Wreath Neutral Newbie December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 1st offence is round $200 for the most minor. after tat is court case. well assuming tat u seriously wanna noe, moh wun catch u. it was reported tat it is against e environment law 2 leave ur engine on. 1 bugger got fined. i thot i read it here somewhere or it might b in e ST forum page. silly but true. i mean, nea even dun allow pple 2 zzz in park liao... lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 yea :) i heard about it too sighz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 Like that OPC car that are park in private estate public road side during restricted hours considered breaking the rules? I think OPC really have some loop holes.. To avoid cheater, why dun LTA just ask the coupon to be pasted at the back of the wind screen? ZzZzZzZ.... Well... if a kid with no driving license drove his dad's car around their own estate, blatantly posted his driving adventure on yourtube and the authorities don't take action because some lawyer argued that technically the kid was not breaking any law as he was not on a "road"... Then neither is an OPC on a "road" when it's driven on a private estate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 im a normal plate car owner and i really hate OPC drivers using their car w/o coupon. but OPC car washing car at washing bay also wanna check? dats too much lah, even kena summon, confirm can waive off easily... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 (edited) stationary in the lot is no issue wat... but stationary in a carwash lot in the MSCP would raise questions on how the car got there in the first place? assuming it's during restricted hours. so even if the owner says the car was there since last night, he'll still be fined for hogging washing bay lot by HDB, either way, he's culpable. How the car got there: "I pushed it down"... Now that uncle just need to wash the car Reeeeaaaalll slow until 7pm ... As long as the officer did not catch the guy driving the OPC during restricted hours, I don't think the officer can make a case. And while pushing the OPC to the washing bay is a stupid answer, it's in response to a clown trying to make life difficult for another fellow human being ... I mean .. come on!... he's WASHING the OPC, not like he's really driving the OPC on the road during restricted hours! If they can accomodate car crowds, double parked along driveways during void deck weddings and "temporary" parking along double yellow lines during Friday prayers... washing OPC can be considered a serious offence meh? Edited December 16, 2008 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 (edited) How the car got there: "I pushed it down"... Now that uncle just need to wash the car Reeeeaaaalll slow until 7pm ... As long as the officer did not catch the guy driving the OPC during restricted hours, I don't think the officer can make a case. And while pushing the OPC to the washing bay is a stupid answer, it's in response to a clown trying to make life difficult for another fellow human being ... I mean .. come on!... he's WASHING the OPC, not like he's really driving the OPC on the road during restricted hours! If they can accomodate car crowds during void deck weddings and Friday prayers... washing OPC can be considered a serious offence meh? On second thought, I think it is more likely that he drove to the washing bay and was warned. You can't possibly be parking your car in a washing bay lot right? Either way, they can fine you too. Regards, Edited December 16, 2008 by Kelpie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 (edited) On second thought, I think it is more likely that he was warned for washing car in MSCP. You can't wash car in MSCP except washing bay. Err... TS specifically stated that the OPC was at the washing bay without a coupon leh. Oh and yes, I had editted my post after you quoted ... Edited December 16, 2008 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyg Clutched December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 stationary in the lot is no issue wat... but stationary in a carwash lot in the MSCP would raise questions on how the car got there in the first place? assuming it's during restricted hours. so even if the owner says the car was there since last night, he'll still be fined for hogging washing bay lot by HDB, either way, he's culpable. Well...I rather be fined by HDB than TP/LTA... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 lol at least this thread isnt about bashing OPC like e other 1... heart-wrenching... some pple get opc cuz of e nature of e job, not like we wanna take e $17k coe rebate n $800 tax rebate n insurance rebate n cry unfair system. i think they shd juz implement some RFID thingy 2 track opc la... e coupon seriously is (1) ugly (2) too big, obstruct my view (sorry i mayb not gd driver) (3) difficult 2 buy the $20 coupon. when i go post office n ask for Supplementary Licence, e counter staff juz go "Hah?" i'm gonna customise a decal 2 b pasted on my windows tat bears e image of e Supp Lic juz 4 fun. Is it against the law? juz checking... thanks! ============================================================== R u sure got insurance rebate for OPC? Agree too big the sup license, definately obstruct view, safety issue here. Making extra decal? Post it when u done OK? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jemjem 1st Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 Can anyone confirm if now OPC cant even wash car at washing bay?! Gosh... If this is true, I think tis is really way over... Thought only no driving on the rd? jem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 (edited) LTA's site states as cannot "use" OPC during off peak hours. The problem comes from how some people want to define as "use" Some scenerios to ponder: 1. OPC car on tow (car breakdown/accident) 2. OPC at service center (driven by service mechanics around center compound) 3. OPC with engine on but stationary in parked position (listen to radio, waiting ... whatever) 4. OPC in neutral gear, manually pushed 5. Moving of OPC within carpark (private/public) eg:shifting to a different lot Edited December 16, 2008 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 The point is OPC cannot even start engine during the restricted hours. That's the rule. If you are found at washing bay, it means that you have driven there, you couldn't have parked there overnight right? I ever encounter one woman OPC owner who drives in the car park after 7am to reach a certain point which is nearer the MRT, then she'll walk to the station. This went on for a couple of weeks until one day she got caught [sweatdrop]Someone must have reported her to TP and they did a stakeout at the carpark. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 Can anyone confirm if now OPC cant even wash car at washing bay?! Gosh... If this is true, I think tis is really way over... Thought only no driving on the rd? You know people can get really creative, who will know whether a guy would have drove to GF flat's MCSP during restricted hours and start washing his car at the washing bay? Spend one hour washing and just nice to drive out with GF once free hours are opened? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 Arlo Jemjem, who say OPC cannot wash car at washing bay and cannot drive on road? It's the $$ being the culprit. Pay $$ no problem liao only question is need to pay or no need to pay? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 (edited) The point is OPC cannot even start engine during the restricted hours Actually, that's not true. Like I posted earlier, LTA's site info basically states that a coupon is required when you need to "use" the OPC. Here's the page: http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/index_motoring_vo.htm -> Vehicle Policies and Schemes -> Off-peak Car Scheme Edited December 16, 2008 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 It just said:"An OPC can be freely driven on Sundays, public holidays and during the following non-restricted hours: ...." also:"If you need to use your OPC during the restricted hours, you will need to display a $20 day licence." So the answer is straight forward, if you need to drive during restricted hours for whatever reasons, just pay lor . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 You know people can get really creative, who will know whether a guy would have drove to GF flat's MCSP during restricted hours and start washing his car at the washing bay? Spend one hour washing and just nice to drive out with GF once free hours are opened? If he was caught DRIVING the OPC on the way over, then of course it's an offence. But if he was caught WASHING the OPC, inferring that he had DRIVEN the OPC earlier is not based on facts but inference/assumption... not a valid argument in my opinion ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...