Donut Supercharged February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 just dun make it a habit to do it often....... yes, 2 of you can split the items.... but to do it in front of the queue is too much lah... too obvious liao! want to split, should split before u queue up... then no one knows. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Just think that if everyone thinks like you and one fine day one whole family of 4 buys 40 items and hog the express counter lane such that others buying 4-5 products have to wait like 15-20 mins, would you think its fine? as wat the other forumers said, if both of you paid in separate bills, then is technically ok..but if you want to use the logic of two person queueing means ok to have more than 10 items but yet payment was made in one bill, your reasoning doesn't hold water...pls be considerate...when I go to supermkt and see pple abusing the express counter, it really is quite a turn-off... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Thanks for your point of view. But I frankly do not think I am in the wrong. Imagine there are 2 of us, me and my wife, and we have been queing together to pay for the items. Then I cannot understand why we are not allowed to use the counter since we are both in the queue and it is less than the stipulated quantity? It's 10 or less item. Regardless your are together with wife or not. It's not 10 or less per person. Collectively you have exceed the number. Will taking another empty basket and splitting the items among the 2 baskets helped? In that case, we clearly will not be 'morally' wrong. But must we be so inflexible and rigid thinking to do extra things for show when it actually doesn't benefit anybody? I have to make the effort to take a extra basket, shopper deprived of a extra basket on busy day, supermarket worker has to clear 1 extra basket, just because I need to be 'morally' right? No, don't do that, as it won't improve the speed. What would benefit more people is you and your wife go a queue in the non-express counter. I think perhaps to placate everybody, that is what I will have to do. Take extra baskets, and bring my kids to make mockery of the rule, haha. Of course, must also pay separately lah. You already make a mockery of the system. The express lane was slowed down while it was your turn to pay. You could have helped the system if you could just go to the non-express lane. The result would be the people behind you would not be unhappy, and that's what the system is about. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Refugee Neutral Newbie February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 i dun see a problem with 2 person sharing 15 items. however if it was myself, i would use 2 baskets and put equal items in each. upon reaching the i'll tell them to put items together. Bill separately if it makes the cashier's life easier. Theres no need to entertain the auntie/uncles queuing behind you who give you black face. Its either they wait or they can argue with you on the spot and waste more time. This is like the tissue-paper-chop-table issue. one pack of tissue chop 1 table of 4 seats acceptable? IMO 1 pack = 1 seat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Refugee Neutral Newbie February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Thanks for your point of view. But I frankly do not think I am in the wrong. Imagine there are 2 of us, me and my wife, and we have been queing together to pay for the items. Then I cannot understand why we are not allowed to use the counter since we are both in the queue and it is less than the stipulated quantity? Will taking another empty basket and splitting the items among the 2 baskets helped? In that case, we clearly will not be 'morally' wrong. But must we be so inflexible and rigid thinking to do extra things for show when it actually doesn't benefit anybody? I have to make the effort to take a extra basket, shopper deprived of a extra basket on busy day, supermarket worker has to clear 1 extra basket, just because I need to be 'morally' right? I think perhaps to placate everybody, that is what I will have to do. Take extra baskets, and bring my kids to make mockery of the rule, haha. Of course, must also pay separately lah. Hi, its okie to feel you're not in the wrong. Like they mentioned, theres no right / wrong. No need to worry that you waste a basket really. You save for the supermarket end up you get a truckload of angry fellow citizens queuing up behind you who jump to conclusions. Ai Zai. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 express queue is not for solo shopper with more than sipulated qty of goods. if you can find someone to queue with you and u combined the bill...why not? it saves the cashier 1 payment process less for 2 customers instead of 2 payment process for 2 separate customers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Safetyleo Neutral Newbie February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Make it simple... Split the 15 items into 2 person, pay in different bill, NO argument already. Say if you bring your family members along, total 6 person...you can purchase 60 items, but split into 6 person and pay in 6 bill. They cannot fault you. But for your case, you have 15 items, although you have 2 person together, but did you split them up. If not, you are wrong. The counter girl is doing her job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 (edited) why is express counters express? is so when everyone can come and go fast with the stipulated number of items fast making everyone buying little items to be able to make payment fast..it is fustrating that when you want to buy only a loaf of gardenia bread and see such a long queue at the express counter, it makes no difference at all whether queueing at the regular queue or queueing at the express counter...how often do I see unreasonably long queues at the express counter due to some shoppers abusing the system? some cashiers dun even uphold the rule and let anyone make payment with items more than the stipulated..imo, I think even 10 items is too much...it should be reduced to 6 items...I rem in the past, it is less than 10 items for the express counter..and yes, queue together for same couple to buy more than the stipulated number of items is fine but only if bill separately..tat's how I see it..if queue together and still pay together, it really is just conveniently trying exploit the system.. Edited February 13, 2009 by Damienic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clarence07 Neutral Newbie February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 It's 10 or less item. Regardless your are together with wife or not. It's not 10 or less per person. Collectively you have exceed the number. Will taking another empty basket and splitting the items among the 2 baskets helped? In that case, we clearly will not be 'morally' wrong. But must we be so inflexible and rigid thinking to do extra things for show when it actually doesn't benefit anybody? I have to make the effort to take a extra basket, shopper deprived of a extra basket on busy day, supermarket worker has to clear 1 extra basket, just because I need to be 'morally' right? No, don't do that, as it won't improve the speed. What would benefit more people is you and your wife go a queue in the non-express counter. I think perhaps to placate everybody, that is what I will have to do. Take extra baskets, and bring my kids to make mockery of the rule, haha. Of course, must also pay separately lah. You already make a mockery of the system. The express lane was slowed down while it was your turn to pay. You could have helped the system if you could just go to the non-express lane. The result would be the people behind you would not be unhappy, and that's what the system is about. I agree with your view and as all accountants like to say its a matter of 'substance over form' :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 This is what is called as bending the rules, not breaking the rules Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 A retard will never realise he is retarded. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 (edited) i dun see a problem with 2 person sharing 15 items. however if it was myself, i would use 2 baskets and put equal items in each. upon reaching the i'll tell them to put items together. Bill separately if it makes the cashier's life easier. Theres no need to entertain the auntie/uncles queuing behind you who give you black face. Its either they wait or they can argue with you on the spot and waste more time. This is like the tissue-paper-chop-table issue. one pack of tissue chop 1 table of 4 seats acceptable? IMO 1 pack = 1 seat. The express counter is machiam like lane 1 on the expressway, TS is the road hogger is that lane trying to bend the rule. Technically he is right, but he disrupt the purpose of that lane, that is to be fast moving and clear out fast. He can argue like a lawyer and may even win in his argument. But the net result is he has disrupt the real purpose of having the counter and had slow down the queue. He alone gain at the expense of the those genuine people with less item. He cause unhappiness to all the people who participate in the express lane, which most proably he would heck care heeding your advise. Edited February 13, 2009 by Ender Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Most of us who do grocery in supermarkets will know about express checkout counters which limit items purchased to less than 10 to speed up buying process. Recently my wife and I were in a hurry and used a express counter when we have about 15 items with us. The counter girl at first refused to serve us, pointing that there are more than 10 items. Then my wife insisted that there are 2 of us, and she could split the items equally so that it is less than 10 items for each person. The counter girl obliged unwillingly with a black face, so do some of the faces in the queue. I just wonder if it is improper for us to do that? If there are 2 of us, and we have less than 20 items among us, then aren't we eligible to use the express counter? Couldn't we instruct the counter person to split the items so that we are not breaking the 'law'? What is your opinion? I know there is no right or wrong. Just want to know how rampant is the practice. They you should queue separately and also pay separately, with items in different baskets. If you put the items together and pay together, it means more than 10. Imagine I go to counter with 30 items and say split into 3 lor, the express queue is not about real right and wrong. It is about being considerate. Obviously you have more than 10 items ma, at least people will not be so pissed off if pay and queue separately. But to do it like that you are asking for it la..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Thanks for your point of view. But I frankly do not think I am in the wrong. Imagine there are 2 of us, me and my wife, and we have been queing together to pay for the items. Then I cannot understand why we are not allowed to use the counter since we are both in the queue and it is less than the stipulated quantity? Will taking another empty basket and splitting the items among the 2 baskets helped? In that case, we clearly will not be 'morally' wrong. But must we be so inflexible and rigid thinking to do extra things for show when it actually doesn't benefit anybody? I have to make the effort to take a extra basket, shopper deprived of a extra basket on busy day, supermarket worker has to clear 1 extra basket, just because I need to be 'morally' right? I think perhaps to placate everybody, that is what I will have to do. Take extra baskets, and bring my kids to make mockery of the rule, haha. Of course, must also pay separately lah. Bro, technically you are right, but that's about all. But what is the purpose of express lane? Is to allow those who have lesser items to pay and get out quickly. You can get the technical aspect correct, by splitting the items between you and your wife and pay seperately. But it defeats the purpose of having an express lane, which is to clear shoppers quickly. In fact, by doing so, you slow down the queue if there were others in the queue. Only thing that was okay about your situation, is that you mentioned there was no other people there. So I'm not going to fault you. But I sincerely hope if there are people queuing, and you have more than the stated number of goods, please spare a thought for others and use the regular lanes. By doing so, you can help to make this world a less stressful place to live for everybody. Ok? Peace bro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 so where is TS now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Thanks for your point of view. But I frankly do not think I am in the wrong. Imagine there are 2 of us, me and my wife, and we have been queing together to pay for the items. Then I cannot understand why we are not allowed to use the counter since we are both in the queue and it is less than the stipulated quantity? Will taking another empty basket and splitting the items among the 2 baskets helped? In that case, we clearly will not be 'morally' wrong. But must we be so inflexible and rigid thinking to do extra things for show when it actually doesn't benefit anybody? I have to make the effort to take a extra basket, shopper deprived of a extra basket on busy day, supermarket worker has to clear 1 extra basket, just because I need to be 'morally' right? I think perhaps to placate everybody, that is what I will have to do. Take extra baskets, and bring my kids to make mockery of the rule, haha. Of course, must also pay separately lah. That is EXACTLY what is wrong with you. You are just farking thinking about yourself, you selfish pr1ck. Get this right - queueing together has nothing to do with the rules. You are thinking only that if you deploy 2 persons to queue up then you are entitled to 10 articles x 2. That is not the rule. The rule is 10 articles per basket per person. NOT 15 articles per basket per couple. Don't try to raise the excuse that you are depriving the supermarket customers of 1 basket. What a farking flimsy and lame excuse. What supermarket has ever run out of baskets? And don't try to be so sympathetic to the cashier, as though processing 1 more basket will cripple her. You are lucky you were not shopping at Giant. The security there knows about tricks from pr1cks like you and they will just tell people like you to fark off and queue elsewhere. It is very clear that you are just a self-righteous short little pr1ck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonllh Neutral Newbie February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 it is like : one day, i queue in front of u in the express lane and only got 1 item. u had 20 items between u and wife. the cashier scanned my purchase and i suddenly realized i have left out a few more. Instead of just settling that one item first, i ask my wifey go grab the remaining 19 items i left out. got 2 of us mah!!! no right no wrong mah!! i queue and IT IS MY TURN and u jolly must wait. express queue never stipulate no waiting and i clever enough to read the rules the way i want. something wrong with this kind of thinking...esp with the part of coming into this forum asking people's opinions but actually forming your own already. with enough sense around here, you won't get many affirmations for your actions unless they are from your own kind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie February 13, 2009 Share February 13, 2009 Sometimes also good to see if there is a long queue behind... at the end of the day, let's not abuse the express counters like we do to lane 1 on the road. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...