LTA to study why COE plummets

Ahyoo2002

lets face it lah....dun u think the whole $2 is a setup...looks like all car dealers and authorities gang up to bring down COE, then to create the demand and COE will rise again...this is a "foreplay" before it reach the climax....

if someone can tap or sniff the telecomms btw the car dealers and authorities, i am sure can find something out of there..."CONSPIRACY THEORY"

now used car sellers wayang, LTA wayang, apparently everyone knows and agrees what to do the next day after COE announced.

Yeap, is suspect no business in the showrooms, so let COE drop

should have flood of customers going to showrooms look see look see le.

I think they didn't forgo 18.5 million i think, maybe it is something like this:

Firstly bank need fund injection from the garment so the bank call them up and say can you help me i got 200 million of bad debts all together.

Then think tank..... think for awhile ok we forgo 18.5 million for one bidding and you stop giving out loans since now you are lack of cash. when COE crash i slash it to 1000 pieces only per bidding only. We push it up till $40000 per piece from there per bidding we take 40million from market.

3 months later i inject 200 million into you and remember to pay back with interest so you think this is a good deal.

The maths 200 million with 5% interest = 10 million i don't loss out in long term right. [rifle][rifle][rifle]

Eh, how to raise COE to 40k if no one buying car now ??

you mean to put as minimum 40k? dun think that is feasible.

it would be good that COE can stay at this kinda prices.

but that would also mean roads too saturated already/ERP price is chop carrot liaoz [idea]

I also think this $2 COE is a Year End Bonus from the Gov to the Citizens!

In all the gloom and doom....must give the citizens something to divert our attention right?

Every weekends go Hong Lim also sian. At least this weekends there is the CarShowrooms alternative to visit mah!

Wah Good deals in Cars lah....quick quick go and buy.....forget about all the world economy and recession....enjoy the $2 COE.

Suddenly newspaper and radio all talk about $2 COE, no more talks on minibonds or recession!

actually every round COE can be $2 or less, as long as ADs control the bidding, don't plunge to much once, and buyers are patient enough to wait many times COE biddibg [;)]

actually every round COE can be $2 or less, as long as ADs control the bidding, don't plunge to much once, and buyers are patient enough to wait many times COE biddibg

well, this is not possible. if demand exceeds supply, everyone who wans to buy a car have to wait how long?

then again, the COE system is flawed because the demand is always there. the supply is controlled! so the supply and demand law does not hold here, or rather, it is controlled.

if its controlled, what's is there to bid for? just pay lor.

can apply to owners who are patient and have existing car/bike.

by getting low COE, you end up saving COE + interest rates on COE

wait 6 mths to save 10 - 20K

Sure worth it [:p]

but LTA will surely rethink their 'Strategy' even though they supposedly using COE to control car pop.

Compare to 1997 crisis, I think more than 10 times. Asian and Global which is bigger.. and it is just the beginning for us...

just hear over the news in US if you buy one car buy another one free.

Come to think about it, I suppose this round of financial crisis is quite bad.sweatdrop.gif

Nobody dare to buy car at this moment.

Everybody 'wait and see now'...

i tink its quite difficult. we will nv know when the CAT A COE will be low. hard to predict. just when i thought i will be getting a $12k CAT A COE, i got it at $2!

don't let me be right. they will say that since there's so little demand (only 1 above quota) they will take this opportunity to reduce the quota so as to improve the traffic condition. what this means is that invisibly the price will go up since the same pool of potential buyers are fighting for a smaller supply of coe.

theoretically, your speculation is right. whether or not it will happen is another matter.

the next round of coe will be around $6k - $8k max. coz no one will bid more than $8k what. if not all the dealer will lose money. they include $6k coe in car price but bid for you at $8k? unlikely.

perhaps the $2 COE was a conspirary hatched by the major ADs seeing that car sales have been so weak recently. :)

so they had a meeting, and all cross little pinkies, and say ok - won't bid for coming bidding. and thus, the $2 coe, and thus all the traffic in the showrooms now.

but a weak theory my argument is. it takes only 1 joker to show hand, and book all the COE(s) at $3? hahaha. [laugh]

Nov 20, 2008

Mr Gavin Yeo, commercial director of Toyota agent Borneo Motors, one of the largest COE bidders here, said: 'When premiums are at $1 at 3.30pm, definitely the demand is weak.'

Mr Yeo said Borneo made more bids than usual, and would have submitted more if it had the time.

I don't understand this part. Cat A is non transferable and bidding requires buyer's IC registration. How can Borneo choose to submit more at this price level when one would expect all the buyers should be successfully getting their COE ?