Jeffang Neutral Newbie July 4, 2008 Share July 4, 2008 need $$$ to update... then must well use the $$$ to get a better one :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear July 4, 2008 Share July 4, 2008 of cos need $$ lah ... updates should be about $20+ $20 + can get a better GPS system? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie July 4, 2008 Share July 4, 2008 $20+ but in long run, say about 1-2 yr.... then watsed the $$$$ a good gps system has a bigger screen, and full map, with poi init... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear July 4, 2008 Share July 4, 2008 u dun update yr maps very mth!! i did consider a standalone GPS system too... but depending on the installed software, u may still need to pay for updates Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie July 4, 2008 Share July 4, 2008 dun go for tibo!!! they make people pay $50 every yr... now free is malsingmaps and mapking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear July 4, 2008 Share July 4, 2008 so do you need to pay using N82 GPS?as some of them require the use of GPRS N82 uses A-GPS. Yes, you need to pay the GPRS while using A-GPS. Check out N82 specification below http://www.nokia.com.sg/A4767065 Need GPRS to seach GPS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear July 4, 2008 Share July 4, 2008 but the gps in 6110 sometime take very long time to connect! so i buy a pure gps system, is way faster and better! and never get lost in malaysia! and just click on it and the system will guide you to the place! and now i cannot go without my gps anymore... 6110 Dun need GPRS Connection to GPS is Slow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear July 4, 2008 Share July 4, 2008 Wat is malsingmap latest version ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie July 4, 2008 Share July 4, 2008 is 2.27 now but if you got give them 2 poi then u can get the gold ver... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie July 4, 2008 Share July 4, 2008 for mapking the latest update is may 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie July 5, 2008 Share July 5, 2008 then better use standalone gps system! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear July 5, 2008 Share July 5, 2008 how about the shinco gps? its got most features that garmin and holux have, yet its price is cheaper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear July 5, 2008 Share July 5, 2008 (edited) holux best! both can say mid end, dun want to spent $500 or more for higher end! garmin 200w $399 now holux 55 $499 now if can go for holux, if you are like me always dun like to wait for the gps to connect b4 move! watse time! and holux look better then 200w and the info on the gps, holux win garmin, just go to any shop to compare it yourself... but sometime too many thing on the screen also bad... anyway look nicer! and after i fix up the ext antenna, i can even navi when under cte! anyway update is more easy then malsingmap, that for me which is not very techie... If you want to invest your money getting an external antenna just to navigate under the road tunnel, don't waste your money, it is a lost cause. For short tunnels, even without an external antenna, GPS can still continue to track on gradually weakening signal but once signal is lost, software will still track for only for a short distance based on last position after signal is lost. No GPS can navigate in long tunnel except those high-end models. They use dead reckoning function with gyroscope sensor(s) which need to be tapped to the speedometer pulse to know the speed/direction when in tunnels , mscp, near tall builings,etc. where satellite signal is not strong or present. On certain high end Garmin models they do have this dead reckoning function with gyroscope sensor(s). Edited July 5, 2008 by Redstorm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie July 5, 2008 Share July 5, 2008 shinco also slow to boot up and slow to get connect, but dun need to wait like garmin 200w but the look not so nice... holux once u on, u see the map liao... unless u do a reset, if not is 0 sec boot up, and 20-40 sec connect... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear July 5, 2008 Share July 5, 2008 the processor speed is slower Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snookium 1st Gear July 5, 2008 Share July 5, 2008 I using Nokia N82 with GPS You need to pay after the trial. One year voice subcription is at S$149/per. Unless you can find new map with free voice guidance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear July 5, 2008 Share July 5, 2008 All can i add to the confusion here ? i bought a Garmin 260W it comes with SGP and MY maps Where can i find more maps to download? How to install the files ?? is it auto recognize ?? Going to LA late next week i know i hv to use a new SD card ... no problem .. i already bought 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie July 5, 2008 Share July 5, 2008 (edited) garmin can go to malsingmaps.com to download and update with lot of poi! but not like holux, just click the exe file and it will do everything for you on the update... garmin you will need to download at least 3 software from there, and then go read the forum on how to give them 2 poi from your gps, and sent the drawing up to them, then you will become their member, then you can download their gold ver map... i switch from garmin to holux cause of this... not too techie, had try for 3-4 week on the software, but still cannot get it right! so no member for me... so i sell it off to someone here... now with holux i fine more easy to update, and the voice is cool: "you have reach your dest.. voice navi will now stop" "speed camera 300m ahead" if you over the speed in that road "please slow down" Edited July 5, 2008 by Jeffang ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...