Expatriote engineer in Shanghai

En0203

Hi all,

Did any of you work as an expatriate lead engineer in China before? What would be the asking price if you were given a job as lead process engineer in oil and gas or petrolchemical industry, in Shanghai? Position is permanent for about two years considering u have only about 6 years plus of working experience.

Thanks.

Its a very happening place!!

Been there a decay ago, niceplace and beautiful gers.

Should also get transport reimburst!!

Lots of pples and activities throughout the nite. many many pples moving ard early early morning and wee hours.Don't be surprise that the living cost is higher than here.

not many yrs la!!

just travel there for wk occassionally.

got a very happening experience there, hehe.

Really, if you are single and once you been there, you might not want to come back home.

No doubt the lady there very chio and smooth fair complexion,Some are shrew.

Hi all,

Did any of you work as an expatriate lead engineer in China before? What would be the asking price if you were given a job as lead process engineer in oil and gas or petrolchemical industry, in Shanghai? Position is permanent for about two years considering u have only about 6 years plus of working experience.

Thanks.

wat do u need to know? I've been here 3 yrs already...

Expats in china usually negotiate a total package dat consist of :

- basic salary (either paid here or SG or split) my suggestion? split! B'cos RMB is appreciating every mth. i'm paid 100% in RMB and u know wat, my salary has increased by 10% over 3 mths due to currency appreciation.

- housing is the most basic benefit ur company must provide. Apmt rental is not cheap here, mine is S$1000/mth, very centrally located, equivalent to Tanglin of SG. Ur company cant expect us to live like the locals!

- Hardship allowance. For ur case, can neg for at least RMB10k/mth. This is on top of ur basic salary hor..

- Car. No offence, but ur position may not be able to ask for car cum driver.

Good luck!

Expatriate terms? if yes, very good deal. Coz many sg engineer going to china do not get expariate terms. Bring family along and lodging, childcare, gardener all will be taken care off. As expatraite you may be entitle to a car or even a driver. One of my company manager got this expatriate term and he has his own personal driver machiam like body guard. Directors higher level than him who didn't get expatraite only can look at him with envy.

ya, i've so many SG frens here, who after staying here for a few yrs, nobody ever wants to go back to SG...

I guess its not just abt gals lar, or being single or married, its the lifestyle. Life is more vibrant here, many places to go during wkends, shopping is fantastic etc..

yes, i'm paid in RMB, how i get it out cannot be discussed here... [laugh]

All apartments here (for expats) will be fully furnished and we can request for other things dat we want, e.g LCD TV, kingsize bed etc.. up to individual preference.

Hi all,

Thanks.

wah..u going overseas again?? selling off ur zoom zoom?? [:p]

[thumbsup] 8-deg?? dats [thumbsup] b'cos this morning was 2-deg here..

dont hv winter allowance leh.. [shakehead] only summer allowance during mths of Jul-Sep.. [laugh]

where r u based?

Yap, morning was being late else around 5C. Still higher than ur side. Last time in SH it was -3C, wah lao, si bei leng ah! The wind blow, I almost died [dead].

Cannot review where leh, company policy, u see temperature can guess not in north area.

Edited by Twofouronenite