Chisiang 2nd Gear January 12, 2009 Share January 12, 2009 no... that answer is wrong. Pilots will receive warning in from their cockpit long before any visual indicators can be spotted by passengers (well most of the time). And if visual lookout is the reason, then it (window shades) should be up throughout the flight and not only during TO and Landing. The correct answer (well from my aviation forum) is: Takeoff and landing is the most crucial part of any flight. The reason why the shades has to be up and cabin lights dim during take off and landing is to ensure that passenger's eyes are accustomed to the outside lighting conditions. In the past, during emergency evacuation, a lot of passengers had problem getting accustomed to the complete darkness (or extremely bright) surroundings. This is the reason why they had to draw the shades up and (dim the cabin lights at night( during TO and landing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jsguit89 Neutral Newbie January 12, 2009 Share January 12, 2009 wow! that's interesting to noe! now i no longer have to ponder my lil' brain about this each time i'm on a plane! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowpoke 3rd Gear February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 "...The only people who can see the engines and what happens in the surroundings, are their passengers. Crew who are seated at their crew seats, will not be able to see a whole lot of the plane's exterior...." Passengers paid so much for an air ticket still have to "work" for them? then the next time when you are on a plane and you see the engine on fire, just keep quiet.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Suv8 1st Gear February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 then the next time when you are on a plane and you see the engine on fire, just keep quiet.... ypu, was about to say that too...so that you can see an engine fall off and scream for the attention of the cabin and flight crew. Not as if the flight crew wun already know when they loose an engine. or pieces of a flap/aileron... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 well common sense, imagine turning on the phone can disrupt the pilot's frequency, isnt that very easy if i want to be a suicide bomber, all i need is a phone and not a bomb. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
B777jubilee 2nd Gear February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 (edited) If an aircraft loses an engine, the differential in thrust will result in the aircraft turning cos full thrust is on 1 side of the plane and no (twin engine) or 50% thrust (Quad Engine) thrust on the other side. U do not need an indicator, the flight crew will have to use rudder to compensate for the difference in thrust cos the difference in thrust will affect the aircraft and will be felt almost immediately. Edited February 24, 2009 by B777jubilee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 now one more mistery for you to find out..why the SIA girl had such tight uniform that their legs can't barely spread open while walking....in emergency....can they run with those or we will see them tear up their skirt to run? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jitm Neutral Newbie February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 now one more mistery for you to find out..why the SIA girl had such tight uniform that their legs can't barely spread open while walking....in emergency....can they run with those or we will see them tear up their skirt to run? The SIA kebaya is designed so that if there is a need to run or move fast, they just need to lift their skirt above the knees and voila.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Potheader Clutched February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 If an aircraft loses an engine, the differential in thrust will result in the aircraft turning cos full thrust is on 1 side of the plane and no (twin engine) or 50% thrust (Quad Engine) thrust on the other side. U do not need an indicator, the flight crew will have to use rudder to compensate for the difference in thrust cos the difference in thrust will affect the aircraft and will be felt almost immediately. voil Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elmosan Neutral Newbie February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 This is what I understand. GSM signals are 'roamed' and passed on the the next cell station like relay. The action is dependent on the signal strength of the cellphone. The tower with the strongest return signal is 'handed over' the cellphone. This is not a big issue when the car/bus/whatever is at ground level. Imagine when you are at 10, 000 feet. All at once, hundreds and thousands of GSM relays are picking up your cell signal and dont know what to do with it. As far as I know, your signal will be switched constantly between massive amounts of towers. Not very good for the operators. Also, maybe tower signal can reach you, but your cell transmitter will be forced to boost microwave transmission to 'communicate' with the relay towers. For the landing and take off issue I got no info. This is what i understand, maybe right/wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
B777jubilee 2nd Gear February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 to add further, example for a twin engine aircraft, if 1 engine dies, the plane is running on 50% power but aircraft performance deteriorated usually by more than 50%, sometimes as much as 80%. Therefore, one needs to arrest and fix the problem quickly or else the plane will spin out of control. So in a way, window shades up are more for visual by pax for other issues, not for engine failure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 (edited) hi, other than the pilot's radios, there are many other navigational instruments that use radio signals of various wavelengths and frequencies like the VORs, NDBs, and ILS, among them of which the ILS is most commonly used during the approach and landing phases in most major airports. Hence, it is not only the radio frequencies for communication per se that MIGHT BE affected. But whether the handphone signal can really affect any these radio signals, I have no comments on it. Cheers Edited February 24, 2009 by Bonjoey Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siron Neutral Newbie February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 Its not possible to have any interference using cell phones. Its proven but then again Airlines are not taking any chances :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Potheader Clutched February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 to add further, example for a twin engine aircraft, if 1 engine dies, the plane is running on 50% power but aircraft performance deteriorated usually by more than 50%, sometimes as much as 80%. Therefore, one needs to arrest and fix the problem quickly or else the plane will spin out of control. So in a way, window shades up are more for visual by pax for other issues, not for engine failure. yes esp for a 2 engine plane when one side fails it becomes a dead weight which not only does not add to the propulsion it further drags the plane down. really scary just like the case in dallas some years back. plane did a cartwheel after losing its number 1 engine on the runway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_dude Neutral Newbie February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 This is what I understand. GSM signals are 'roamed' and passed on the the next cell station like relay. The action is dependent on the signal strength of the cellphone. The tower with the strongest return signal is 'handed over' the cellphone. This is not a big issue when the car/bus/whatever is at ground level. Imagine when you are at 10, 000 feet. All at once, hundreds and thousands of GSM relays are picking up your cell signal and dont know what to do with it. As far as I know, your signal will be switched constantly between massive amounts of towers. Not very good for the operators. Also, maybe tower signal can reach you, but your cell transmitter will be forced to boost microwave transmission to 'communicate' with the relay towers. For the landing and take off issue I got no info. This is what i understand, maybe right/wrong. Am not electronic engr...not too sure...GSM station can reach when you are at that high altitude ?...If that the case..then think dun have to install so many sub stations for GSM communication liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_dude Neutral Newbie February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 hi, other than the pilot's radios, there are many other navigational instruments that use radio signals of various wavelengths and frequencies like the VORs, NDBs, and ILS, among them of which the ILS is most commonly used during the approach and landing phases in most major airports. Hence, it is not only the radio frequencies for communication per se that MIGHT BE affected. But whether the handphone signal can really affect any these radio signals, I have no comments on it. Cheers I guess...key is during takeoff/landing to avoid other interference from communication signal from other sources ......if you switch on your GSM while at cruising altitude..then shld be fine..coz you probably will not be able to get any signal....hence no risk of interference...unless you using satellite phone... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cklasse 1st Gear February 25, 2009 Share February 25, 2009 (edited) The SIA kebaya is designed so that if there is a need to run or move fast, they just need to lift their skirt above the knees and voila.... Look closely next time at the cabine crew dress. The skirt is designed for big stride when needed and to look slim when walking. The skirt has pleats folded so that it allows bigger stride if need to, such as emergency. As for the discussion on losing engine (whether physically or just power) during take-off. Historical data had proven that the moment of airborne losing an engine usually spells doom for the aircraft. There were cases of planes crashed due to engine dropped or power lost during takeoff, the difference in thrust balance is simply too much and altitude is not enough to make correction at such short time. The wing simply touch the ground at such a low altitude during take off. Another forumer was right that the pilot would know the situation of engine without the need of anyone outside the cockpit to notify them. The modern aricraft engine is wrapped with fire detection system and sensors to monitor any abnormally high temperature inside and outside (still within the cowling) of the engine. Sensors are even included for parameter such as rotation speed of the fan shaft , oil temperature, air temperature. In fact, the whole airframe (including the cabin) has sensors to detect fire. The waste bin of the cabin toilet has smoke detector that will fire an extinguisher if fire is detected, so it is really a bad idea to smoke in the toilet. Edited February 25, 2009 by Cklasse Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jubilong 2nd Gear February 25, 2009 Share February 25, 2009 no... that answer is wrong. Pilots will receive warning in from their cockpit long before any visual indicators can be spotted by passengers (well most of the time). And if visual lookout is the reason, then it (window shades) should be up throughout the flight and not only during TO and Landing. The correct answer (well from my aviation forum) is: Takeoff and landing is the most crucial part of any flight. The reason why the shades has to be up and cabin lights dim during take off and landing is to ensure that passenger's eyes are accustomed to the outside lighting conditions. In the past, during emergency evacuation, a lot of passengers had problem getting accustomed to the complete darkness (or extremely bright) surroundings. This is the reason why they had to draw the shades up and (dim the cabin lights at night( during TO and landing. That maybe true about night flight but for day flight the shades are suppose to be up as well. Simply the reason is that in an evacuation the crew and pax need to know which side to evacuate from and imagine all shades were down and then the plane catches fire after a rejected takeoff and when evacuation is called for they do not know which side is burning as the shades were down. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...