Posting to Brunei

Coolpica

Company just informed me that I may be posted to Brunei. However, I do not know much about the country. Can some kind souls here pls tell me more about the life in Brunei? I heard that the pace is slower than in Singapore and that is nothing much to do at night unlike Singapore whereby we have 24 hours coffee joints and eateries. Thank you for all your inputs.

well, it is a safe country so not to worry abt safety for ur family. anything u want can all be found "underground" as long as u have the $$$$ and more importantly knowing the right people....

I have been to saudi for the past 1 yr and i find that life is saudi is peaceful and less stressful as compared to SG so i just treat my biz trip to saudi as a holiday.. [:p] ... take note that saudi is more strict in their law as compared to Brunei... [lipsrsealed]

anyway alot depends on ur mentality and living to the fullest based on wat the country can offer.... [flowerface]

Edited by Newbie_driver

Is there any cable or satellite TV over there? At least with that, life can be a bit more bearable. [sweatdrop]

Yes, you can install Astro...

If you want more funs, just drive to Limbang or Miri....

Car and petrol are very cheap, no OMV/GST/COE....

Income Tax is 0%....

If you drive, make sure to give way to cars with no license plate....

I'm prepared that the pace will be slow. However, as I'm going with my family members, I hope to gather more information. [:)]

maybe you can go there alone first, explore the place and settle down. Then bring your family over so that the transition for them is less stressful and u be the commando.

well, it is a safe country so not to worry abt safety for ur family. anything u want can all be found "underground" as long as u have the $$$$ and more importantly knowing the right people....

I have been to saudi for the past 1 yr and i find that life is saudi is peaceful and less stressful as compared to SG so i just treat my biz trip to saudi as a holiday.. [:p] ... take note that saudi is more strict in their law as compared to Brunei... [lipsrsealed]

anyway alot depends on ur mentality and living to the fullest based on wat the country can offer.... [flowerface]

but IIRC, Saudi has diff set of rules governing locals and foreigners..esp in the male-to-female relationship and sex equality part..

Yes, you can install Astro...

If you want more funs, just drive to Limbang or Miri....

Car and petrol are very cheap, no OMV/GST/COE....

Income Tax is 0%....

If you drive, make sure to give way to cars with no license plate....

You can do better than Astro, u can have that giant dish

that picks up 100 channels from Europe n US.

Limbang n Miri - lots of women and alcohol, cheap too if you like that sort of thing.

If I am not wrong direct flights to Hong Kong too.

brunei is near to KK also so you can travel to KK for holiday.. its not tat bad there.. depends on what your looking for.. got 3 storey DVD shop.. all pirated.. if you go to gadung got small malls to wall around.. got tim sum oso... and yes.. beers are in tea pots.. haha.. but its not hard to get underground ones and its not that expensive too.

Was attached to Brunei during my active NS for 14 months in BSB (1995 to 96), come back straight away ORD [laugh]

All i can say like the rest of the bros mentioned, its SUPER DUPER Boring.. so dont have high expectation when you are there. If you are those who like to cheong one, you may find time in Brunei very sian and super slow to move on in life. When i came back after 14 mths, i noticed that the speed of my walking compared to my friends were slowed down by at least 30%.. perhaps its the Brunei lifestyle that changed me ba! I have no regret that i have spent my 14 mths there and it is really a good place to force you to save $$ if you are those who are quick in $$ output elsewhere.

However if its the opposite, you will realize that you will enjoy the lay back speed of life. Driving in Brunei is also very stressfree and please dont use horn too much hor when driving.. Using horn meaning you are trying to get into a fight or so.. refrain that.. Particular true if you are chinese.. Some how Cheena in Brunei considered 2nd class citizen.. so LL suck thumb ok..

Explore the nature of Brunei and you will be amazed that such sites do exist.. During Hari Raya, pay a visit to Sultan palace and kiss his hand for guys.. Ladies will be diverted to another room where they greet the queen/princess.. But note, during that day, expect humongous foreign workers there as Sultan provides free food for those who visit him in his palace.. Its a life time experience to me though. Children gets angbao.. Adults get door gifts..

Having said that, although a very strict muslim country, if you have connections, underground activities are fun.. haha.. [thumbsup]

ps: not sure the chinese supermarket - Hua Hin is still there or not..

Edited by Trd_rg

However if its the opposite, you will realize that you will enjoy the lay back speed of life. Driving in Brunei is also very stressfree and please dont use horn too much hor when driving.. Using horn meaning you are trying to get into a fight or so.. refrain that.. Particular true if you are chinese.. Some how Cheena in Brunei considered 2nd class citizen.. so LL suck thumb ok..

Yup, if you're a Chinese born in Brunei, you are stateless....you are not given a passport! You can only be a PR there with an International Certificate which allows international travel. Only the "bumiputras" are given Brunei statehood, or if you are Chinese, you will have to know which Government official to bribe to get the coveted passport.

Why coveted? Healthcare, free for life, education, free for life (including overseas study and post grad), entitlement to buy land and property.

That's why you see a lot of Brunei-Chinese here in Singapore, it's the only way they can get a passport!