Irene Neutral Newbie July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 Good luck TS Do update us how much fine If just few ks... I think alot of ppl will still cheat ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fri13th 1st Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 ppl cheapskate cheater,stupid,hardup,spoil market let them be lor kanna caught their problem lor catch liao the money only goes to govt in the end only govt happy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkblue 1st Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 (edited) You "sabo-ed" other OPC drivers... Even Honest ones are being labeled as cheaters by stereotype-rs Usually above 10K, not kidding Edited July 15, 2008 by Darkblue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 (edited) so many OPC cheaters everyday anyhow running around but so little TP what u expect? if hamtam 1 fella jialat jialat like car confiscated or something Edited July 15, 2008 by Mr_b20 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fri13th 1st Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 yah lor must hamtam all of them especially those 50cents coupon also want to cheat everyday i think can catch thousands of them parking around Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beng2 5th Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 A friend's relative got caught cheating on OPC coupon. The fine? $15,000. Wonder why there is such big difference in the fine amounts. You probably do not know that when OPC was WEC many yrs ago, the punishment is 2 weeks imprison. $15k or jail? the choice is clear. What I mean is, why do some get fined $1k, some $5k, and some $15k? In any case, I fully support the huge fines. Think about it: with such huge fines, people still cheat. Can you imagine how congested the road would be if the fines were small? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chweech Neutral Newbie July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 people can do what they like. you don't have to be so mean to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 haf to appear in court 21 soon.my charges is altered off peak coupon. 1st time offence.the car is not mine my family car.didnt know the seriousness. what is the average amount for such offence?i been told i be sack if the amount is a few k. what procedure i haf to follow when in court? how did u get caught? mine sharing with bros here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 My friend who kenna the same offence got fine 5k few 4 months ago. I had told him many times don't play with the law, yet he don't listen. When he got caught and fine, he kpkb to me. Seems to me he still think he is not in the wrong. I told him the only way to get back your fine or ROI is to drive your OPC for the next 300 days without coupon. If he never get caught again, then he can break even and ROI. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 just curious, are OPC offences caught red-handed? or simply issued a summon letter to ur mailbox out of the blue? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 LTA should come up with a IU-unit like system for OPC... once they start the engine deduct $20 via GIRO. easier this way no need geng so many ideas how to cheat the OPC coupon I think they should first come out with a IU unit to catch speedster, since no one should speed right? above 90km/hr immediately send a summon to the house. ok lets say human error, 110km/hr also can. don't u think their ROI is fatter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 (edited) ALERT ALERT ALERT wah u register today, clock posts to start this thread.... http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/General_C1/General_Car_Discussion_F1/gforum.cgi?do%3Dsearch_results%3Bsearch_forum%3Dall%3Bsearch_user_username%3DFeeldown%3Bmh%3D25=Show+user%27s+posts So ur purpose to get advice on what lie to tell the judge to get off with a lighter sentence? bro i'm sorry u had to learn this the hard way, but what u did is wrong! cheat! gove rebate u 17K n u cheat by driving it like normal plate for free!!! makes people like us who have normal plate du lan! anyways i'm not all evil n i do also hope u can keep ur job. Haha! The way he clock his posts all either one sentence or one word within a span of approximately 15mins. Come to think about it, it is quite lame. Nonetheless, in order to have done all this, he must be really desperate for advice. I empathise with your situation, but like how most people view it, you got to face the consequences when you made that decision. May you have the best of luck in getting the minimal sentence. Edited July 15, 2008 by Jetabout777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 I don't own an off-peak car. But, I was thinking that OPC owners who have the intent to cheat on coupons would have a better chance of getting away with the TP by using a normal plate instead of a red plate. That is, provided that you don't get into trouble with the law through various means such as speeding, drink driving and etc. Let's face the facts, how many of us driving normal plate cars ever get stopped by TP while driving normally on the roads? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ytp2000 Clutched July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 Found these in another forum but his case is different from yours..... -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Let me share my past history i own a OPC in Feb 2004 my first case was on Oct 2004, driving an opc without coupon. Interview in LTA was luckly to be fined $200 by LTA. Nvn send me to court. my 2nd case happen in Apr 2006, wan raining heavy so i decide to drive out office at 6.50pm. Was stopped right after i enter PIE Tuas at 6.55pm. Went for interview also, but send me to court in Oct 06. Was fined $1400 for the stupid 5min. as i work for SAF, i was issue an letter of warning by MINDEF. Lost my bonus for 1 year and ban me from any promotion for 1 year also. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ytp2000 Clutched July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 Attach below is an old article release by LTA ================== To ensure that the OPC scheme is not abused, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) has been stepping up its enforcement efforts. The LTA took action against 244 cases of OPC violation* in 2004, compared to 48 in 2003. For 2005, up to the end of June, 268 cases of OPC violations have been booked. To deter OPC violations, the penalties are severe relative to OPC tax rebates and in comparison with the cost savings from not displaying valid day-licences. An offender can be fined up to $10,000 for using an OPC without displaying a valid day licence. For tampering with the day licence, the penalty is a fine not exceeding $20,000 or imprisonment not exceeding 12 months or both. About one-third of those convicted were found to have tampered with the licences - a more serious offence. The punishment is a fine of up to $10,000 for the first offence. Subsequent convictions carry fines of up to $20,000, a maximum jail term of 12 months, or both. They also face an additional charge of driving without a valid supplementary licence, which carries a maximum fine of $5,000 for first-time offenders. On average, the tamperers were fined $8,000 - equivalent to almost half their tax savings. Those who drive without a supplementary licence or an invalid one face fines of up to $5,000, which can double for repeat offenders. This article first appeared in ST on July 29, 2005 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ytp2000 Clutched July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 FYI If u're driving an OPC car out of singapore(to malaysia) between 7am - 7pm, the custom officer who stamp your passport will check your opc coupon. So do display your valid opc coupon although the checkpoint might be less than 1km away from your carpark. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 They have already thought of that. The red plate has a seal which may break when you try to tamper with it. Of course you can try overlaying the black plate on top of the red plate, but the seal will still have to remain and it's quite obvious if you are aware of it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 You have a choice not to cheat but you did not take it. So be a man, face the consequences. As for the job, when you want to cheat that time, did you even spare a thought about your job? If you didn't, then too bad. Sorry for being hash here but I think you need to learn your lesson the hard way. I am so sorry I cheated........ do not be harsh on me!!!!!!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...