Ace_t Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 Been noticing that whenever I release my brake (not the brake handle), I hear an unusual dull clunk sound at the rear of the car. The sound is similar to that of slowly accelerating while the handbrake is up. It doesn't repeat each time I step the brake and release and move, but it happens about 70% of the time. Could it be a sticky brake pad in the drum or the drum itself? After I changed my tyres, I noticed the rear left wheel to have uneven wear and tear...ie botak patches around the inner rim. Anyone experienced this kind of problem before ? Also should I go to a specialist mech or any mech will do ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 And I have been noticing that serious car related matters have been slipping through the fingers of the forumers who are too busy with gossips...... I think you should go to the mech. uneven wear in most cases could be a result of faulty suspension. not that the drums is not the problem. so i do suggest you bring it to your mech. for me, i dun mess around with brakes coz its safety for my family. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Virus 2nd Gear June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 After I changed my tyres, I noticed the rear left wheel to have uneven wear and tear...ie botak patches around the inner rim. Look like you need a wheel alignment liow. I've also got the grunk sound when I release brake slowly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Author Share June 18, 2003 I would like to have it fixed... but as I was discussing with the other guys that friday night, mine is plagued with so many problems (ride is coming 12 yrs and I'm #7 owner), I'm not sure if it would be economical to fix all the problems associated. Altho I try to make it safe and driveable at the same time. Perhaps do some minor fixes to sustain it til I save enuf for a 'replacement'. just my thots.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Author Share June 18, 2003 Wheel alignment at the rear tyres ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 Whats your ride? I was in the same situation as yours at the beginning of the year. went to my workshop and they quoted 4K to put the car in condition again. I cannot say its ex coz we were talking about serious, major overhaul....i ended up selling the car and getting my current sunny. I think it may not be possible to fix everything, but do make sure that you fix what is related to safety first. that to me is top priority Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Author Share June 18, 2003 Mine's the supra saloon Sunny. 1991. Auto Same as redliner's but 6 mths older than his. I think I already spent close to 3k on replacement parts. Wrong time, wrong judgement and wrong friend.(another story to tell another day..dun like to gossip abt friends lah ) Honestly the car is ok to drive, but every mech that looks into it will open up lot's of can of worms, not that they want to make too much of my money. I've come to a point where I have to decide whether to get rid of it and find a replacement, or fix it and use it til I throw it into rochor canal... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 i will say get a replacement. you never know how much more problems will surface Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Virus 2nd Gear June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 Check out wheel alignment (Riverview auto) in resource folder. Normally they do all 4 wheels, not sure got do for 1 wheel only. Check with them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chippz Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 "I think it may not be possible to fix everything, but do make sure that you fix what is related to safety first. that to me is top priority " well said bro... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Author Share June 18, 2003 will replace once job is secured and COE becomes lower..... now looking around. thinking of Sunny SS 2003 or Mitsu Lancer 2003 or if not, then maybe a bora or Corolla (2002) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 sorry, need to ask you something..... if you have the budget for such cars, why a COE in the first place? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasper Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 i wish to offer my views on this. i am inexperience but base on some logical thinking... the dud sound when u release handbrake.... 1) if you parked on a slope, the car should be rolling front/backwards... only stop by the handbrake. thus when u release it slowly, at the point where the contact between the pad & disc disconnect, will end up this sound 2) when u parked under a hot sun, after some time, u try lift up ya wiper. got this "rubber stick to window" sound. same theory. after driving, parked, brake is very hot when u engage. thus "stick". when u release sometimes later... dud.... so better change brake pad. *admin! where is my mintex brake pad? say wanna call me still waiting leh... promotion over liao!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Author Share June 18, 2003 cheap cheap... also trusted friend.. now ex-friend. my depreciation at that time was less than 5k. and wif all the stuff thrown in (at that time) it looked quite attractive. (replaced auto tranny..re-con., new coat of paint, new tyres, rims, momo steering, shocks (monroe), alarm, electric horn, leather seats, starter motor, battery, transferred my blaupunkt) but later, as I thought abt it, didn't seem such a good deal at all. To top it off, he told me he and the agent made 6k from the deal. so the story goes....di dah di dah di dah di besides, I was sian wif a 1 litre UNO that just won't stop failing on me (overheat due to mods) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 1) when you release your handbrakes on a slope you dun step on your foot brakes??? so how to have the sound when the brake is still engaged? 2) your brake pads is able to withstand temperature up to around 300 degree.....so you saying when i do a braking, the pads will get stuck to my disc? no, i dun think so. when a pad gets stuck to a disc its due to either installation problem or faulty brake system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Share June 18, 2003 well...at this point maybe you can consider the options....but first, you have to find a buyer for this car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Author Share June 18, 2003 logical. That's what I thought too. When I release brakes and it goes 'ghungk', on one side, then maybe it's either the drum has a problem releasing the pad, or the pad is sticking to the drum and won't release until the friction is overcome. But it can also happen when car is almost stationary ie.. unnoticeable roll fwd or backward. I just pump the brakes and voila, the sound appears. Think I'll ask my mech to remove the drum cover and inspect it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie June 18, 2003 Author Share June 18, 2003 Of course when on a slope, I'd have to step on the brakes before releasing the handbrake. The sound 'creeking' sound that is produced is 'normal??' The sound comes on mainly during level roads. I think I may have a faulty brake system, altho the car dun sway to one side upon braking. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...