Posting to Brunei

Coolpica

Most of the shops close after 7pm. And the night is boring.

They do have a number of coffee house which is their version of "pub" for gatherings.

Beers available at certain Chinese restuarant. Do try their beer serve in tea pot.

Its quite laid back and pace is slow. DVDs only cost between $1-3 only. But electronics price a bit ex. And clothings price almost same as SG.

If looking for night entertainment, you better go and get to know the underground people there.

They can bring you in to their special house basement...Where there are booze and foreign asian chicks.

Dun expect much, it's quite limited and doesn't come cheap.

Ciggies very cheap. On average cost $2.

And they follow their religion rules very strictly. Dun try anything funny.

Thanks for the replies. I'm still considering very carefully to take up the posting. Since I'll be based there fore 3 years, I may be bringing my family along. I've a two year old child. Is it very difficult to find a pre school there? Thanks.

Is it a must to speak Malay over there? I tot the people there can understand English pretty well? If it a must, then I'll need to enroll in some Malay conversational course. :wacko:

Is your friend teaching in an international school or is he employed by the Brunei Government?

Brunei goberment. Another one teaching international school in Riyadh

I don't drink and smoke, so i think it should be ok. But I'm afraid to be posted to some remote part of the country. Haha...

i've had friends who got posted to the brunei army camps during their NS time..if you ask me, that's pretty much the remotest part of brunei you can go..so, unless you kena posted to any of our army camps there, it's still quite ok..

Is it a must to speak Malay over there? I tot the people there can understand English pretty well? If it a must, then I'll need to enroll in some Malay conversational course. :wacko:

most are conversant in English, since medical care and education is free, most try to stay in school till university. Literacy rate for total population is higher than Singapore at 92.7% (2001 census) and 92.5% (2000 census) respectively.

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/th.../bx.html#People

That's right, it's Temburong, if you're Bandar I think it's going to be generally ok. Was there for some short assignment and it's not that remote anymore, think if you like outdoor activities, it's a great place, learn to play golf, nice place to play golf. Go fishing, hiking and stuff. You'll be able to get food till baout 11.00 into the night in some parts BSB.

Edited by Customgolf

If you are looking for an International School/Pre-school/Pri/Sec, I have a friend running a school there, using S'pore syllabus, based in BSB.

PM me if you want to know more.

they have no election like us hor....one hand cover the sky...

At least they treat their citizens better than us, distributing some of their wealth to the people. Ours would rather throw away the money at foreign companies than distribute to its citizens