Which brands of laptop is the best?

Suhong

:D Yeah MAC is good for video, photo editing and those media stuff like you mentioned. Am sure she have loads of fun with it. Geez you spend a bomb on such stuff ahha.

among my classmates, the fujitsus seem to have far more problems.. hee hee

gals go for fujitsu, guys go for acer (among the pple i know). go figure [flowerface]

fujitsu better for portability due to lighter weight and good cooling. but the price is also very "good"

acer still ok. good value. best for gamers (if u game on laptop)

HP, forget it..

mac? u can still run windows on it. u can't run mac on windows machine.

if u do any sort of multimedia, go for mac. if u wanna game, then windows is better. if u only use internet and MS office, then yeah, u dun need a mac too.

but u shd give mac a spin some time. at least be sure u can live with what u are missing out on [sly]. btw, i dun own a mac.... YET. but had the chance to use my sister's for a week or more. much more stable. i have this feeling that it's also faster than a window's machine with the equivalent horsepower but this i'm not too sure.

This seems bad.... I am not a gamer myself, so no acer for me....may i ask why forget about HP?

HP, forget it..

erm.. why? HP not too bad what. There's the Compaq brand, i.e. the poorer cousin of HP. Very suited for the budget groupie. HP if you want better specs and packaging. You also can get HP Carepack i.e. Extended warranty if you get it from someone else that does not provide in-house extended warranties.

IMO, extended warranties are esp impt for NBs. Not many parts are serviceable so if out of warranty, labour and parts can be expensive.

i'm using my 2nd laptop.

First one was from Gateway... lasted 7 years. unfortunatedly keyboard conked out.

Bought a new Acer... still running in great condition... coming close to 2 years.

Next laptop would definitedly be a portable one.

If you're lugging the laptop to school everyday, do consider a portable one.

IBM (now Lenovo) Thinkpad X series is on my to-buy list ($3.5K++), expensive though.

Edited by Refugee

Dell no problem if you are lucky.

heard their product no QC at all.... they depend on supplier's QC. So, if you have problem, call them, they will just replace the parts.

Thats why their price is so competitive. 1 step less than other manufacturer.

So, it depends on your luck.

Ive been using dell laptop and desktop... so far laptop, no problem... but desktop, i have 2 units motherboard needed to be replaced.

OK my post is not exactly relevant to the thread starter's requirements but anyone else interested in a good buy can check this out....

I was at Sim Lim Square this morning and there is a shop selling lots of IBM Thinkpad R51. Each going for $429 with one month warranty.

I am very tempted because this is a very solid model before Thinkpads got bought over by Lenovo. I know because I already have one. I have 2 other friends who use the same model. All of us have been using it for 5-6 years now.

These days there are cheaper and cheaper deals, but these old tanks are good stuff !!

I lean towards IBM Thinkpads. Have had 3 since 2001 not because they are spoilt but because co policy is can change laptop every 3 years. No problems with IBM except my first lappy had her mama-board fried just before the 3-year warranty ended. Mama-board changed with no cost. > 90% in my office uses IBM though we can also choose other brands.

I used to own an IBM R50 for close to 4 years.

Its COE expired after I accidentally dropped a glass of water onto it.

So other than it is not waterproof, it is a reliable workhorse. [thumbsup]

I used to own an IBM R50 for close to 4 years.

Its COE expired after I accidentally dropped a glass of water onto it.

So other than it is not waterproof, it is a reliable workhorse. [thumbsup]

The same thing happened to my 2nd Thinkpad but I managed to force shutdown fast enough before the water seeps from keyboard to the inside.

Use hairdryer to blowdry for an hour and then sun it for another few hours before I gingerly power on again. Bo tai ji. Laptop worked fine till the day I got my 3rd Thinkpad.

MAC? I wonder what is with all the Apple evangelists. To them everything about Apple is good. I bet my last dime that they reckon Steve Jobs' poo smells the best too. I am using both MAC and PC at work and at home, for the past few years, and in my opinion, both have their pros and cons. Both work in different ways and serve different purposes. And fyi, the MAC breaks down just as often.

So to say "get a mac you won't look back" is total bollocks. Well at least to me.

i also wonder why they so siao mac leh. but.. this thread have macvangelist meh? [confused]

actually, not that mac is so magical, more like windows sucks. esp vista [thumbsdown]