Silver323 Neutral Newbie December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 (edited) Hi, quote the FAQ of MCF http://www.gia.org.sg/pdfs/Industry/Motor/MCF_FAQs.pdf ("Question 8: I am a new driver and I heard most of my friends and colleagues said that once you report a minor accident to my insured policy company, my premium on next renewal would be heavily increased. If so, I would think that most motorists will not report minor accident based on MCF method, they would prefer to settle privately. Please advise. Answer: GIA reminds all motorists it is now their duty to report all accidents, no matter how small and regardless of whether or not there has been damage to their vehicle. The consequent impact on NCD and premiums are not affected by the MCF and will be determined by the outcome of the insurer Edited December 15, 2008 by Silver323 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 they said "The consequent impact on NCD and premiums are not affected by the MCF and will be determined by the outcome of the insurer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yamrxz Neutral Newbie December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 In a minor accident where no one is injured exchanging the drivers particulars not really a must. I involved in minor accidents where there are times where I in the wrong or otherwise. I did not give my particulars(ic no or contact no) and just record the the registration plate,car/mbike make and model and vehicle colour things that are obvious also take photos for picture evidence. All the claims for me or against me went smoothly. One thing if you in the wrong and you refuse to give particulars the other party will sure fumed. This happen to me where the other party call 999 to inform I refuse to give particulars as predicted the police say not their concern if no one is injured. If private settlement better to get particulars if not how meet for black and white agreement signing. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver323 Neutral Newbie December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 The insur co said as long as there is a chance of 3rd party claim within a year, the ncd will reduced. They told me it is industrial standard ?? Another quote fr faq Question 7: I understand that every accident must now be reported. Would it be possible for some kind of memorandum of agreement to be signed by both parties in very minor accidents where two parties agree to settle on their own? Answer: A memorandum of agreement would be a private matter between the two parties, but it would not alter the requirement under the MCF that both parties now have to make a report to their insurers. A memorandum of agreement should not supercede or be regarded as a substitute for this process. A memorandum of agreement would be a private matter between the two parties, but it would not alter the requirement under the MCF that both parties now have to make a report to their insurers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Billcoke 2nd Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 (edited) the thing is police start to question my doubt..how u noe he's under alcohol etc?in the end they just feel tat they no need to come dwn and assist mi tats all.. If I were you, I would throw the question back to the police. Since, the offender refused to provide NRIC, do you (the police) think the offender is driving a stolen car, or driving w/o a valid license. If the police chooses to ignore, then, ask for the officer-in-charge that if this same offender knocks down a pedestrian, would he/she hold responsible for the case? Because, for all you know, this could be a genuine case that the driver has black record, and could be on the run from the police. Edited December 15, 2008 by Billcoke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titan18 Neutral Newbie December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 First of all. In case of minor accident whereby no one is seriously injured or conveyed by ambulance, there is no need to make a police report. If the driver purpose is to cover their ass, the most important things is to inform your insurance company within 24hrs. Give your side of story and make a accident report with your insurance company and in case the other party version differs from yours, there will be a investigator from the insurance company to investigate the case. If the other party refuses to produce NRIC, you don't have to force him to produce. Simply take down the car reg no and that is enough. No matter who the driver is, be it the owner or not. You are claiming against the insurance of the other party. So, there is no point calling the police to get the NRIC from the other party. Because even if the police comes, they will get the particulars from the other party but they will not reveal the particulars to you, unless the other party is willing to exchange particulars. Hope this is useful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 nah, this point only say it should not substitute for process to inform the insurer. it did not give the insurer the right to take this as a possible 3rd party claim. if you have proof of settlement, why shldn't it be proof that the possible 3rd party claim has been extinguished? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver323 Neutral Newbie December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Sadly to say that i've no proof, the incident is too minor to claim fr both, just side wind mirror "knock" each other and left 2 black line. use wax diy can be removed. So settle on the spot not to claim. Insur co do not take vebal agreement, need black and white if not got to wait 1 yr incase 3rd party change his mind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 (edited) Hmm... then would I be correct to say that he also does not have your particulars? (Name, IC number ... ) If so, then he couldn't claim against you as much as you can't claim against him Edited December 15, 2008 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 siao....one year is just a standard they set...i believe there's no law that says the bugger can't come back to you to claim after 1.5 years. so if that's the case, it is neither here nor there to set it at 1 year - might as well take it as no claim until the claim crystallize. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Michel Neutral Newbie December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Hi all, need some advice. I got into an accident just now but the other party refuse to provide his NRIC but provided his handphone number. We agreed verbally to settle ourselves, he will fix his own car and i will fix mine, without involving insurance as premium will be higher. Should I go and make a police report and detail down our conversation and forward the report to the insurance so that in future, the other party will not be able to make a claim from me? If i do that, will the insurance be higher next year? 2 years ago, i was in a similar situation.. My car was hit from the rear by a Kangoo on a rainy early evening. He said he will bear my repair cost. Both have gentlemen's agreement to resolve by ourselves as damage was very minor. Insurance was not involved. Can remember if we exchanged IC to see and joted details but we just took down each other's contact number, name and vehicle number. Send my vehicle to workshop, repaired and told him the amount (< $200.00). Few days later, recieved amount via fund transfer. Issue closed. The worst scenario i could think of was to bear the cost myself if he blindsided me. Luckily, it didn't happened. Guess i'll just too trusting by nature. My take for your case..... Since the guy's a 50+ non-english & tech un-savy person, he could be a genuine case. Since there is an agreement, maybe, you might want to take it one step at a step even though it may not sound like the proper thing to do. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yamrxz Neutral Newbie December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Too many if and one too many assumption lah bro :). The nature of case from minor traffic accident to become car theft, hit and run case then wanted person. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver323 Neutral Newbie December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 So now if i continue or change to other insur co, my ncd is only 20%, only after one yr then check with the current co if no 3rd party claim then the co that i insur will refund back the diff premium. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 just another crappy administration of the rule. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver323 Neutral Newbie December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Ya, like give way to bus ? ooops off topic, Sorry! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enduro25 Clutched December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 yup..u r extremely right..tat is the way.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 erm, if i'm not wrong, Third party claim valid for a few years, not just 1. anyway i think your insurer being on the safe side. mine doesn't penalize me when i got hit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver323 Neutral Newbie December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 that's good for u, 1 yr already too long to wait, look at the quote alredy sian half. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...