Jho0001 Neutral Newbie October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 Anybody experiencing the possibility of retrenchments within your company due to the financial meltdown? State your industry when replying....will be interesting to hear your replies. I'm in the telecoms industry but business as usual at the moment, suspect impact may it us in 2009. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yrvsport 2nd Gear October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 Life still have to go on but a bit tough when you need to start all over again coz I experience it before...after 14 years of service with garmen somemore..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
N00b 4th Gear October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 gahmen oso got retrenchment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 Argentina bankrupt b4... Iceland near bankruptcy... Wads impossible? I'm in Children Education adn welfare line. So far so good, yet to hit us... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 I think the sector to be relatively safe is only the healthcare sector. Good time bad time....pple will be ill. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 My friend who is in the semi-con industry (a subsidiary owned by intel & micron) is facing an upcoming retrenchment exercise that will see 40% of the engineers axed. The company will release the name list by end of the month. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 R u by any chance a regular before? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 to me, no retrenchment unless i self retrench. in property and estate field, is a mix feeling, bad in the sense that market getting more and more quiet, business hard to do, deal harder to close. good is that if the market really crash very very badly, we may see crash in property prices, those cash rich buyer will be entering the market (selectively), those badly burned may want to sell their property at a lower price to reduce burden, which is also good for people like me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 Ur industry would be one of the last to be hit becos most parents would rather scrimp and save on themselves in order to give the best to their children. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 i'm in the education industry..... will never have poor biz. its a very recession-proof sector. the best thing is that i'm in the govt education sector somemore..... we even raise our course fees by 20% for the next intake because we receive too many applications liao.... by raising fees, it will lessen our application processing work.... . make life easier for ourselves....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Actan72 5th Gear October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 My company which is in the electronic industry has been retrenching people since the last 2 quarter. I believe it is due to poor management and market conditions. The funny part is that although they retrenched someone this month, they employ back the same position back next few months even though sales are still very bad!!! I think my company management are all . Beside this, they are also hiring quite a number of senior manager!! I just cannot figure out their strategy at all, retrenching low management and hiring more of senior management, who will be doing all the work ??? What a stupid management!!!Why retrench and pay packages then hire back next few months ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
N00b 4th Gear October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 so fast? still thinking of changing job nex yr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
N00b 4th Gear October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 think in tis way the snr mgt will need to do more wrk...sumthing like hire 1 for 2 pple jobs..cut cost Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeee Neutral Newbie October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 is your company an angmoh company & is located at AMK Industrial Park 3? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 Recession-proof yes. But clients are getting more demanding, students getting bold AND stupid and teachers are asking for higher wages even in times like this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 (edited) what so surprised to you? it just show they are seriously lacking in direction (that may explain they looking for senior management ) btw, dingdonging is common in alot of place, be it public or private..... Edited October 9, 2008 by Ahwhye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 I had recieved my ang pow on the first week of 2008. The company was going to switch to a new product...hence cant "support" so many staffs during the first few years. I believed every quarter there are retrenchment going on in the various electronics company..due to relocation or other reasons. My relative who works in the banking industry also said everynow and then, there will be pple who would be retrenched..esp those IT staffs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 9, 2008 Share October 9, 2008 My take is they are trying desperately to have someone or a group of folks who are able to turn tide around with the minimal overheads. This pax most likely would be one with like several years experience in same industry and has proven management skillset. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...