Ironstarz 1st Gear September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 Call me swakoo or what after attending some chinese wedding as a brother, i would like to know more abt the tradition.And what are the stuff good to have and so on? So can plan for myself soon 1. Kid jumping on bed ??? 2. Pork leg offered to bride's family ?? Can anyone tell me what is the meaning for it, and if u have anymore pls add in. Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccjna Clutched September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 I thk for pork leg cans, nwadays, there r nt much ppls offering nw as most of the supermarket dun hv pork leg cans liao... Even cakes to the bride's family aso very little nowadays... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fondue Neutral Newbie September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 (edited) Don't know the meaning, but canned pork leg not a good idea cos most of them from China. I remember having to bring a whole suckling pig. Also depends on which dialect group you folowing. Edited September 28, 2008 by Fondue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 this really depends on which dialect u from u know. also, to go 1st gear, some even hv to consult 8character to know the 良辰吉时,and time to avoid. some more extreme one my request extra weapons to protect the bride. then u hv to mingle with the new tradition. find urself some nice nice brudder, preferably single with can tahan tekan with lipstick, don bra, etc on tat day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wish1719 1st Gear September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 throw a cxxk and a hen under the bed and see which one comes out first... the one that comes out first will be the gender of your first child....that's chinese saying, Bro, do what you and your mate feel is most comfortable.... you are living simi c tai liao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Corgan Neutral Newbie September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 the pork leg is to show that the bride is "pure". At least thats what I learned from my friend's wedding. The groom actually had one of the brother carry the raw pork leg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparks Neutral Newbie September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 Kid jumping on bed, and must be a boy boy so that their 1st newborn will be a boy too. Actually some of the tradition depends on your dialect group. Google online or check with your mother what are some of the traditional items needed. I think must clarify with both sides, later end up both side family don't agree on certain tradition will quarrel. But I don't really like when I am a brother have to do strenous activities or activities that will make us sweat early in the morning. Early morning wake up bathe perfume after that sweat in the formal long sleeve shirt for the rest of the half day feel so sticky and smelly one lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 I thk for pork leg cans, nwadays, there r nt much ppls offering nw as most of the supermarket dun hv pork leg cans liao... Even cakes to the bride's family aso very little nowadays... ya.. suppose to be whole pig.. then to pork leg can, then china kena banned.. so now, most have evolved to using ang bao as substitute.. as for cakes, most are using cake vouchers as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 I think for the 8 char, before engine start, must consult already.. at times, the char of both cannot match for the year, got to delay... that is, provided, the couple and their families want to go to the extreme.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 you can try going to traditional chinese wedding accessories shop. the shopowner will tell u the things to look out for according to your custom. think there's one at Jurong East area quite a lau zi hao. tat aside, you can get a fengshui master to know the chinese timing to follow from zuo da li to jing cha timing etc. hv fun! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ironstarz 1st Gear September 28, 2008 Author Share September 28, 2008 throw a cxxk and a hen under the bed and see which one comes out first...the one that comes out first will be the gender of your first child....that's chinese saying, Bro, do what you and your mate feel is most comfortable.... you are living simi c tai liao.... Wow thats something new , lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ironstarz 1st Gear September 28, 2008 Author Share September 28, 2008 (edited) I understand that, thats why when to choose brothers must really find those can stick thru think and thin, for mw i just had a patch of my leg hair waxed off yesterday Also i heard there are some cultery / stool to be placed in the bedroom or what is there such things ?? Edited September 28, 2008 by Ironstarz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 Call me swakoo or what after attending some chinese wedding as a brother, i would like to know more abt the tradition.And what are the stuff good to have and so on? So can plan for myself soon 1. Kid jumping on bed ??? 2. Pork leg offered to bride's family ?? Can anyone tell me what is the meaning for it, and if u have anymore pls add in. Thanks! the tradition is that you will kpkb, scold scold scold, quarel everyday about you not wanting to spend silly money and she saying that this is the one special day in her life, she will cry, threaten to call off the wedding, her mother will alternate between the damn sad look and outright threats, until in the end, your resistance will be completely broken, and you just pay and pay and hope the day come and be over with so that life can get back to normal. everyone goes through this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King_of_abalone Clutched September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 No lah you not swakoo, but you are modern cosmopolitan man. Only swakoo san ku liu por do this kind of stupid traditional thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 no lah.. some pple not suited to marry tat month or year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 some ppl are not suited to be married at all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic September 28, 2008 Share September 28, 2008 Call me swakoo or what after attending some chinese wedding as a brother, i would like to know more abt the tradition.And what are the stuff good to have and so on? So can plan for myself soon 1. Kid jumping on bed ??? 2. Pork leg offered to bride's family ?? Can anyone tell me what is the meaning for it, and if u have anymore pls add in. Thanks! Maybe I can help a little : 1. That kid thats going to jump on the couple bed must be a boy hor (better if 3 ~7 years old and from immediate family members like nephew is the best, unable to get one than use your best friends kids)....... this is hoping that the first born is a 'male' (hoping nia hor.... boh pow male unless got to choot pattern when making ) 2. Some prefers fresh pig hind leg, 12 oranges, 2 'ang pow' and 2 bottle of liquor. Depending on the dialect group, small roasted pig also can. It is to thanks your MIL for taking care her (your coming wife) all this years and you are to resume the responsibities of taking care of her daughter. 3. Tradition (4 types) Sweet cakes, a pair of Dragon & Pheonix Candles, a box of jewelleries (4 types, bangle, neck chain, ring and ear-ring) 6 oranges and 'ang pow' to be brought over 1 week before the wedding. This items must be brought over by a matchmaker (just get your a female relative will do)....... 4. some MIL like to have small cakes to distribute to relatives together with the wedding invitation card and nowadays, they just give Bangawang Solo vouchers for self collection (Walnut cake). But i prefer tradition butter cake with the red lettering of "Xuan Si" on it. There are still shops doing this kind of cakes in SG...... so much more ...... couldn't just write it all here. If you like PM me.... errr..... is it your wedding..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...