Third Party Toyota Workshop

Happily1986

whenever i say RV expensive, there will also be ppl questioning me. i have been there too. i know what i am talking about.

Well, I guess expensive is relative. I have been to RV and I find them reasonable. They are definitely not the cheapest if one expects $10/$15 labor charge for engine oil and oil filter change.

there is an additional surcharge if you dun buy oil from dear uncle vincent.

This is true. From his perspective, he runs 2 workshops with 10+ workers and consistently invests in the latest equipment. If he is unable to earn from supplies because owner brings their own parts, it is reasonable for him to impose the surcharge to recover the loss partially.

I have seen forumers patrolnized his workshop bringing all supplies along and expect to pay peanuts for labor charge. How do you expect him to keep the business going?

I believe in win-win situation. Pay reasonbly and let the workshop earns a bit. It cannot be a win-loss situation always to car owners' advantage. The fact that we are paying tens of thousands for our precious ride, why take it so hard about that $10 savings? If you are not comfortable with them, just move on to one that you are comfortable with. There is no need to keep criticising them. Cheers.

why not try autobacs? labour for oil change -$5. labour for oil filter change -$3. bring own items, charges x2. imho, still reasonable rite?

Try bringing in a bottle of liquor to any drink holes or resturant and see how much they will bill you for "handling" charges. All workshops generate thier income from selling parts and labour - in Singapore their biggest set back is just not able to charge for diagnostic time and use of Testers. Just selling labour time hardly can for the rental let alone keep the workshop going and buying up todate tools.

Edited by Yeobh

Not if you know them well enuff. Btw, in this topic you started:

http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...2635881&hl=

You even thot of going to Riverview bcoz you dun know of any other competent workshop eh?

Yet in any other thread when people mentioned abt riverview, you sure condemn riverview. Make up yr mind lah dey.

Want cheap, want good.....geez. People oso need to do business leh. If you dun like them, then move on and find one you are comfortable with.

Edited by Fcw75

Well ...

It depends on wat drivers want...!

Need a aircon place for internet surfing or quality job.??? [confused]

Me had some un pleasant experience from a well recommended ws....!

Ends up, can't convince me at all... end up pay up the so called consultation fee and never turns my head back.

Went on with a so called specialist.... being convinced totally under the hot sun...car's trouble got fixed with used item and warranty for 6 months.

since then, stay with them...!

Labour is not cheap nowdays... quality and knowledgable tech as well.. hard to find...!

Can't really have both world at the same time...!

Hanip Automobile

Blk 1062 Eunos Ave 4 #01-217

Specialise in Toyota.

hanip?

fishy leh

see all the magazines he promote genuine toyota parts and oil, then got some he "sells out" and promotes x-rev or ows or something

This is true. From his perspective, he runs 2 workshops with 10+ workers and consistently invests in the latest equipment. If he is unable to earn from supplies because owner brings their own parts, it is reasonable for him to impose the surcharge to recover the loss partially.

I have seen forumers patrolnized his workshop bringing all supplies along and expect to pay peanuts for labor charge. How do you expect him to keep the business going?

I believe in win-win situation. Pay reasonbly and let the workshop earns a bit. It cannot be a win-loss situation always to car owners' advantage. The fact that we are paying tens of thousands for our precious ride, why take it so hard about that $10 savings? If you are not comfortable with them, just move on to one that you are comfortable with. There is no need to keep criticising them. Cheers.

well said ! [thumbsup] i agree fully with u bro. people also need to pay their rentals. If they get their fair compensation, they will do a better job for u anyway. Sometimes it is good for us to just use the oil that they have, let the workshop make a little. A fair wage and a fair profit.

Hi everyone,

All wkshps mentioned in this thread are good one, i can assure you. It is just individual preferences according to their needs and budget. Good wkshps normally provide good after sales service should there be any poor workmanship concern besides capability to repairs most of our cars on the our sg road. As for our dear friend named Picanto, sorry we are not able to cater to your needs. If budget is an issue, maybe you can enrol in ITE to learn about automotive technology so as to be able to service and repair your car inorder to save some money for your rainy days. If you need a place to carry out your service, there are wkshps that will be willing to rent to you their hoists and equipments for usage with rental rates according to their monthly rental and cost of equipments You should not continue to criticize anyone any longer as no one force you at gunpoint to do things that you do not want to do. To further save more, maybe you should start learning to cook and sew....................... so as t save even more. Cheers everyone!

VincentMong

hanip?

fishy leh

see all the magazines he promote genuine toyota parts and oil, then got some he "sells out" and promotes x-rev or ows or something

I went to svc my car there, ok leh, reasonable pricing and the boss is knowledgeable on toyota cars.

specialise in toyota does not mean he is good.

True, specialize in Toyota may not necessarily mean good, but did u try their svcs b4 criticizing?

Hahaha...good one brudder.

Life is too short, stop harping on past issue with any workshop and move on to find one you are comfortable with.

If I am not wrong, Riverview's rental rate for the hoists and equipment is $60 per hour if you are really keen to DIY service your own ride. Expect those smaller workshop to charge around $40 per hour. Again, some may think it is expensive but some may think it is reasonable. It is all relative to each individual. At the end of the day, do what you feel it's worth by your standard and visit those workshop that you are comfortable with. Win-win situation for all.

Yep bro,

You are right that we charge about $60.00/per hr each bay with usage of almost all brand of vehicles diagnostic computer on the condition you know how to use them. Human being are unpredictable lots. Knowing that Boon Tong Kee chicken rice is expensive, i still goes there regularly to eat instead of neighbourhood chicken rice stalls. Don't know why it is packed most of the time. Must find out their secret recipe and learn how to cook so as not to waste money. Please pardon me for saying such things as i seldom reply in this manner unless force to. Goodnite all bros.

VincentMong

aiyo brother,

this is really market preference lo...

Looks at NTUC or Gaint...why are they still displaying or sell other branded stuff while having their Home Brand's products on the shelf...

Did anyone says them fishy...? other than they are having a bigger counter fish counter.

End of day... consumers' preference and choice la...!