Kelpie 2nd Gear July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 1. Anyone here have subscribed to ADT, Chubb or Cisco home security package for HDB? 2. Which company is good and reliable? Thank you. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 bro... i'm using ADT. Paying 33 a month. Package comes with front door sensor, smoke detector, 2 remote controls for the command panel. No comments about the other 2 providers but i understand CHUBB and Cisco are more for commercial security though they also offer home security. So far, very please with the service rendered. Their 24 hour centre actually called me up within 5 mins when my wife accidentlly triggered the alarm. If i'm not wrong, Cisco and ADT's package are rather quite simlarly priced.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 13, 2008 Author Share July 13, 2008 bro... i'm using ADT. Paying 33 a month. Package comes with front door sensor, smoke detector, 2 remote controls for the command panel. No comments about the other 2 providers but i understand CHUBB and Cisco are more for commercial security though they also offer home security. So far, very please with the service rendered. Their 24 hour centre actually called me up within 5 mins when my wife accidentlly triggered the alarm. If i'm not wrong, Cisco and ADT's package are rather quite simlarly priced.... 1. If same price, wouldn't Cisco be more value for money? The brand name speaks for itself. 2. Only front door sensor? Can it detects intrusion via the Windows? Thank you. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicapimp Neutral Newbie July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 ADT (from mthly $38 onwards) http://www.adt.com.sg/en/index.aspx?page=h...rotect-packages Cisco http://www.certissecurity.com/sg/Home%20&%...hp?pg=1&subpg=1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 to answer your question 1. If same price, wouldn't Cisco be more value for money? The brand name speaks for itself. - that time, Cisco's basic home protection package was 50+. So in terms of pricing, ADT wins. Also, Cisco boast that they have their own security officers but in cases of emergency, police presence is still required before the front door can be broken down. So ..... the availability of the cisco officers doesnt make a difference. We decided solely on pricing and the ease of using the system. 2. Only front door sensor? Can it detects intrusion via the Windows? - before you sign up with them, a security specialist will make a house visit. There, he/she will access their home and the possible point of entries. eg: landed property, HDB flats with windows along common corridor will have more point of entries as opposed to a corner unit (my case). The more point of entries, the higher the risk hence more sensors might be required. Anyway, like i said, the packages/services are pretty similar so choose one that meets your needs lah. Good luck! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spikedoll Clutched July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 is there any contract ? I am considering if I should install.Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 haha... ya... 3 yr contract and after that, you can decide if you want to continue or not. Should u choose not to continue, you can still keep the sensors everything. But the only thing is that there will not be a 24 hour security monitoring done for you. Now not bad leow. Everything is wireless and u can place your command panel at a nice location near your phone line. The 3 yr bond is the minimum period the company needs to break even for the equipment they provide. This was what the specialist told us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spikedoll Clutched July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 (edited) phoneline required? what if my hse no phone line leh? Edited July 13, 2008 by Spikedoll Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 (edited) yup... phoneline required. the sensors are wirelessly linked to the command panel and the command panel is linked to the phoneline. Any intrusions will be sent signals via the phoneline to the security centre. I'm using starhub's digital voice as my home line... it works. Not a fixed line with singtel. Edited July 13, 2008 by Altivo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicz Neutral Newbie July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 bro... i'm using ADT. Paying 33 a month. Package comes with front door sensor, smoke detector, 2 remote controls for the command panel. No comments about the other 2 providers but i understand CHUBB and Cisco are more for commercial security though they also offer home security. So far, very please with the service rendered. Their 24 hour centre actually called me up within 5 mins when my wife accidentlly triggered the alarm. If i'm not wrong, Cisco and ADT's package are rather quite simlarly priced.... 1. If same price, wouldn't Cisco be more value for money? The brand name speaks for itself. 2. Only front door sensor? Can it detects intrusion via the Windows? Thank you. Regards, yo bro, i m using adt. that cisc* hor, service not so good. right from the beginning when i was asking for quotation that stupid sales person already give me lousy service liao. trust me, adt has better service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 hi, i am already into my second 3yr term with ADT. so far so good, svc and response time has been up to my mark. though i must warn that there has been a one~two false tampered alarms, which ended with me rushing back home, from office armed wif my trustee base ball bat ! (due to a sensor failure). worth the $$. now is even betta than last time when they subcon out the installation, whcich means u really need to find a good installer. NOW they performs it with the own staff, so betta quality of work. mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 15, 2008 Author Share July 15, 2008 I'm using starhub's digital voice as my home line... it works. Not a fixed line with singtel. I thought Starhub digital voice line is skeptical to power failure. True? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 hmmm... so far okay.... nothing of such sort happened to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 1. Anyone here have subscribed to ADT, Chubb or Cisco home security package for HDB? 2. Which company is good and reliable? Thank you. Regards, Moved from private to HDB and now feel insecure is it? See, now you know what is the REAL price you pay! The peace of mind! PRICELESS...beat any known security sysyem! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 16, 2008 Author Share July 16, 2008 Moved from private to HDB and now feel insecure is it? See, now you know what is the REAL price you pay! The peace of mind! PRICELESS...beat any known security sysyem! 1. You suan me is it? 2. No lah, I'm used to having those security measures, so trying to do the same for my HDB flat. I probably will install viewcam at door and change to digital lock with card access. But then, I wonder if I'm going to look odd to the neighbours or passer-by leh with these gadgets . Anyway, HDB flats these days also have camera at lifts leh. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 16, 2008 Author Share July 16, 2008 hmmm... so far okay.... nothing of such sort happened to me. If there is a power failure or your power adapter is faulty for some reasons, your alert system will ne immobilized. I think the better option is to use normal analogue line for ADT alert and a separate digital phone line for home use. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 yup... that is quite true Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged July 16, 2008 Share July 16, 2008 was with ADT. found it a waste of $$$. cos my place no one cld come in thru windows unless they know abscaling, hv gondola or has spiderman capabilities. most imptly, i dont hv anything worth stealg at home. as for stove, i got those with security one. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...