Bus lane!!!

Headshok

Hi all,

just need to ask,

i stay ard upper bukit timah area, coming from railway mall, had to make a U turn just after the old fire station to head back towards hume ave., that U turn is kind of sharp, so when i turned, normally i will end up in the first lane( which also happens to be the bus lane)

this time i U turn, attempted to filter right to get out of the bus lane, then just nice see one assh0le with the camera in front, but his head was down writing something. i was like wtf!

then indicate right and tried to get out of the lane, just nice some guy from behind was speeding up and gave me a horn( gave him a sorry wave), but i got out of the lane JUST after passing the guy with the camera.

question is, under this kind of situation, will kena or not? i ended up in the buslane becos of the U turn ( on reflection, if i were to U turn into the 2nd lane, it would be a super sharp U turn which would be quite difficult, my car normal car and i not so skill one)

this case is not i purposely cheong the dam lane, but bo bian U turn end up in the first lane one.

dam thing spoil my evening sia..:(

Wah, i think they will give saman based on case to case. If you purposely use the bus lane as a road shoulder, that one sure kena. But your case, if genuine enough, can tell them say u trying very hard to filter out.

thanks man

cos my 5 yrs driving, i * touch wood*,

never kena speeding or wat fine. only kena 1 fine for parking wrong lot ( stupid bedok 85, white lot after 7pm is season parking#@$@%$#%)

cos knn, ask me U turn zun zun into 2nd lane, that one quite sharp leh..

dam sian lor..

somemore the road was empty except for the speeding car behind me..

so its like not i purposely want to use the buslane to cut traffic lor..

sians man.

who stay ard my area one, the bus lane idea dam dumb, somemore got the dam ERP$#@%$#%

Received the LTA letter today - $130 for driving on bus lane along upp serangoon

road btw wan tho ave & jln toa payoh flyover. WTF !!! just touches the big f...k

bus lane for a mere short distance becos need to keep left to turn left ........

Next time I will drive after the bus lane and if there is bus on my left I will

just turn .... stupid big f..k bus hit me never mind my car coming 3 yrs and not new,

welcome to bang on me and pay for it [mad]

Can appeal and get it waive or not if first time this type of offence ?

i see yr case like my dad's veh oso..... goin to left turn few meters into the bus lane where the cameraman standing, he went for a appeal and get voided off u can try if u give a veri good reason the authority maybe will void yr 'san mun'

they think $130 small amount ,wtf... my hard earn money [smallcry]

Will try go down sin ming drive there to talk to them ... worst is

only given 7 days, ie by 28 nov 2008 must pay the fine. Don't know

whether can find time to go down or not [:/]

Edited by Cybertech

when u kenna ah? how fast the send u the letter?

got points deduct?

all the best for ur appeal.

this bus lane is dam irritating sia.. $%@#%$#@%$#@%$#@%

Show date of offence on 30 oct 2008, so take them 3 weeks to mail the letter.

No point deducted, but what I know last time bus lane offence was Fine + 4

demerit points.

to Cybertech: it been announced in the news that bus lane offence do not come with any DP. LTA wanna earn more in case those who got DP end up can't drive anymore...

to Headshok: What you means u turn is sharp? What u turn is called sharp? sg road design is made in such a way that if you(vehicle less than 2 ton unladen weight) are able to U turn, you shd have end up on the 2nd lane, be it a 3 lanes road or 2 lanes road. and in sg context, lanes are labelled with 1st lane being the innermost(from the centre median), most expressways are labelled in this way.

So I think if you end up in the "1st"(which is 3rd), means you made a wide U turn, or you just wanna "siam" the on coming vehicle on the 2nd lane b4 you did the U turn, so you made the rush movement of u turn, and thought can siam him, but cant siam the bus lane and the camera man. God bles you... [:p]

Received the LTA letter today - $130 for driving on bus lane along upp serangoon

road btw wan tho ave & jln toa payoh flyover. WTF !!! just touches the big f...k

bus lane for a mere short distance becos need to keep left to turn left ........

Next time I will drive after the bus lane and if there is bus on my left I will

just turn .... stupid big f..k bus hit me never mind my car coming 3 yrs and not new,

welcome to bang on me and pay for it [mad]

Can appeal and get it waive or not if first time this type of offence ?

so suay ah.. i kena bus lanes 3 times liao.. managed to waived off 2 of them..

I think their stand is very clear. Once you drive into bus lane, its an offense no matter what. The Pictureman will not on the spot rationalize for you your reason for coming into bus lane. It is your job to appeal. His job is to take picture of cars diving into bus lane, and he is not the investigation officer. So it wont be objective and fair and consistent if he is to disregard the case based on various scenarios in his discretion.

Think about it, if out of 10 cases, 4 are appealable cases and have very valid reasons. But 2 of them cant be bothered or thought its a lose case. They make $260 just like that, and also saved the labour and time to write you a stinking letter.

I think that this bus lane policy is really getting out of hand now...just look at how they paint the lane...sometimes dont make sense at all...dotted and then solid for that few meteres and dotted again...then they always provide so short allowances for ppl to turn left...almost like no need to filter left first...just turn from middle lane.... [thumbsdown]

The smallest roads with B/lane is at least there still 2 lanes left beside the B/lan. And normal size car can turn within 2 lanes width. To avoid overshot is to do a slight curve out to the left B4 U turn and U could clear with 2 lanes....

hey guys, just some info ....

1. regardless of whether to appeal or not, still have to fax in driver's particulars within 7 days.

2. Appeal need not go down LTA, just use their feedback form on onemotoring website.

3. Upon receiving the appeal, you will be given a deadline extension to pay the fine, pending appeal, normally ard 3 weeks.

4. Appeal result will be out within 9 days.

Lastly, my appeal last week was successful wink.gif. But letter must write properly hor. The usual - explain, sound apologetic, admit that wrong to use bus lane, wun do it again blah blah blah ....

For my case, they recently drew the bus lane just outside the turn in and I've been staying there for 10 yrs. But now lan lan have to get used to it .... very careful now. unsure.gif

noticed that the bus lane camera-men are very ON nowadays .... thumbsdown.gif

Edited by Othello