CNG Stream

Ben123

Bro,

Heard a lot of advantages converting to CNG e.g. cost savings etc. Any other downside of it? Like is it true that the tank can only be topped up when it is nearly empty due to back pressure? Any issue during top-up process like speed, ease of topping up etc. Any reliable company that you can recommend to do conversion? Thanks

If your is a new car, sure. I think thre is some sort of rebate from NEA to LTA and finally to you. I have a saving of 45% of my petrol bill amounting to nearly $315.00/month and it's environmental friendy. The downside are: -

1. Cost me $4,000.00 to install a 2 x 7 kg capacity tank. (Thus my recovery or payback is 12.5 months. It'll be shorten if the petrol price increase further. and gas price stay put)

2. Perpetually, there is always a dead weight of the CNG system in the booth space. Mine weighs 80kg+/-.

3. After the software update at the installer, my power loss is approx 5% but even if I pick up speed suddenly, it slightly sluggish / not so responsive than petrol mode but quite bearable to me. Cruising speed is like petrol driven feel.

4. One thing I would like to warn is that there are chances of engine stalling (like manual car). Not sure why such phenomal but to me, it's tolerable as it happens only when you in an incline slope with engine idling and pick up suddenly.

5. Topping up of gas is valet service. They'll provide the service and normally, topping up of gas for me takes slightly less than 5 mins depending on peak / lull period as the pump pressure varies. Normally, I topped up in the late evening after my work, so my timing is ok. I can't judge on the waiting time and payment as it really varies during the point of sale.

6. Cost of gas is $1.28/kg at Mandai and $1.18/kg (I think) at Jalan Buroh. Mandai is just 8 minutes drive from my home, so it convenient. If you are staying far away from Mandai or Jalan Buroh, it's quite pointless as your travelling time and the gas spent to drive back makes it not worthwhile, unless you're always nearby these stations. The next gas station will be built at near the Ang Mo Kio Ind Pk 2 (somewhere there). I'm between this 2 station, so quite ok for me.

7. Your warranty will be void if you modify the engine and mine is a year old car when I modify last Feb 08. What the heck, I don't give a damn on warranty.

In summary, I'm driving a 2.0L SUV and it's a petrol guzzeler and my tolerance level for the downside is quite high, so gas is quite practical for me. If I want power, just press a button and it petrol mode again.

One good thing is that when I go to JB, I'm in gas mode. When I cleared JB custom, petrol becomes cheaper to spent. When coming back and get caught in jam, it gas again. Many options.

Bro,

Downside :

1. About 10 to 15% loss in power on full throttle but generally during cruising, not noticeable. (Agree)

2. Loss of boot space especially if yours is a sedan or even worst, a hatchback. (Agree but normally do you put golfing bags inside, not practical to you if you are golfer)

3. Stupid CNG sticker on windscreen or bumper tell the world you are a cheapo driver! (I think you're rich as minimum cost of system is $3600-excl GST. Mine costs $4200 after everything all in, quite inexpensive to you I think. The purpose of the CNG sticker is to tell the emergency service if the car got into accident and they will be alerted that there is a gas tank within, not cheap purpose) 4. Screw up your car warranty when installed outside agent's approval. (It really depends on your car, if yours is a brand new car with CNG system, there won't be any warranty void)

5. Meddling with original engine control unit/wiring may risk permanent damage. (How do you know? The system is 30 yrs old proven technology in Europe and in Malaysia (KL), it been in used for nearly 12 yrs. Singapore is 12 yrs behind our neighbors and kiasi, let other people use 1st and implement later.)6. Higher combustion temperature may damage engine/valves.

7. Only two stupid CNG station in the west side. (Why are they stupid, I don't understand?)8. Limited time acess to station because it is not 24 hours operation. (Please update yourself on their latest operation, it's 24 hrs all along for Mandai, Jln Buroh also had change their operation to 24/7)9. Monopoly by SemCorp as they are the only source of CNG supply in Singapore. (Are you sure? Please check again before I correct you) 10. Long que at Jalan Buroh Station most of time ( can only pump one car at a time ) (Are you sure? My last visit was 2 weeks back and 2 cars in front of me were pumping separately, there are 10 gas dispenser at Mandai. One new station is coming up in serrangoon north near AMK Ind Pk 2)11. No shelter for customers at Jalan Buroh so when rain or hot sun, kena jia lak jia lak. (I don't understand this point. Nobody ask you to stand in the rain)12. Poor service and rude attendant at Mandai station which is very inaccessible, remote and isolated. (I have to highlight, when the station was open initially in Feb 08, the staffs there "kalang kabok" as they are still unsure of the CNG dispenser operation and worst software operation, the card reader always hang also. All the taxi drivers' temper flared as time is their money. I flared also as I asked the management why they sent untrain staffs to handle. Since the last 2 months, most of the pump attendances recognises their customers including me as it's my regular station. Valet service for pumping gas. I just do card swiping only. So I presume your opinion is 2 months ago and not now.)

Upside :

1. Saves $$$$$$$$ (Agree)

2. Saves green house gases CO2 (Agree)

3. 1Kg gas goes about 15 to 17 km compared to 1 litre of petrol only 10 to 11 km. (Have you got a CNG system and use it to back up the data? For every tank I top up, I monitor it from full to finish so I know my gas consumption, I've make friend with the taxi drivers and they share with me, your data is flaw)

Can pump gas anytime you want...no need to wait till empty. Pumping time is faster than petrol actually because max you can get in is about 18 kg ( Mercedes NGT model ) compared to 10 to 12 kg for local installation with 60 to 70 litre tank. Would recommend either ScanTruck Engineering or Melchers ! (That I agree)

Unfortunately, my Astra 1.6 have a pathetic boot space which cannot accommodate any size of tank and also my agent would void my warranty if installed.

((Consider the money saved every month, which could amount to $3,000/ yr, think about it.)

When you get into horrendous accident, SCDF will come with fire trucks, airborne forest fire aircraft, Hazmat team, police will set up roadblocks in a 50mile radius for the impending thermonuclear detonation.....laugh.gif

Seriously, the sticker tells SCDF to investigate the accident scene instead of just calling the cops.

Hi, here's a pic of Stream with CNG w/o removing the last row of seats. Tank config is 25 x 2. If I am not wrong, they now have 30 x 2. Check with Mova.

A thing to note is that the last row of seats are awkwardly straight with slight tilt fwd, making it rather uncomfortable for pple who sit there. Secondly, shd you need boot space folding the last row of seats, you have to carry your stuff above chest level before dumping in your "boot". For bulky items, you probably need to go by the rear passenger doors folding down the second row of seats.

i1716620_streamcng.jpg

I am keen to get a New stream fitted with CNG..I was told by my PI that there is no need to forgo the 3rd rows of seat..it will be fitted with 2 * 28litres tank..only thing is the 3rd row position is upright and cannot lean down..

Jus to share..

There is a stream with double cng tank installed and display at marina square now, no need to remove 3rd row, by pinnacle.

Tell that to the LTA Police when you are caught without the label ! I tot I saw a Pussy Cat ! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Yes, it is mandatory for the label because of safety reason. In the event of an accident, the Civil Defence personnel are cautious not to cut through the vehicle as they do so in a petrol or diesel vehicle because the CNG would leak out very quickly and become a potential inferno hazard.

I am aware of many cheapo but not want to be one CNG driver removing the label by themselves. The retrofitter have to fix it there for LTA inspection but after that it is removed by the owner for the very reason that I have mentioned. So, when they are caught, they would face a stiff fine. Don't know what is the amount but since it is a public safety issue, I am sure it would be "stiff" to drive home the message.

CBX

i see i see. Tks!

that is if ur boot is constantly stuffed with things

the conversion is onli good for people who

-drives alot

-boot mostly empty

-doesn't fetch too mani ppl

-environmentalist

-beh tahan of the ever-increasing petrol prices

-wants to take advantage of the rebate [sunny]

-CNG refill stations are easily accessible

btw, i don think ppl who install CNGs are cheapos, they are

just smarter [flowerface]

One of the good point of MPV is can load a lot of stuff ir bulky item when needed. The way the CNG located, make it no way for you to load bulky item, that is what I am trying to say.

Also, the boot of Stream is already very small, so make it even smaller after CNG conversion.

I feel that Stream and Wish will become 5 seater instead of 7 seater in this case. If that is the case, maybe should get a Station Wagon?

I never said those who install CNG are cheapo, me also keen to install, but provided I accept the loss of space and also the technology must be stable. I heard a lot of cars stalled after install CNG.

Saving of CNG car is 40% of OMV, which is about $8k for a Stream (assume OMv is $20k). But the cost of CNG installationis about $4k, so the saving is $4k compare to normal Stream.

BUT:as the ARF is reduce by $8k, hence the PARF is also reduce by another $4k. This means the nett saving is zero.

The advantage is: You can have the CNG kit for free.

The disavantage is: You are stucked with the kit forever, as I doubt government allow you to remove it after the 40% OMV rebate.

Edited by Ahyoo2002

if we scrapped the car after driving for like 5yrs.. the body include the CNG kit ma??

hmmm.. quite puzzled about it.. sounds like a good deal though.. [rolleyes]

Not my car bro, wanted to buy Stream but decided against it after much consideration. Bought Airwave instead. ;)

Airwave remains the best car for CNG conversion or any other station wagon for the matter.

Just one more thing to add...due to the placement of the tanks in Stream, it is very difficult to unscrew the knob below it that releases the spare tyre at the bottom of the boot.