Hensony Clutched March 4, 2002 Share March 4, 2002 Yep. My car is mainly used for urban driving. This explains why I'm so impressed with 10 km per litre fuel efficiency. 10km/l is average only, do U drive around the city most of the time? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hensony Clutched March 4, 2002 Share March 4, 2002 Before I installed Broquet, my car was doing about 8 to 9 km per litre. Compared to your friend's car, I guess in terms of fuel efficiency my Ford Laser is world apart from Mazda. As I mostly do urban driving, 10 km per litre is quite good to me. My friend's Mazda 323 1.6L auto 1999 model which is using the same engine as Ford Laser, now 80K+ on the odometer, still does 11km/L without any aftermarket gadgets. You think your fuel catalyst thingy is working or not ? Did you check your consumption before installation ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie March 4, 2002 Author Share March 4, 2002 What's your best mileage so far? Ever clocked a tankful up the NS Highway? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear March 5, 2002 Share March 5, 2002 Best mileage that I clocked for the NS on my car was 16km/l man !! 120kmh constant cos need to stay within the stage 1 VTEC zone to make use of the lean burn part. Car is stock only changed the KNN filter element and B30 Broquet. What I really llike about the broquet is the way that the treated petrol can aid performance in the hot afternoon.....its like driving in the night time. So how the car is more responsive than before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie March 5, 2002 Author Share March 5, 2002 I got the Broquet pellets (8) in my fuel tank but don't feel much lah, probably "Treatment" not even. Anywhere left inside, too lecheh to fish out also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Overboost Clutched March 5, 2002 Share March 5, 2002 I installed the in tank unit a few years ago when it was launched in Singapore. Paid $165 + $20 for labour. Consumption same, power same. Next year at the Motorshow, they started to promote the in line unit. I queried about the non-effectiveness of the in tank unit. The joker told me my petrol tank too big so must put in another one!! Geeezz.... IMHO, don't waste your money. The fuels nowadays very good already. Nothing to treat... Rgds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie March 5, 2002 Share March 5, 2002 Just change engine oil more frequently lah! I've a friend who drives a 2.5V6 156. He services his car regularly according to agent's guidelines ie. every 10K. He dynoed his car pre and post oil change and he got an 8 bhp gain on wheels just by changing the oil! I'm sure you notice that your car runs smoother, rev better, sounds better, seems more powerful and gives a better fuel consumption after every oil change! With access to cheaper but good engine oil eg Elf and Royal Purple, I can afford to change at every 5K! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hensony Clutched March 5, 2002 Share March 5, 2002 It's about 10km per litre. Sometimes it's even better. I guess it mainly boils down to my driving style. Sometime aggressive, sometime tame like sheep. It's a pity I didn't get a chance to test out my Broquet at the NS Highway. What's your best mileage so far? Ever clocked a tankful up the NS Highway? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie March 5, 2002 Author Share March 5, 2002 Time for your car to open up along the NS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seven11 Neutral Newbie March 5, 2002 Share March 5, 2002 For anyone who wants a 2nd hand unit, try Ghostrider. Go to: http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi?post=6020; sb=post_latest_reply; so=ASC; forum_view=forum_view_collapsed;#6020://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...collapsed;#6020://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...collapsed;#6020://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...collapsed;#6020://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...collapsed;#6020://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...collapsed;#6020://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...collapsed;#6020://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...collapsed;#6020://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...collapsed;#6020 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie March 5, 2002 Author Share March 5, 2002 Dump into fuel tank difficult to justify the money back guarantee. They'll probably tell U the labor to remove the fuel tank is at your own cost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear March 6, 2002 Share March 6, 2002 He he he.....that is the problem with In Tank type lah.....no choice but I had the B30 (in Line type) and can feel the diff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Overboost Clutched March 6, 2002 Share March 6, 2002 what difference did you feel sir? rgds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear March 6, 2002 Share March 6, 2002 You will feel that the engine is more responsive to the throttle....like driving in the night time as compared to hot afternoon. Economy wise, I get stuck in traffic too often nowadays and it is tough to gauge. But there was once I drove to Malacca and the mileage was 16km/l !! average comsumation for me in the week is about 12km/l. (Lots of city driving) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear March 6, 2002 Share March 6, 2002 Thank you thank you for your advertisment !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newtonapple Neutral Newbie March 11, 2002 Share March 11, 2002 Hi Ghostrider Glad that you see benefits in using the Broquet - but in-line. I am one of those who are still considering, and being an owner of a 1 year+ vehicle, do not particularly want to install an in=line, and if anything happens, the car agent may find an excuse to void the vehicle warranty, esp if the problem can be related to the installation. A few questions to help me make the decision: a. Before the installation, what kinda of mileage are you getting? b. Is yr vehicle a manual or auto? Mine is an auto, heard that autos do not see significant improvement in mileage. c. Does yr vehicle allow easy modification of the in-line or do you need to modfiy? Tks. newtonapple Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabiaman 1st Gear March 11, 2002 Share March 11, 2002 Newtonapple, that is a valid concern for a "new" car owner. My Fabia is less than 1 year old and everything in the engine compartment is still stock. Am just a bit kia su that if the agent looks at the mods done, they will definitely dispute and try to point fingers at the area that was modded. It will actually be a fair comment that the agent make in the event they try to void the warranty... just like buying a new PC, you open up the box and they will void your warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear March 12, 2002 Share March 12, 2002 Actually no major modification is needed. They will just install the unit between your fuel filter and the trottle. Mine is coming to 2 yrs old....but actually I got caught a few times by the agent liao....but they neber say anything....just that the other time I went to claim a new box, the advisor told me to take it out so the supervisor cannot point the fault at the broquet. Mine is a auto and before installation was doing a constant 13-14kml....60% h'way. Now can only get 12kml cos 80% driving in the city. But tried recently on NS H'way....constant 120kmh all the way to Malacca.....16kml !!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...