Inside Info on iPhone

Tunge

hello any folks here got inside info on when iPhone will be available to M1 & Starhub...

at first say end of last yr, then push back to early 2009, now like no news... my M1 plan finished soon so looking at my options

Eh........... iPhone will only be distributed by SingTel exclusively. The other telcos wont bring in.

Hello Shops got the news article at their shops leh.......... and this news is quite a long time back.....

hello any folks here got inside info on when iPhone will be available to M1 & Starhub...

at first say end of last yr, then push back to early 2009, now like no news... my M1 plan finished soon so looking at my options

now gt number port system, bring ur no to singtel and sign buy the iphone???

same same. my M1 contract also going to finish. considering whether to switch to singtel or starhub. just now did some research online on prices etc. anyone know if there is any bill rebates or discounts if my mum has 3 singtel lines under her name? cos i went to singtel website but cant find any promotion if got 3 lines.

singtel website some pages say free registration fee etc for new lines, but some pages say must pay for the one time registration fee, so dont know which is which. i also looking for hp, and thinking of hp that have wi-fi. any bros can recommend? thanks. :D

Dun sign with Singtel....damn lousy with the customer service.

My contract expires in May 09....and its bye bye Stinktel....

Anyway....the iPhone not really a good phone....to me its like having a iPod Touch with phone...

BT does not support file transfer.

SMS cannot be forwarded.

email don't hv search functions.

Great for watching Youtube and surfing the net though...

I am sure Apple will work to resolve those small issues....so I rather wait for the new version to come out then buy.

Alternatively....get a crack iPhone and then sign with other service provider.

I agree with you on the limitations of iphone. The iphone does not seem to be designed as a phone from the start, rather its the added capability for the ipod touch that has phone capabilities.

I dunno y they design their phones with these limitations and all these can be easily resolved with a simple software upgrade.

Also, there is no front mounted camera for a 3g video call [shakehead] and another extremely stupid feature. U can't change battery. Its built in, those pple in sales/bizman or heavy users will understand the potential frustration it can bring.

I think iPhone V2 would be a good buy. Only then will I consider getting one.

Edited by Rickster

iPhone native does has it's limitation. But I find that it's the only gadget I don't get sick of it. My sms can be forwarded, I can also do file transfer via wireless. It is the only muti-touch sensor in the world - i don't have a problem with touch sensitivity like other touch phones. I gave up the htc 3months i own it.

I don't think iPhone is the best in terms of features but iPhone is really nothing if there are no apps.

Agree...the iPhone is a great toy....to me its a toy. If compare features/functionality to a WinMobile phone...it will lose out.

I did not get the iPhone cos

1) I sick and tired of Stinktel.

2) I heavy phone user...so I need a good reliable phone.

My PDA phone has been relegated to be a PDA...I am not on the Nokia E51.

For emails, I use the PDA to read...while the E51 has email and open attachment capabilities, screen is too small to use. So endure for a while until my contract with Stinktel ends and I go buy the E71 with another operator.

BTW...can you PM me where you crack your iPhone ? My sister wants to get it cracked....fedup of the limitation liao. Thanks !!

Is it...I tot the 3G iPhone had a 2nd fount mount cam for 3G calls ??

Ha ha ha ha....so Nokia also got buddies on bad designs....my E51 also has only 1 cam....so you gotta flip the phone around and around to make 3G calls....damn stupid from the designers.

Eh........... iPhone will only be distributed by SingTel exclusively. The other telcos wont bring in.

Hello Shops got the news article at their shops leh.......... and this news is quite a long time back.....

hey bro... there was reports laster in the year that iPhone would soon be available to all telcos... starhub reported that they r bring in iphones

http://digital.asiaone.com/Digital/News/St...1105-98614.html

but seems like alot of folks here do not like e iPhone. so all the limitations mentioned apply to the lastest 3G iphone too? or the issues have been resolved?

i love the applications for the iphone but honestly, the phone and sms functions sucks...

i'm still considering whether to get a itouch instead... (use a normal phone and itouch)

in that way, i can still play with the various applications... :P

Some like the Iphone, some hate it.

If you want a phone to look stylish with large gorgeous display, fast OS, great user interface as well as web browsing, then go for it. It is so good that i seldom use my PC to surf, and can now enjoy surfing on the iphone via wifi, while watching tv at the same time.

Cons are:

cant forward sms, delete individual call history (there is a workaround using wetool software), so-so camera quality, etc

But hey, u get the best sms user interface, such as magnifying glass scrolling, fantastic dictionary auto correction, viewing all the conversation history with that person on the same page, etc. That is enough to oversee the cons.

Camera function is fast too.

I used to be a nokia user, using the Iphone (gen1) since feb last year, never look back, never look at other phones.... Just love the iphone. :wub:

The only phone i will buy next is the next gen Iphone.

correction, actually M1 offers per sec billing also M1 price plan. if you compare with Starhub price plan, you will realise that most of the plans are equivalent (ie same prices, same offers). just that for most of us (incl me), were on the older suntalk plan etc, so you just need to call the customer service and make a switch to sunsaver plan to enjoy per sec billing.

having said that, starhub got hubber discount which could be quite attractive if you got many lines, but M1 got M1 Multi-Line Saver also. so your judgment on which one fits your requirement.

only starhub give per sec billing, and it make a huge different to me

Hahahahah............... never catch up on all these liao. Moving too fast liao...

Btw, is the Svc Ctr for HTC still as bad as ever? Heard from my frens that their CS sucks when they brought their fones in for repair.