Golf GTI Limited Edition - Will you buy??

Damienic

Golf GTI Limited Edition - Will you buy??  

68 members have voted

1. 1.

• Yes
    • No
    • Not time for me to change car yet. May consider if it is still available at the time when I changing ride

guess they realise that they can earn more money from people with servicing by tying them with warranty [sweatdrop]

No lei... I own VWs for 7 yrs. They are cheap to maintain compare to Beemers. Every yr, maintenance cost do not exceed 1k assuming no more warranty. Merc is typically 3k above and BMWs are about 2k depending on the type of wear and tear. Merc has got to change lots of things once reach 3rd yr.

VW and audi parts are cheap and BMW more ex by 30% if you buy from stockists. I am also refering to Orignial Parts not OEM.

It is not as expensive as people percieve it to be..... unless you backside itchy and bring back to VW for simple servicing or repair.

eg.. change brake pads for VW is typically about $400 for all incl labor (Original VW Parts). BMW is $600+ incl labor (Original BMW parts).

As for timing belt, it will cost about at least $400 for VW/Audi bec of the engine design. It takes 1 man day to get it change.... this is not a design fault but bec of their design layout and frontal collision design. KNN kia si Germans. So since you are changing the timing belt, might as well the aircon belt also got to change... which is why you end up paying 500+ bec workmanship alone is $200 liao.

The price above is when you service outside with reputable workshop.

During warranty... service for VW is typically less than $200 per 20k.

Edited by Voxy28

If you are comparing 3rd party workshop vs PML or C&C, then its not good comparison.

If you compare VGS vs PML vs C&C... they are all about the same. I think Merc parts are cheaper even.

I remember car & cars quoting me 4 brake pads for $1200 incl labour. and 4 spark plugs for almost $500.

True... you can get good original brake pads or ever performance ones (Mintex/EBC) for $400 incl labour outside.

<$200 per 15-20k servicing (with VGS/car&cars) was 5 years ago pricing. now not possible anymore.

The Facelifted Focus ST is a lot less "garang" then the current Focus ST in terms of looks. Not a bad thing if it doesnt come to Singapore.

THe prices I quoted was about a yr ago for repair not at VGS.

Anyway, if you want to compare repair cost among them... Merc definitely more ex due to the higher frequency of fluid change and consumables which need to tbe replaced. PML also cut throat, $600 for normal servicing. Not sure about VGS now.

Aiya... if buy VW, go to my regular workshop in UBI for repairs. No need to waste more money with VGS. I also repair or service my BMW in my new found workshop.

Very attractive indeed...only 10 months old and 27K lower than a new one..

Alas, I can only consider changing ride in 2009 at the earliest.. [:/]

good buy but dunno why the owner so fast sell..

maybe car got problem?

No offense but to me the sunroof thing is something from the past. Cos now got cabriolet coupes which the tin/metal roof can fold away making the sunroof thingy pointless.

Sunroofs are DEFINITELY a thing of the past, and especially when it comes to performance hatches, it makes the car:

1- heavier

2- noisier at high cruising speeds, which will happen because you are driving a GTI

3- higher cG, although not by much...haha

4- more expensive (duh)

but thats just me. i'm a proponent of the GTI limited edition because:

1- this is a car i would buy and tune, and definitely something i'm considering 1 year down the road when i can get back cash upon settlement of my loan/selling my current car

2- no leather seats? even better - send to a custom leather shop to do up your own creative interior!

3- no bi-xenons? nvm. price of aftermarket units very cheap now. you save more than if you get standard equipment

ok so many other things, but it basically allows you to individualize the car, and come away with a little bit of space cash for that little bit of trouble.

I agree, though you are sacrificing alot of comfort features.

On the other hand it would make a good base for a project car.

It being a GTi, mod potential is... how shall i put it "endless"?

Don't agree with some points you brought up.

1. The Sunroof has been a GTI trademark since MK1. A GTI always had a sunroof. If you want true to origin, then the sunroof is a must have.

2. Yes, the factory interlagos looks really good. I personally prefer leather for ease of maintenance.

3. Aftermarket xenon? Then you lose auto-self levelling and proper beam cut off unless you buy aftermarket and fit yourself, end result which will cost almost the same because it's not a simple plug and play. If you retrofit aftermarket xenons to non HID headlight assembly, then you'll be blinding everybody on the road.

Nice car but cannot go Malaysia leh. Glass tint too dark for Bolehland ! Wasted to have such a powerful car but yet spent all it's time here in Kiasuland. Must go up North to clear the exhaust pipes ! [laugh]

Edited by Cbx750p

Wah.. the term "limited" is really not limited to limited usage..

They shd call it "Golf GTI Lite" instead.. [laugh]

No, GOLF DSGTi more appropriate ! DS = De-Spec [laugh]

Personally, I would prefer the cloth interior because leather is really not practical in super hot Singapore but the HID light, Sunroof, Electric Seats etc...must have in GTi or else is not a true Grand Tourismo Injection anymore ! Better go for second hand then !

Edited by Cbx750p