JB New CIQ condition in 2009 ?

Theman

yeah man..i went in last sat evening to msia for CNY..reach woodlands CIQ at about 730pm..suprisingly..there were no jam at all..smooth all the way on both mais and sg side..in fact, the first 'jam' i encountered was the toll booth entering NSHW..

today, came out via tuas..reach tuas checkpoint at about 1030pm..also smooth all the way for both sides..

Becareful when you zoom around the roads leading to the JB CIQ....I like to go faster on the stretch too...but I was lucky on one trip cos got stuck behind 2 SG MPV who was driving side by side...then at the CIQ...saw a EG Civic got stop by their TP.

Better stay within reasonable speed (cos reasonable cos the speed limit is only 20kmh...which is like crawling also faster).

My fav corner is the last one coming back from JB CIQ....woo...what a hairpin !!

no issue bro, not here to create enemy, anyway i dont work for them or are related to them. i'm also one of those who go in frequently and do encounter long waiting time. but when i think over the security level and the level of safety in singapore, i told myself it's ok, take their own sweet time to do watever detail checks they want. eventually i want to feel safe walking in the middle of singapore street at 3am, 4am, and not like what's happening in other neighbouring countries. When i enter the custom i told myself i'm lucky i'm not their residents, because those custom people dont even bother to check the car boots or even look at the person face when verifying passports; same things goes to walk-in custom. anyway mas escaped custody twice before in Indonesia. i believe such cases are very common everywhere, it's only whether all these cases are brought up by the media or not. as mentioned before it's impossible to have 100% security. most importantly is how the govt counter it when they discovered lapses. i dont think this is going to change, and dont think they would employed more people just to man the booths, basically because it's not cost effective, and wat are they going to do with these groups of people during off peak periods. The public would then questioned the govt how come they are using tax payers money to pay so many servants to wait in their booths just to chop passport. anyway if i'm not wrong they always faces a shortage of manpower and recently they are going for mass recruitment, do encourage more of your friends to join to minimise all these. to sum up, it's always good to plan in advance to avoid all these inconveniences, i believe we have a choice. nevertheless do feedback to the them if u feel unhappy over certain matters at least they can take note of it.

Becareful when you zoom around the roads leading to the JB CIQ....I like to go faster on the stretch too...but I was lucky on one trip cos got stuck behind 2 SG MPV who was driving side by side...then at the CIQ...saw a EG Civic got stop by their TP.

Better stay within reasonable speed (cos reasonable cos the speed limit is only 20kmh...which is like crawling also faster).

My fav corner is the last one coming back from JB CIQ....woo...what a hairpin !!

those bus drivers also enjoying the corners [drivingcar]

the poor condition at JB CIQ has turned many motorist to use Tuas resulting massive jam at Tuas.

and the worse is the notorious queue cutters who drive all the way using bas/lorry lane and cut in

i don't give a damn to those who show their farking face and ask for empathy to cut in

phew! its hot here. . . .

pls allow me to highlight a design issue to the new CIQ that I faced.

its good to share with all & take note:

towards entering into the new CIQ, those counters on the extreme right hand sides: WATCH OUT!

the distance between barricades and the Touch&Go m/c is too close. pls STOP your car where your side mirror is BEFORE the m/c.

if you stop with your side mirror slightly after the m/c for your convenience to reach out your hand (just like other counters), chances are that your bonnet may be scratched by the barricade/bar in front!

I was in a queue when all the 5 cars in front of me kana the barricade . . . . again an officer just stood there & giggled until someone complained to a senior officer to have the barricade opened momentarily.

during festive season, visitors shud look out for the 'dark side' as well as the white ones, e.g.

- extortion from custom officer offering you white cards as well as 'white ants' on the road

take care, enjoy your trip & happy CNY!

Edited by A_korusawa

Visited the new CIQ yesterday. Suprisingly smooth traffic the only congestion was after the causeway. However Sg side also quite ok just that a lot of snakes wriggling here and there.

I went to JB last Sunday around 8am, the traffic at SG CIQ was a bit congested, took about 20 mins to clear. At the immigration counter, the officer asked to winddown all 4 winodws!

When crossing the causeway, saw many cars stopped before the old MY checkpoint to buy touch-and-go card, I also stopped to buy one touch-and-go card for RM20 and took some white cards for future use.

The road leading to the MY CIQ was small and hard to drive, a bit of jam and cleared immigration in about 25 mins, the officer did not even look at all of us in the car and no check by the custom officer.

Came back yesterday (28 Jan) around 9pm, saw one SGP car stopped by traffic piolice near the MY CIQ (speeding?), cleared in 10 mins. Reached SGP CIQ and cleared in 15 mins, but I don't understand how come there were so many humps (I think about 10 or 12) before hitting the expressway!

No one enjoys being caught in a jam and of coz when U are in one, it is normal to feel unhappy or frustrated . . . but we just have to face it just like the expressways in spore, during peak hrs when everyone chooses to use it, we would have to bear with the congestions and slower traffic . . . same goes for a checkpoint . . . our checkpoints act as a filter so that the inland units has an easier job to handle. . . I believe papers these few days also highlighted one case of contraband smuggling detected a woodlands checkpoint . . . and they also show the number of cases (contrabands, narcotics, firearms) detected over the last yr at the checkpoints . . . we cannot expect the checkpoint to 100% filter out all contrabands etc unless you are willing to endure even longer waiting time to be cleared so that all vehicles will have to be checked so thoroughly that the seats etc are taken out to ensure nothing hidden below *just joking* . . . thus there will have to be a balance . . . bet clearance and checks . . . if you are a driver using the checkpoint now with nothing hidden most likely you will wan faster clearance over security. If you are a smuggler, you will rather slow clearance but less security checks . . . :) but it will help if there is nothing urgent for us to go in, then try to choose off-peak time like wat u are doing now and if no choice need to go in during peak or festive periods, then will have to bear with it . . . look at it this way, we are in our car while the officers checking have to move ard bend down etc to check in the hot and smokey environment. . . . thus they also not in gd position . . . is no joke doing that and breathing in the exhaust for hrs . . . by the way like one of the bros here suggested, can consider taking other type of transport like the buses or even trains which could be faster esp the trains lah . . . thus next time when we pass thru the checkpoint, if the officers have areas that can be improve, just tell them nicely or if they had done well, just show an appreciation like a thank U i sure it will make it better for all . . . . :)

By the way, not sure if most know that for sporeans, you can still enter spore as long as u can prove u are a sporean . . . that is y if u lose ur passport, the msia side will still let u leave if u have a police report and ur IC with U. . . . thus when u reach spore side, i believe once u able to prove ur identity and the officers match ur fingerprints with their database and confirm who U are, U will be allowed in . . . and the old lady case correct me if i am wrong but it was mentioned she had mild dementia which means that likely that most of time she will remember things and able to give reasonable n correct answers . . . i know as one of my relative has this illness . . . it is only when it get to the later stages when one will not remember things or take care of oneself . . . from wat i gather from the papers if she can make her way back to spore from gentings and pass thru malaysia immigration . . . chances are she was able to give good answers to the officers to prove who she was and mild dementia patient sometimes cannot see just by looking at them as they behave and talk like normal ppl just more forgetful at times . . . or certain particular details cannot remember . . . :)

By the way, Happy Niu Year!! Toto next wk liao !!! :)

no issue bro, not here to create enemy, anyway i dont work for them or are related to them. i'm also one of those who go in frequently and do encounter long waiting time. but when i think over the security level and the level of safety in singapore, i told myself it's ok, take their own sweet time to do watever detail checks they want. eventually i want to feel safe walking in the middle of singapore street at 3am, 4am, and not like what's happening in other neighbouring countries. When i enter the custom i told myself i'm lucky i'm not their residents, because those custom people dont even bother to check the car boots or even look at the person face when verifying passports; same things goes to walk-in custom. anyway mas escaped custody twice before in Indonesia. i believe such cases are very common everywhere, it's only whether all these cases are brought up by the media or not. as mentioned before it's impossible to have 100% security. most importantly is how the govt counter it when they discovered lapses. i dont think this is going to change, and dont think they would employed more people just to man the booths, basically because it's not cost effective, and wat are they going to do with these groups of people during off peak periods. The public would then questioned the govt how come they are using tax payers money to pay so many servants to wait in their booths just to chop passport. anyway if i'm not wrong they always faces a shortage of manpower and recently they are going for mass recruitment, do encourage more of your friends to join to minimise all these. to sum up, it's always good to plan in advance to avoid all these inconveniences, i believe we have a choice. nevertheless do feedback to the them if u feel unhappy over certain matters at least they can take note of it.

Agree with you . . . when i went into msia their customs officers do not even bother to stop my car and just waved me thru . . . . this could be one of the reasons y the clearance there faster as there are no checks at all . . . but of coz need other bro's confirmation as i only went in once after i got me car . . . i just glad i staying here than there. . . i heard from some msians that when they pass their immigration just wave their passport and the officers no even bother to check and they can jus walk pass like that and when i say wave is not open the passport but just hold it in ur hands and wave while walking thru . . . wat kind of checks??? Read in papers their illegal immigrants and overstayers problem quite serious and they now going ops to rid some of it . . . lucky ours not as bad . . .

eh.. side track a bit.. your "enter" button on your keyboard got problem?

it's good to hit enter once it a while.. easier for people to read as well [:)]

I find the new CIQ not too bad.. the aim "REDUCE WAITING TIME" is correct...

Imagine old malaysia customs with say 8 counters opened to Singapore 30 counters... Last time no wonder U come back from malaysia to Singapore... Malaysia jam...

Now new CIQ has 30 counters to Singapapore 30 counters.... So now becomes S'pore jam, becoz of many more stringent checks on Singapore side..

Pros of CIQ:

time saving

Cons:

Too curvey,

too many high "humps".. haha, cars with super low skirtings, better dun go

A little confusing for 1st timer, but after a few tries, it becomes a breeze.

Let me share my part, 1st time go in was a normal weekday, a bit blur with getting white card, the touch go ting...

2nd time go in, shiok, really enjoying the faster time as opposed to the slowness previously enjoyed.

I also went in Malaysia 2 days b4 CNY.... Early mornin, 5am jam at SG side, after woodlands Ave 3, jam for 1.5hrs leh, coz SG side clearing customs too slow, no efficiency as compared to MY.. (MY maybe too slack, but I like, slack good for me, faster mah).

Then on the other side, at MY side, little jam, cleared my ride so fast.... (Come on, Singapore , sad to say we are no longer number 1 in efficiency.. Even MY has overtaken us.. )

When I came back from MY also, jam was always at the SG side.. Haiz..

And to that wolve, or whatever thing, or dog, or wharsoever....

I was ever robbed in SG before leh, so can I assume SG is unsafe???

Use your brain, use your brain...

noticed u mentioned u like the checks to be slack but is at msia side . . . and U did not say U like the checks in spore to be slack . . . can only assume this and is becoz u staying here n not there . . . anyway my personal views are we all have a choice so once we exercise the choice then have to bear with the outcome lor . . . or join them to make a difference . . . and sure all bro will be glad . . . :)

maybe i phrase wrongly..

I dun like checks to be stringent, coz to me, the checks is wayang like u have pointed out...

SG customs side should re-look at how to improve their operations in this manner.

icic . . . there is always room for improvement but personally I prefer strict checks and by looking at the cases that ICA had detected over the past yrs, I believe the checks are successful to a certain extent and also assist the inland units to have an easier time if not their job even busier as more things in the market liao . . . :) maybe one way is to reopen fully the old checkpoint or to install ERP there liao (*joking*)

Anyway, sometimes i envy the msia side as their officers like no need to work like tat yet is more or less iron rice bowl . . . :)

Edited by Seabass_sg

i dun like the new CIQ becoz of the high bumps.. cant they use the singapore kind? rounder ones? rather use that stupi trapezium ones more like for lorrys...

and the high slope when entering custom, jam die...

manual car ahahhah ... have to use hand brake. ..sian....

other than that ... is good. faster..