markings? Don't you think it's quite dumb to "compete" with each other only to result in an accident whereby the cars brush each other? The traffic will definitely be smoother if everyone just merge. The exit into Lornie road is only so wide so come on... Okie... Feel better now... you havent seen the one at punggol.. i was in 1 of the 2 lanes filtering into tpe.. fine.. everyone is used to this style of driving and squeeze slowly into tpe.. this nissan presea TRIED to SQUEEZE in between my car and another car.. GUESS WHAT! his side mirror hit and scratched my side mirror.. still dunno.. horn him to wake his bloody idea. kaoz.. let him go since my side mirror din fall off, cos if not, the whole 2 lanes will clog up and no one from punggol and sengkang can go work liao.. this was 2 weeks ago, seeing ur post made me type.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged April 23, 2008 Share April 23, 2008 yeah, dun know why they like to make roads that create problems like: 1. traffic bottle necks by merging many lanes to 1 2. cross filtering in a short stretch of road resulting in slow traffic 3. too many traffic lights and over head bridges side by side 4. blocking up too many lanes when only 1 lane is required for collision sites Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear April 23, 2008 Author Share April 23, 2008 Wah... See QX better siam far far ah... Although they regulate the law, they are not the most careful drivers on the road... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear April 23, 2008 Author Share April 23, 2008 I think the Presea got nothing to lose so squeeze lor... Sigh... A bit pek chek to drive in Xinkarpor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
To_be_advised Neutral Newbie April 23, 2008 Share April 23, 2008 Typhoonz, Just my 2 cents on merging lane. The other day when i was driving a class 4 lorry, big and long type. I was approaching this merging lane with a lexus GS300. I was infront of the lexus and was going at a rather fast speed. As we were coming nearer and nearer to the merging point, this lexus suddenly decided to speed up and squeeze through and it was literally squeeze through from the right side. I had to tilt my direction left a bit to avoid a near hit. Dont know what was the guy thinking cos i think a normal person will not try this stunt on a class 4 lorry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear April 23, 2008 Author Share April 23, 2008 That's pretty normal... Most would think that the bigger vehicle would be slower to fill up any space in front so they just happily squeeze in lor... I see big big vehicles in merging lanes, I siam... Later kenna buah also don't know can claim or not since it's most likely 50-50... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
To_be_advised Neutral Newbie April 23, 2008 Share April 23, 2008 hahaha, I also avoid lor if it was big lorry cos if later suay suay accident, my car sure shatter one lor. The other time a honda civic rammed into my father lorry, his bonnet end up like a v-shape while my father lorry only minor scratches. Going against a big lorry is like pea brain at work to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear April 23, 2008 Author Share April 23, 2008 Not worth it at all... Anyway, the driver is most likely an ah chek so they don't give a damn... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...