Which Head-unit to buy ?

Dainese1

hi bro bobcatsysop...

am i able to join you all for the meetups also? [:p] my ICE setup is super duper basic... [:p] front component speaker upgrade nia... but works for me.. [laugh]

Edited by Josephteo

Sorry Moderator and Thread starter, Off topic.

All newbies and all bros having stock basic setup are all welcomed to join the weekly ICE meetup. Check out the ICE thread announcement for details.

For the rest of the bros, please post your message in the ICE meetup thread please. Thank you for your cooperation.

[thumbsup] your setup looks cool bro... [;)]

yea...3 way would be better than 2 way , definitely lah... so what 3 way speakers are you planning to get then? [;)]

yea...do it slowly and with budget lah... then you can enjoy it as you do it up... [thumbsup]

would love to hear your ride one day also... [laugh]

it's true that generally a 3 way is better then 2 way if both set up is done by the same installer with no budget tie into it.

however a budget 3 way and/or poor installer/tuner will actually result in a 2 way with good installer/tuner and better products to be more superior base on my experience with my customers cars.

3 way speaker wise i might be going for hertz MLK3.

not confirm definitely coz it depends what good product will be launching and feedbacks on them ;)

if 3 way, have to change HU again and upgrade amps again...

expensive man [shakehead]

Anyway any hardcore I.C.E fan whose set up comprise high end product like F1/ODR with Audison Thesis HV Venti or Sinfoni Desidero.

Really hope to listen coz never really had much experience listening to such poisons. lol

Hi Bro,

I am not that knowledgeable in ICE as you thought coz I only started dabbling in ICE only from Apr 2006 and I am still learning every day. During our weekly ICE meetups, we have lots of other regular ICE kakis that can help contribute answers to questions from newbies.

Am sure other ICE kakis will be able to help you on DVDs coz I'm not into DVDs at all. I'm more into SQ and my 1-din DVD is only installed because of my kids. I channeled the DVD front speaker out to AUX-IN to my Pioneer P80 if I need to play DVD or USB thumb drive so this DVD player is only my secondary player. This DVD that I had is a China made DVD imported direct from Shenzhen China few months ago and cost me

Click here to see how it looks when not in use. http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f326/ykc...OutandAux-I.jpg

and this is when the 1-din is in use: http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f326/ykc...tStereoOuta.jpg

I do not have any recommendation of what is value for money. So sorry as I have no opinion or comments for the DVD player you indicated. Perhaps other bros have some opinions? Do you think you will join us for our weekly ICE meetups this coming Wed and/or Friday? I shall be posting the announcement for the meetup tomorrow.

try millionbuy.com

now US moola is low. but hor.. mut check if vpost willing to collect fr them for u.

need some advice on a basic HU that is able to play mp3 cds and connect up an iPhone. Currently have the kenwood dpx-mp4070 on my latio sport which is a 2din HU i think. The only way that i can natively connect the iphone is thru one of their adaptors but it would prevent u from controlling the iphone from the phone itself (@ least that problem exists for ipods when u can't control using the wheel, need to test to find out)

can i retain my current speakers n cables then just trade in the old HU (if there's any value for it), n put in the new HU? budget about about 300-400

took the plunge for pioneer 6050, the 2din version with cd receiver (non-dvd). Export set cost 280 at SLT level 2.. i think..amtech or something..gonna instal tmrw... went for this version as it can do 3 line display

Thanks bro. But baskside forever itchy. If have enuff of the current setup might just eventually upgrade the rear.

haha.. bro.. it is normal to be back-side forever itchy lah.... ICE is like that one... keep going up and up and up...

hahaha... if your budget permits... then why not upgrade..hehee... [thumbsup]

lol bro i agree.

Very posionous and costly, but definitely depends on how much one love music.

my current ride is still doing up at audio shop.

Current set up is 2 way, might move to 3 way after enjoy current 2 way set up.

Head unit

Eclispe 7200 (new model) sold off my 9887 coz eclispe

has no internal power or amp section.

And it has a copper-plated chassis that isolates the unit from electrical interference or noise.

Speaker

Hertz Mille MLK 165

Sub

Hertz Mille ML3800

Amps 1 x 4 channel and 1 monobloc

Audison VRX 4.3 Chrome(comes with balancing)

Audison VRX 1.5 Chrome (comes with blancing)

Accessories

Audison cables, capacitor etc.

tru tech line driver ssld6

fiber glass customised box with lightning.

Hope there's more I.C.E meet up sometime end of this month/next month to share our ideas and product knowledge ;)

may I ask what does it mean when they say no amp or internal power?? What does it do to the set up?? What if I do not have any amp? can i still use it?

hi there, could i ask you where is the USB port of the FH-P6050UB located? from pics doesn't seem to be anyway on the front... the aux also missing... considering this as well... any feedback would be great... thanks a million!

An amplifier boosts your signal power, resulting in a cleaner sound and more volume.

Thus if you do not install an amp, it's as good as a car with no petrol.

My advise if you are on a budget, get a good HU with pre amp output, i.e. budget HU like alpine 9887 or P80. If can stretch abit, do consider eclipse 7200.

Get a Good speakers, since speakers determine how your whole system will sound.

Some might say slowly upgrade, others might tell you it doesnt matter but trust me, it is the major factor for a good sound system.

Do not, and i repeat do not get budget speakers coz you will be spending more money in the long run since your set up will never be anywhere good with a pair of budget speaker.

There is NO equalizer, amplifier, or processor that can compensate for poor speakers. Always remember this.

You can consider Hertz Hi engery series, DLS reference series or if budget permits, go for Danish accoustic, DLS ultimate series, Hertz millie series, sea lotus etc.

Definitely there's many different other brands of speakers but always remember to check around and ask around before committing.

Dun just jump the wagon because the price is cheap, coz i never believe that good things come cheap.If there is, F1 wont cost you 6k and monitors wont cost in 5 digits already.

Above is just my Humble opinion.

Any bros have any suggestion or wanna discuss on what i post, feel free to share.

Thanks

Btw double din with USB port behind then how to plug in the thumb drive? The extension cable pull until where? I know if single din can put in the drawer below the player but double din haven't seen before where they pull the cable to

Usually installers will connect a cable from the port behind and pull the cable to the front, eg, glove compartment or gear console pocket area. You can plug in your ipod and put it in the console pocket.

Hi bros,

Currently driving a kia Picanto, after much delibration, decided to upgrade my stock pathetic sound system.

The HU given was a kenwood KDC-MP5036U http://sg.kenwood.com/Car_Entertainment/1D...ers/KDC-MP5036U

Was given different advice by different audio shops, some saying that it's good enough with a aftermarket amplifier, some saying to change this HU as it's pure lousy with component then think about which amp to fit with.

So i've got 2 choices now.

1) Upgrade HU + Component speakers first

2) Keep stock HU, add amp + Component speakers

Which one will be a better option leh?

And based on the specifications, if I change to aftermarket HU, i'm looking at something like the new Pioneer DEH 4050UB or DEH-5050UB, will it make a lot of difference? Or only something like Alpine 9885 will then give the difference?

Not a serious audiophile (at least for now), haha just seeking some advice which route to take would be better :)