Blackyv Turbocharged March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 Yeah ... Relating to a topic ...while washing my car some times back ...I saw a VERY old Lok Kok Van drives up (So lok kok you can see the van colour fading from red to pink ..Rust all over) ... Bascially can see all sorts of h/w equipment inside like ladders , wires , machines etc ) .. A skinny man ...typical uncle style ...Tanned...wear bermudas ...slippers ... normal shirt ...Alighted ...Locked the door And then next thing I saw ... Is the new BMW 7 Series next to it went beep beep ...Uncle open door and drove off ... I was like ... umm.... i also know one uncle, the owner of a zhi cha stall (business is always good), his appearance is like average uncle, no fancy watches, no branded shirts or pants and always with slippers....if u see him at his stall, u might thought he is the table cleaning uncle since he dress like one..... but hor, he is rich is all i can say (of cause not those super rich but cash rich for sure......).. few years ago, when he bought his camry, the agent just drop by his stall to show him the catalog and he decide on the color and sign on the dotted line..wait for delivery..... he didnt even bother to drop by showroom or test drive..(isnt that is the typical uncle who always trust and believes in toyota brand ... ).. recently, he change his car to merc.. not those high end merc but a c-class (because he wanted to try out merc since all the years, he only drive toyota... he is not those who like to flash his wealth type ...) and did i mention earlier, he always buy car in cash?....i also heard he is looking around for landed recentlly...... so far, he has been living in hdb... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 Just visit those delicious food stalls at night along gaylang....you will see many so called mismatched owners and cars. Also visit some night spots with carparks nearby....st james...also many mismatched type. My personnal experience....of so called mistmatch car and owner (well not really owner by owner's son perhaps) Last time when young....I like to hang out Holland V with friends. One fine evening, saw one boy dyed golden hair, skinny young guy, around 14yrs++, with orange comb sticking out his valentino jeans, and wearing a burberry polo-T, carrying a jean paul guatier wallet.......sitting opposite me at coffee bean. Super typical Chow-ah-beng look and action. Soon one nice looking Rolls Royce drove up alongside coffee bean, out came a cap wearing Ahmad......opened the rear door.......and in went this chow-ah-beng boy! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 Yeah ... Relating to a topic ...while washing my car some times back ...I saw a VERY old Lok Kok Van drives up (So lok kok you can see the van colour fading from red to pink ..Rust all over) ... Bascially can see all sorts of h/w equipment inside like ladders , wires , machines etc ) .. A skinny man ...typical uncle style ...Tanned...wear bermudas ...slippers ... normal shirt ...Alighted ...Locked the door And then next thing I saw ... Is the new BMW 7 Series next to it went beep beep ...Uncle open door and drove off ... I was like ... contractors usually during work and off work time, they like transformer like that...totally different one.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 (edited) You see the problem here is not the mismatched car to owner but the way everyone is viewing car ownership. Own Car = "Rich", "Well to do", "Status" I can't agree with you more. This syndrome is even more pronounced in the OPC vs non-OPC threads Edited March 20, 2009 by Rickster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 Not impt, its wether the driver handsome or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampgen Neutral Newbie March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 Acutally these situation are very common sight nowadays, There is a lot of ppl in singapore with own "small" biz but is very cash rich. Some dun even bank in to prevent being taxed... it is up to own individual. No doubt it is surprising to see such situation it is equally opposite as well. I have a friend's father who owns 5 market stalls selling dry & sundry goods. Stays in a 5 room HDB (Simple renovation), drives a picanto and very down to earth person. Although you will see him like anyone on the road, but he is very generous with his money on food. Every week without fail he will bring my friend and i to enjoy fine dining. Fully sponsered by him. haha So it does not mean driving small car means that he is not very well to do. It is just up to individual and what is their targets in life :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 My boss who earns nearly $30k a month, drives a Kia Picanto. Manual some more... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Irene Neutral Newbie March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 My boss who earns nearly $30k a month, drives a Kia Picanto. Manual some more... Wah ur boss dunno how to enjoy his money... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 agree, its up to individual's wants and needs usually i notice uncles are v chim cai when come to $...seen some drive lao po car but asset super rich (property tax 1-2 million few landed kind) and some when come to food, wont spare a thought how much one (1 10 course can spend 2k+ just for that shiokness).. seriously if can choose,i also want to be non flashy kind..but cant sia...still bo that standard.. force to be non flashy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mingsect 5th Gear March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 I think the TS meant low-paying jobs instead. Hawkers driving expensive cars is possible - but only for those really successful hawkers, which are far & few between. hawker is a very general term. but one thing for sure, selling food can really make big $$ if the business is good last week went to the ba ku tei. at havelock road. the boss's ride , touareg r50 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 electrician is a layman term but there are many sub-specialisation. Do you know for sure what he does ? It can range from household electrical jobs to hydro-electric/nuclear/power-generation. To the layman, he's just an 'electrician' ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear March 20, 2009 Author Share March 20, 2009 electrician is a layman term but there are many sub-specialisation. Do you know for sure what he does ? It can range from household electrical jobs to hydro-electric/nuclear/power-generation. To the layman, he's just an 'electrician' ...... No, this one i'm talking about is a "normal" electrician doing simple cabling type of job. We both serve the same customer. I think those that you mentioned are usually called power or electrical engineers la.... certified ones are called PE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 IIRC Ikea Boss in SG driving a hyundai accent should be elantra... it was reported in the papers some years back Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 The most mismatch car and driver should be those feeding the car more than they feed themselves and empty their bank account every month looking forward eagerly for their salary to be banked in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 My boss who earns nearly $30k a month, drives a Kia Picanto. Manual some more... Ur boss need godson or not? Can recommend me??? U going to chalet next week or not?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 Ur boss need godson or not? Can recommend me??? U going to chalet next week or not?? My VP drive a renault kangoo...... one of his executives drives a golf GTI.... such disparity.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear March 20, 2009 Author Share March 20, 2009 Not impt, its wether the driver handsome or not. So u mean handsome guys should not drive cute cars cos mistach? Then I better don't drive Picanto. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 Ur boss need godson or not? Can recommend me??? U going to chalet next week or not?? MY boss is a really fcuking miser, the most stingy person i met in my life. Work here so long he only treat us once.. Dat time performed well for our dept. He treated us ice cream from Swensen's. He told us must remember this treat for the rest of our lives.siao. Remembered a time, he came back after the weekend & say wah..eat in town expensive..but I managed to find a stall selling $1 fried kway teow.. Think he gg to bury all his $$ together with him in the grave. Anyway im gg.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...