Temasek

Nutty

By Saskia Scholtes and Greg Farrell in New York

Published: January 7 2009 23:13 | Last updated: January 7 2009 23:13

Temasek, the Singapore state investment fund, is sitting on significant paper losses related to its stake in Merrill Lynch, the investment bank acquired by Bank of America last week.

The state agency

By Saskia Scholtes and Greg Farrell in New York

Published: January 7 2009 23:13 | Last updated: January 7 2009 23:13

Temasek, the Singapore state investment fund, is sitting on significant paper losses related to its stake in Merrill Lynch, the investment bank acquired by Bank of America last week.

The state agency

hell, we have 10 good years ahead of us. What's a 28 billion dollar loss?

With a loss of close to 30b...assuming that there are 3 million true blue Sinkies on the island.....they can dish out close to $10k in COLD HARD CASH, to everyone of the Sinkies as freebie for hard times in 2009!

How that for your digestion? :D[laugh]

With a loss of close to 30b...assuming that there are 3 million true blue Sinkies on the island.....they can dish out close to $10k in COLD HARD CASH, to everyone of the Sinkies as freebie for hard times in 2009!

How that for your digestion? :D[laugh]

Where did you guys read 30b losses? I thought the news and the thread title says 2 billion?

Oy! Gearoil, 30b and 2b is a big difference. You sure you got through arithmetics in kindergarten?

What is hidden is not told....you keep looking at figures shown or at least estimated...so what is REALLY the REAL FIGURE LOST? :D

==============================================================================

Damn the peasants, I say I lose money and they just keep asking HOW MUCH LOST!

I give me freebies every 5 year or so and they never thank me and tell me to get lost!

"no money lost....we are taking a medium to long term view on this investment portfolio..in fact we are and will be making money.."

"we dun comment on individual investment."

familiar sound coming up...or sound familiar ?

What is hidden is not told....you keep looking at figures shown or at least estimated...so what is REALLY the REAL FIGURE LOST? :D

I give me freebies every 5 year or so and they never thank me and tell me to get lost!

Bro, exactly, no one ever knows how much they lost in the protfolio...For GIC, we know that from that time they started (think is 1982) to last year, there return is about 8% per annual (good or bad you can look at the MCSI index for that period...guess it's underperform) For temasek, no report only hear whatever they invested, within half a year value drops to half or sometime zero (as in the case what ABC child learning). So moral of the story, do not invest where temasek invest..not for the weak heart (or pocket)... [smallcry]

No choice lah have to see the figures that are shown. Just like when people say xxxx men got raped last year, that is reported but you know many men will not come up and say they got raped. What to do, rely on the figures provided. the ones that didn't report, you can balloon them as big as you want but please say it is ballooned lah.