Prata Neutral Newbie March 25, 2009 Share March 25, 2009 Hi, pick up my Superb today... to my surprise, the 16" tyres were Michelin Energy instead of the usual ContiSportContact 2!!! ; furthermore the tyres had a YOM of 2508!! Demands to change to CSC2 were not met - instead they offered to "top-up" any difference if i trade-in at LS tyres. But... frankly, it din work out...:( Just wondering if i'm the only one with Michelin tyres?? sighz... my journey with Harvest has just started with a dent... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear March 25, 2009 Share March 25, 2009 Noticed that VW also has issue providing the same tires we see in their showroom, Remember a SE there told me that when the shipment arrive it can be continental, michelin or even KUMHO?! But any way its good they offer to change yours for no charge. It would be best if they can bring it further by getting the tires ready for swapping during your first service; to relief the hassle of travelling and waiting at LS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky_ster Clutched March 26, 2009 Share March 26, 2009 It's should be within their control... what they can do is do a quick update on their database.. what tyre attach to what car.. and save this trouble... Otherwise, just swap it with the showroom unit laa... why the hassle.. Anyway Michelin Energy is good tyre anyway.... if dun like... then go on and upgrade and bill them the diff la.. .. me? I dun bother.. just upgraded the whatever tyre they give me to RE001... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prata Neutral Newbie March 26, 2009 Author Share March 26, 2009 here's the catch... LS does not carry any CSC2s!! :( that's why i said it din really work out... dunno how LS calculate, i still need to top-up myself for other decent 16" UHP tyres - so in the end, i had to fork out approx 1k to get a set of 17" GTI rims with CSC2s... (those trade-in ones...) "nice stunt" to get me sign on the acceptance letter... oh well... just my luck i guess.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prata Neutral Newbie March 26, 2009 Author Share March 26, 2009 they foot the diff?? no leh... as my previous post - i still need to top-up myself for other decent UHPs... :( It's should be within their control... what they can do is do a quick update on their database.. what tyre attach to what car.. and save this trouble... Otherwise, just swap it with the showroom unit laa... why the hassle.. Anyway Michelin Energy is good tyre anyway.... if dun like... then go on and upgrade and bill them the diff la.. .. me? I dun bother.. just upgraded the whatever tyre they give me to RE001... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic March 26, 2009 Share March 26, 2009 you mean at point of purchase the SE told you that CSC2 tyres will be given ? seriously, I've never checked what tyres I've been given for all my cars so far. But my A4 came with CSC though ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear March 26, 2009 Share March 26, 2009 Hi, pick up my Superb today... to my surprise, the 16" tyres were Michelin Energy instead of the usual ContiSportContact 2!!! ; furthermore the tyres had a YOM of 2508!! Demands to change to CSC2 were not met - instead they offered to "top-up" any difference if i trade-in at LS tyres. But... frankly, it din work out...:( Just wondering if i'm the only one with Michelin tyres?? sighz... my journey with Harvest has just started with a dent... Bro to my understanding u did say they willing to top up the difference.... Funny tot LS carry most tires in market. Aiyo for me, Michelin energy are good, I'll just ask them to top up the difference in cash. Superb is a cruiser not racer, so no point for UHP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prata Neutral Newbie March 26, 2009 Author Share March 26, 2009 just too bad, they din have CSCs yesterday leh... oh well, it's over now... just thought that new buyers should be made aware of it.. Bro to my understanding u did say they willing to top up the difference.... Funny tot LS carry most tires in market. Aiyo for me, Michelin energy are good, I'll just ask them to top up the difference in cash. Superb is a cruiser not racer, so no point for UHP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prata Neutral Newbie March 26, 2009 Author Share March 26, 2009 i was told WYSIWYG... (What I See Is What I Get)... showroom's superb are all on CSCs 2... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WarScourge Neutral Newbie March 26, 2009 Share March 26, 2009 (edited) I just googled and found this site: Tyres Comparison I noticed that Michellin Energy tyres comes up top in 2 categories: Best Summer Tyres for Passenger Cars & Best All Season Tyres for Passenger Cars. Seems to me Michellin tyres are really good tyres for passenger cars. Edited March 26, 2009 by WarScourge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonhigh Neutral Newbie March 26, 2009 Share March 26, 2009 Hi, pick up my Superb today... to my surprise, the 16" tyres were Michelin Energy instead of the usual ContiSportContact 2!!! ; furthermore the tyres had a YOM of 2508!! Demands to change to CSC2 were not met - instead they offered to "top-up" any difference if i trade-in at LS tyres. But... frankly, it din work out...:( Just wondering if i'm the only one with Michelin tyres?? sighz... my journey with Harvest has just started with a dent... Hi Bro, firstly i would like to thank u for giving me a chance to be of service to u. I would like to extend my apologies to u if this incident had caused u any grievances. I would like to clarify that we(SE) did not know there were some differences of tyres brands in the first place,mainly Continental Sprt Contact2 and Michelin Energy tyres,as all vehicles' tyres were supplied by the principal,in other words factory fitted,which us(HA)can't keep it in control. Actually both brands were of excellent build quality,maybe the difference is like what u had quoted as UHP for the Continental CSC,if u look in the web,the Michelin Energy has a series of high performance tyres too,and the CSC is only Y rated. As a customer point of view,u had your rights to disagree on that and we had provided u the best solution we can come up for u,which is to top up the balance if any,but do trust us that we are trying our best to assist u in any ways u needed. Anyway,since u stay so near must come and blanja me kopi whenever u free k??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonhigh Neutral Newbie March 26, 2009 Share March 26, 2009 i was told WYSIWYG... (What I See Is What I Get)... showroom's superb are all on CSCs 2... U are right bro...thats what we thought so too as the Superb is 'factory fitted'...i am actually quite relieved that they did not throw in Yoko or Bridgestone or even Kumho tyres instead Everything aside...i think u should go for the Prodrive rims if u can afford to...u definitely won't regret Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prata Neutral Newbie March 26, 2009 Author Share March 26, 2009 mahahaha... if Kumho then HA should give instant rebate.. :P anyway, as i mentioned, case closed liao... i do appreciate your efforts thus far... cannot afford the prodrive rims lah... costs an arm and leg man.. U are right bro...thats what we thought so too as the Superb is 'factory fitted'...i am actually quite relieved that they did not throw in Yoko or Bridgestone or even Kumho tyres instead Everything aside...i think u should go for the Prodrive rims if u can afford to...u definitely won't regret Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonhigh Neutral Newbie March 26, 2009 Share March 26, 2009 mahahaha... if Kumho then HA should give instant rebate.. :P anyway, as i mentioned, case closed liao... i do appreciate your efforts thus far... cannot afford the prodrive rims lah... costs an arm and leg man.. Bro...why not go to the tyre shop which i told u and get him to quote the trade in price of your GTi rims and the Prodrive Rims??? U might get a better deal over LS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged March 26, 2009 Share March 26, 2009 Do you have pictures of the prodrive rims? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Echelon 3rd Gear March 26, 2009 Share March 26, 2009 Are you the one with the new Blue Superb collecting at Exklusiv showroom yesterday? I was the guy with Superb I - silver went to the workshop to check on something, I went pretty close to your car, wanted to say but can see you were busy. Great car, I want to change too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funkyjazz Neutral Newbie March 26, 2009 Share March 26, 2009 i was told WYSIWYG... (What I See Is What I Get)... showroom's superb are all on CSCs 2... Haha!!! Welcome to HA or CA world. I experience similiar frustration 1 year ago when I collected my Superb. The SE promised me a lot of things. At the end, when I collected the car, a lot of things are not done. So the SE excuse is the Pre-delivery manager don't allow this and that..... SE cannot over rude him....blah blah...! As chinese saying, change soup but don't change medicine.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonhigh Neutral Newbie March 26, 2009 Share March 26, 2009 (edited) Hmmm...there's various of models available. U can go to this site for a sneal peek...http://www.prodrive.com/products_level1.ht...&category=7 Edited March 26, 2009 by Jonhigh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...