Mustank Hypersonic August 15, 2008 Share August 15, 2008 (edited) seriously speaking, time diferrerntiated pricing is a good idea for business generally as long as they can shift demand to non-peak timings, without canniblising peak hour demand to a point where there is too much spare supply capacity during the peak hour, can already but you are right about the 10cents thing. i think the expression of a commuter is like this: Edited August 15, 2008 by Mustank ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear August 15, 2008 Share August 15, 2008 aka "spreading out the demand" lah do you know the underlying motive? to ensure that the chicken's hole is utilized to the fullest at all times lah soon .. 3 tonner can go in and do U turn the only thing i know how to spread is ... LEGS !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 15, 2008 Share August 15, 2008 if this is successful, they will say 10 cents discount for those who leave town stations after 10pm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speddevil Neutral Newbie August 15, 2008 Share August 15, 2008 Pay and Pay. Endless paying with nothing innovative Liek what some Bro said problem will still remained unresolve then take this opportunity to chop us bit by bit. Reduce little bit but suck you big time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_2008 Clutched August 15, 2008 Share August 15, 2008 The day has come as expected. SMRT giving discount on fare for pple who reach CBD before 7.30am. This means taking train more expensive during peak hour! Those pple up there only know how to use $$ to solve problem... dun be stupid lah... they giving discount... lah.. not saying jacking up prices for people who reach after 7.30am u singaporeans really funny... me woodlands laughing at you all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_2008 Clutched August 15, 2008 Share August 15, 2008 the only solution the elite can come out with is use $$$ to so call "SOLVE" problem.sad to say that the problem is not solve at all. i believe the elites can do better being paid so high a salary. why not just increase the frequency of the trains and buses in peak hours. increase frequency? you going to be the train / bus driver? then end up higher operational costs, then pass it to you.. happy or not? u know, talk is cheap. higher frequency = higher costs = higher fares = u okie? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 15, 2008 Share August 15, 2008 i can sense a lot of wuling high hand coming this way my nen gong lousy.....i better siam first Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged August 15, 2008 Share August 15, 2008 nbz ... soon the "chickens" in GL will also charge diff price at different timings + how long magic meat pole is in the deep dark hole. Every min = $10. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juniorsg August 15, 2008 Share August 15, 2008 agree talk is cheap and perhaps you want to offer better solution huh?? anyway, the SMRT did increase it frequency but if rememeber correctly, it was during luch time SMRT increase the frequency. shoudn't it be in the morning and evening har? apparently, the problem here is there is a substaitialy increase in number of commuters. and thus the most direct solution is by increasing the frequency of the services. with the increase in frequency = "less "sardine". agree? the "time frame" way of solving problem used by the elites aren't going to help. is like playing "tai chi" trying to "shift" the problem here an there. there is a chinese saying: "huan tang bu huan yao" (change the soup but not the medicine). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minicop Neutral Newbie August 16, 2008 Share August 16, 2008 just found out that the savings is ONLY 10cents?!? Like that i dun see the point of this whole exercise..waste time Later they will increase the fees for the normal hours to make the different bigger. Just like ERP. In fact the fare will be increase come 1st of Sep. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged August 16, 2008 Share August 16, 2008 actually this has been impelemented for sometime but for the senior citizen fare. they have more discount during off peak hours Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear August 16, 2008 Share August 16, 2008 [reply] Later they will increase the fees for the normal hours to make the different bigger. Just like ERP. In fact the fare will be increase come 1st of Sep. [reply] U got that damn right!!!!!!! 10 cents insignicant to many. Thats the whole damn idea. Then slowlyyyyyyyy & surelyyyyyyyy....they will increase, 20 cents, 50 cents, $1, $2.....blah blah blah. Then HO-SAY liao .........just like ERP, we are tricked again!!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rtth84 1st Gear August 17, 2008 Author Share August 17, 2008 dun you get it? it means the peak hours fare more expensive thean non-peak hour fare mah... just like erp. use the road during peak hour more expensive then off-peak hours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minicop Neutral Newbie August 17, 2008 Share August 17, 2008 For senior citizen it is normal in a lot of country. Now this gearing to shape how people use the public transport. Basically shifting the time people go to work. So u work longer hours and harder to just save some money. then they will claim they help people to flight inflation and create more value for the people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minicop Neutral Newbie August 17, 2008 Share August 17, 2008 Then they will tell you the fare structure is good for SG as a whole. It actually help investor coming into SG and so on and on and on and on. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...