Tailgaters - how do you react?

Longbownet

Tailgaters - how do you react?  

125 members have voted

1. 1.

• Jam brake and let him sh*t his/her pants!
    • Buah Bodoh and drive on
    • Slow down to snail's pace
    • Floor the pedal and let him 'pi yan'
    • Change lane and let him pass

oh..and if you need to overtake on lane 1..try to high beam them from far..too near to them and they may not see the high beam..at least that's what i notice..if i high beam like 2-3 car lengths away, the car will usually filter left if he can..

half the time it doesn't work. some road hoggers can be very persistent.

i can on the high beam 2-3 car length away and leave it on, NO REACTION.

if they play with me by braking, at least i've gotten to them. but they refuse to do anything at all [hur]

i actually prefer to overtake from the left where possible.

I found that there is no point high beam, horn and etc to road hoggers. Most of the time, they are in the dreamland and did not see you coming or don't bother giving way.

If they really want to give way, the moment they see your fast approaching car, they will move. Otherwise, they will just remain there for the rest of the journey.

So why bother, just over take from the left.

Bro...

If the car in front of you is a Conti make... don't bother about high beaming them. They got this stylo milo thing called Auto Dimmer Rear View Mirror. Some more expensive ones even the side mirrors are also have the Auto Dimmer function!

They can still be in lala land when you're tail gating and flashing them!

That's why I said why bother.....just over take from the left.

In the past, I suggested braking after overtaking them to wake them up (when you are really pissed off), but kena shot down. I just wanted the road hoggers to move away from the fastest lane so everyone else can pass them.

So my attitude is why bother, just over take and be on your way. Why kpo?

Please don't shoot me for saying the above. I am just adopting the general attitude of non-provoking and drive safely.

Safety first!!!

if i am on the lane 1 , i will filter n let him pass when traffic allows. Then follow after him . If TP in front , will catch him first.

if i am on lane 2/ 3- no need to talk cos i am always in lane 1. [laugh]

If there is a road hogger on lane 1 , i will filter left and overtake. no need to waste bulb life and horn. If cannot filter, then i will horn.

[reply]knn like that very bad leh! scarli he rushing to hospital leh? although i know its not the case many a times but i doesnt hurt to give way...

That's the best reason i can give myself for letting him pass and it'll not get me irritated. Though 90% of the time I know I'm bluffing myself. [laugh] Beats spoiling my day for sure!

If TP is behind, you will be caught?

Me always on lane 1 too. Aiya, seriously, if there is a road hogger, the best way is to overtake from the left.

Horning will not do, as some people might take offence. I remember one time a cab in front of my car, traveling slowly in lane 1. I tried flashing my lights, signal right, high beam for some time and last horning. He was so angry with the horning part that he wanted to pick a fight. [hur]

Ah.... no wonder. But more lorries do drive on the lane 2 at speed above their lorries' limit.

Ah, tailgating... something I experience on a daily basis even though I never road hog. Depends on the situation, but I always try to give way if possible; maybe some people are really in a hurry for whatever reason, while some drivers of fast cars may feel frustrated if they are prevented from reaching their car's full potential. Well since I am usually not in a hurry, my car isn't meant to go too fast and I like a leisurely drive I prefer to let them pass. But the roads I take all the time in my daily routine (in Hong Kong) pose a special problem. I travel on a lot of rural or mountain roads out in the New Territories, and these are often narrow, two way roads but with a single lane for each direction. Think South Buona Vista Road, but much, much longer, and often slopy as well. Speed limit is 50km/h, and with good reason. Furthermore, people, cyclists and animals often appear or rush out of nowhere. So I always drive below the limit so I can always be prepared to stop if needed, but most others don't, and because they often cannot overtake, they get impatient, tailgate and someties even flash their high beams instead. [thumbsdown] Thankfully there are lots of specially designated passing places, so often all I need to do is pull into the passing place and then come out again when the road is clear. I never mind doing so, after all it is much better to avoid any unpleasant incidents. But if the passing place isn't so near yet I will usually tap the brakes lightly, just enough to activate brake lights and warn them off a little. Thankfully most of them often tailgate out of habit and back off a little when they see the brake lights.

On HK highways, I never have trouble with tailgaters, mainly because if I'm not sure of the way, tired, or just feel like a relaxing leisurely drive, I keep to the left lane. If I am familiar with the route I enter the rightmost lane and quickly pick up to the speed limit, but always prepared to keep left again if I see any vehicle approaching very fast. Ironically, contrary to HK drivers' impatience on the rural mountain roads, and peoples' impression of HK drivers being reckless and bad, their attitude on the urban roads and highways is much more disciplined; in fact, when I drive at a sustained 100km/h (exactly at the speed limit) on one of my usual routes, on the right lane, I end up overtaking most other vehicles, and this without breaking the speed limit. And of course there are a number of idiots or road bullies on the roads, but the majority are OK. On my recent trip back home, the first time driving in Singapore after some time, I was a little unaccustomed to how daring drivers on expressways and urban roads alike were, switching in and out of lanes, travelling well above the speed limit, slow vehicles entering the rightmost lane and hogging while others overtake on the left; since I was on holiday and not rushing for time I ended up avoiding the expressways at times and taking a longer but more relaxing drive through the urban areas instead. Didn't have much trouble with tailgating in Singapore, though, because firstly I kept left most of the time, and also, I was driving a lorry [laugh]

depends on situation lah.

1) If Im on the middle of overaking another car, I will try to speed up abit and overtake the car 1st and then let him go.

2) If Im driving on the slow lane and kena tailgate for no reason, and still driving my 8 yrs old elantra, [sly][sly] just slam the brake lo... [laugh][laugh][laugh] #

3) If Im on the fast lane, and unconsiously cruising den kena tailgate... i will jio the fellow to stop and the roadside and appologise to him. [jawdrop][jawdrop][jawdrop]