Scoots 3rd Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 Quote-Raising ERP charges when times are bad.Eracting more ERP gantries when times are bad. Letting fuel prices continue to go up without considering lowering fuel TAXES during such times Increasing their own salaries while ours get by marginally - Bro, he said very clearly. The ONE and ONLY reason for ERP increase and more gantries is to control traffic flow. So if there is no congestion, there is no more increase. And the govt is not trying to make money from ERP's. So get this in your heads... I say 'PUI'!! Oorr..orr... me bad. Yeah. They are not MAKING money from ERPs.... they just squeezing us dry only. My bad. I should listened properly ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 Got IN , No OUT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 What retirement funds? Think we are likely to work in MacDonalds, collect plates in hawker centre or sell tissue paper when we are old. In SG, no such thing as retirement for most peasants. Yah man ... one side say .... "Must have $$ for retirement in CPF" .... but then sell HDB so expensive .... and squeezed out all the $$ from CPF. So end up .... still no retirement fund. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 wah, this is many years ago. nowadays, govt wants to collect more taxes, so they lower the cpf contribution rates so that you take home more pay. more pay = more tax! Sorry I dun understand you statement. How they lower the cpf contribution rates to increase take home pay [dizzy] When they lower the contribution, say from 20% to 18%, that means you take home 2% more now. So, you will have to pay tax for that 2% additional take home income. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 (edited) WTH man.... CPF rates go down, HDB price go up / plus annuity plan.... how to retire??? i wanna kill myself really Dont kill youself la. Just sell off a kidney already sold my whole life to them... not enuff? Edited June 24, 2008 by Ngck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 i wanna kill myself really for good deed, please transfer your CPF fund to my CPF account ... less then 100k.... not enuff to do shiit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 (edited) When they lower the contribution, say from 20% to 18%, that means you take home 2% more now. So, you will have to pay tax for that 2% additional take home income. I think you are refering to 25% to 20% Reduce to 20% onward, the employee CPF contribution amount remains the same (20%) but employer CPF contribution amount reduces to 14.5%. So take home pay no change and total CPF contribution reduces. Edited June 24, 2008 by Megaweb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 (edited) Bro, he said very clearly. The ONE and ONLY reason for ERP increase and more gantries is to control traffic flow. So if there is no congestion, there is no more increase. And the govt is not trying to make money from ERP's. Everyone know traffic congestion issue will never resolve as - they increase the public transport fees - they lower COE to allow more people to buy/drive cars. Edited June 24, 2008 by Megaweb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 so it is catch 22 lor. They lure you in first, then makan you left right centre. Either way we are all suckers. Milked until nipples rot already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eclipze Neutral Newbie June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 haiz.... government keep increasing MIN CPF plan... how to retire in old age... think have to work till die liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhyone 4th Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 Wait for So many Years CPF still No Increase to 20% from Employer Wat is the Garmen Doing [furious] You don't consider 34.5% of your pay going to Government too much? You still want to "donate" another 5.5%? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 Donate 5.5% is from my BOSS Better for me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nighthawkcity 1st Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 dun worry abt ur retirement plan, u cud b shipped to batam or penang... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dee_dum Neutral Newbie June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 within 10 yrs min sum would be 160k man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amuze Neutral Newbie June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 Nowaday never listen to their news, will get higher blood pressure after reading it .... try to look at it from another perspective, how often (till recently) you get so many jokes from these jokers? i always have a good laugh reading it...... So, who says the govt doesn't have a sense of humor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 tot it was 20%+20%??? 20-20 was long long time ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nighthawkcity 1st Gear June 24, 2008 Share June 24, 2008 before 1999 financial crisis.. think i had gotten this ard 1996-1997 era bah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic June 25, 2008 Share June 25, 2008 Do you feel that CPF still work as a "retirement fund" or > 70% of the fund inside will be depleted due to housing loan ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...