Mrlau Clutched August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 (edited) The Olympics took 7 years to prepare, involved thousand of profesionals, billion of dollars, for the first time ever event in history. Our NDP took 7 months to prepare, involved thousand of school kids, and we do this every year. Some of us probably dont know, just Beijing city alone got 3times more population than S'pore ? Although this, ask China to do the Olympic every year lor, see they can tahan how many year ? Edited August 9, 2008 by Mrlau ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenwing Neutral Newbie August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 Well, perhaps the best way to shut some of the defensive (or objective?) brothers here is to see how Youth Olympics Games turn out in 2011. It's an one-off (for Singapore) International event sanctioned by the same International Olympics Committee. It's also the first of its kind. Singapore also spent years to bid for it, and have years to prepare for it. I believe Singapore can very well afford as much as if not more than China for the event. US$100/pax surely means a lot more to China than to Singapore. It'll definitely be fairly decent (no major hiccups, well organised and well executed) going by our government's track record, but will it be something that people will reminisce and speak of and compare against favourably in years to come? My opinion going by our government's past history, will be to ensure that the event goes smoothly (only) and do all the safe things to err on the side of prudance rather than excellence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 Just saw the Olympics. It was beyond spectacular. Speechless. Best show I have seen. As for our NDP..... sad. I am not unpatrotic but I gave up on watching the parades many years ago (have taken part in many before). The problem I feel is it is ALWAYS organised by non-proffessionals and non-creative people in the SAF. Every year is LEFT-RIGHT-LEFT, etc. Using SAF personel is cheap labour but also = zero creativity. To improve our NDP, we should actually commercialise the NDP, get professionals to bid for it to put up a good show. Only when you have competition by these pros then the NDP will improve. You can still involve the SAF but the art direction/production must come from the pros (not the other way round). Gone are the days whereby audiences are satisfied by the same old march pass and mass displays, etc. Ask anyone and they will tell you that they are bringing their children to NDP to watch the parade (but the objective is not for themselves to watch). Look at how the Olympics has evolved. I was expecting plenty of those typical North Korean type gymnastics mass display performances but Beijing modernised it. 20 years from now, our NDP will still be using the same old format, fly pass, march pass, ....yawn. NDP is one of SAF's major projects within the workyear. Without it, those regulars would be very free! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 Anybody watching the NDP show live on TV now? Walau really pathetic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 actually i'll be very proud the day I see other political parties (in parliament) on parade instead of just PAP. I mean... people who never even actually fought an election acting like they are better than peole who win despite unequal odds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfpoon Clutched August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 indeed...see only PAPies...which represents only 66% of those who voted...what about the rest of the 34% and those who did not get a chance to vote? ERA have a contingent? wonder if they volunteered or did they have to pay for the "advertising" spot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ixiz Clutched August 9, 2008 Author Share August 9, 2008 (edited) Well...bad weather prohibit me to go fishing ... So stuck with the program and give it a try ...I regretted i never go catch butterflies instead ...Watching Ants crawl maybe will also be more interesting ... But Hey ...what i said earlier is still around ... Still got the MP throwing rifle ... Still got the same old parachute flying ... Still the Same old motorcycle carrying multiple pillion Oh yeah ...the speed boat were great !!! Wow ...And they managed to form the figure 08 !! Amazing !! Edited August 9, 2008 by Ixiz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 got MPs throwing rifles meh? just now drizzling leh... the difficulty is much higher Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ixiz Clutched August 9, 2008 Author Share August 9, 2008 Got lah ...maybe no throw just rotate rotate a bit ... But to be honest and as a encouragement to the students ... the Drum Sequence showing now not bad lor ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfpoon Clutched August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 The Singapore contingent is so small. And lead by a non local born singaporean http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews...0809-81499.html Why is Jiawei dragging the S'pore flag? Where's the respect for the National flag, wonders a STOMPer, who was aghast that Li Jiawei, Singapore's flagbearer at the Beijing Olympics, allowed a part of the flag to touch the ground. Jeremy told STOMP in an email: "While it is noted that our Team Singapore is representing us in the Beijing Olympics and hoping to bring back an olympic medal to do us proud, it is also very sad to see that our Flag Bearer at the Olympics Opening Ceremony - Li Jiawei is holding our National flag in such a position that it allows the tip of the flag to be dragged along the route. "I don't see other country's flag bearer holding their own respective country's flag in such a manner that it allows the tip of the flag to touch the ground. "The National Flag, a symbol of pride and a nation's identity should be treated with respect and not bed allowed to even fall, much less let the tip touch the ground and even get dragged along the route. Where is the sense of respect to the flag in this case? "This doesn't quite reflect well on Singapore in the International Arena where billions of television viewers across the globe and the hundreds of thousands of spectators in the stadium saw how she mishandled the flag. She should be taken to task when she comes back from the Olympics 2 weeks from now. "Perhaps the Singapore National Olympics Council could kindly comment on this matter. "Lastly wishing all Singaporeans a Happy 43rd National Day and all the best to team Singapore in the Olympics." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 You are belittling efforts of so many people that put in their time, effort and energy to put this all together. If you are Singaporean, like it or not. It is still Singapore national day parade. Anybody watching the NDP show live on TV now? Walau really pathetic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 Oh well ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 Don't forget the (SAF) organisers have their own agenda for doing it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hao80 Neutral Newbie August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 Cannot fight la.. Just the number of pretty girls encircle the athletes from other countries already made my saliva drop.. To be honest, I never see so many young girls in one opening ceremony .. And the synchronise drum perform by the guys, with their "battle cry" to live up the atmosphere...Fantastic.. . Again I never see so many young guys in one opening ceremony... They have the $$ and manpower to do the job.. This event actually took a lot of shine off from our NDP.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 Whatever technology you employed, it will never ever win over the sheer numbers of people that is involved in a display. For a start, they used 2008 participants in the first item beating the drum. Just a word from the Central Govt, you have so many participants. Well like in any countries, there are bound to have some who disagree with anything, overlooking the big picture. But in the case of China, those numbers are so easily distracted by their sheer population. For Singapore and our NDP - I recalled those Padang and NS days, we did have a similar effect - by the sheer numbers of participants. By since moving to the Marina Bay location, we missed this impact. Maybe its for safety that this is limited. Remember that the Marina Bay performance is done on a floating platform in the TA Basin. In the olden days, CP is where some people ended their life there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 (edited) It's not fair to compare NDP with Olympics opening. Though i agree after such a spectacle, its not easy to see another similar display of much smaller scale in less than 24 hours, and not compare. Just like after watching World Cup Final,... then less than 24 hours later watch Malaysia Cup final. Totally different stage right? If want to compare, let's wait and see how the opening of 2010 Youth Olympics will be in Singapore. That'll be a fair comparison,... but still, Beijing has certainly set a benchmark not easy for any organizing nation to keep up with. Also 2012 in Manchester... will the English, also rather rich in their 1000 odd years of colonial culture, be able to match or surpass that benchmark. Edited August 9, 2008 by Miles Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 Hosting the Olympic for the 1st time, China have almost an unlimited budget...for our NDP which is yearly,we all know that it will not be fair to compare. that being said, after watching the Olympic opening yestesday, i feel i will not miss much if I do not watch our NDP! (esp the fireworks!) China is such a big country. She can activate tens of thousands people to contribute into this events. How to compare? I went for the NDP, the fireworks was very nice! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Makinen85 1st Gear August 9, 2008 Share August 9, 2008 the opening of the Olympic was very nice.... but the NDP...i onli watch the parade...den after tat switch over to watch olympic.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...