3M

Ahdi

I got Meguiars PlastX from autobacs bkt batok this afternoon and tried it on my headlamps but not very effective leh ... i polish for around 3mins and the bluring still there thou it did make e surface shinier.

Im wondering if my bluring is from e inside of the headlamp ... Btw, i read on some web pages that if u polish headlamp, need to use a sealant or coating after if not the bluring will come back even faster than before, any idea about that?

No idea. I didn't put anything else on top on it. Yours might be from inside.

I just polish the front and it's much clearer.

Also I had to remove quite a bit of scratches from my visors.

Okie den in that case tmr i'll pry open my headlamp and try to polish e inside ...

GalantSpeed, its for plastic materials. If u are using polycarbonate windscreen n windows den can. If glass cant.

Edited by Ahdi

thanks. looking to find something to clean my windows. Any suggestions? beside Mama lemon and newspaper.

And if you want to pry open your headlamp, you got to be careful, most headlamps that are pried open are prone to condensation on the inside cause it is not airtight anymore especially when it rains, very irritating. Even if workshop do it, there is no guarantee.

Can try glaco range of glass cleaning products. Not bad imo ... used it a few times, always happy with e results. Can buy @ most accessories shop. Autobacs n stamford got sell too.

I think if really got condensation i also have to live with it ba cuz the blurring is already quite jialat ... its almost like frosting ... much worst than condensation imo haha

Edited by Ahdi

Can it be use on the windcreen and windows?

PlastX is for polishing plastic. It's like very, very fine grit sandpaper.

So it might not be strong enough for windscreen, but I think I'm going to try it soon.

Some scratches there are bothering me too. [rolleyes]

Some people recommend 3m micro fine sanding sponge available at Stamford and Autobacs for glass polishing.

I used it also, but it wears out quite fast.

j5auc1.jpg

Oh crap i saw this @ autobacs today but i didnt buy them. I tot it was too rough for plastics ... should have just grab a couple n test it out.

Just read thru the some DIY on taking out the headlamps ... omg its quite troublesome .... need to remove the entire bumper. Guess i'll go about it tmr morning.

Any tips about how to pry open the headlamp? Read that headlamps come with an adhesive for sealing. Need to put in oven to bake it to soften the adhesive. omg sounds scary ... will my plastic get worst in e oven? scarly my headlamp melt in the oven ... lol

Oh crap i saw this @ autobacs today but i didnt buy them. I tot it was too rough for plastics ... should have just grab a couple n test it out.

Just read thru the some DIY on taking out the headlamps ... omg its quite troublesome .... need to remove the entire bumper. Guess i'll go about it tmr morning.

Any tips about how to pry open the headlamp? Read that headlamps come with an adhesive for sealing. Need to put in oven to bake it to soften the adhesive. omg sounds scary ... will my plastic get worst in e oven? scarly my headlamp melt in the oven ... lol

Ya me too thinking to take out the lamp housing but really troublesome. My headlamp housing kana condensation inside, if not i will dismantle, dry inside and re-seal entire hosing again.

Anyone know where can buy new lamp housing? roughly how much per pcs?

yah im using the 3M microfine sponge also...good for cleaning windscreen... [thumbsup]

PlastX is for polishing plastic. It's like very, very fine grit sandpaper.

So it might not be strong enough for windscreen, but I think I'm going to try it soon.

Some scratches there are bothering me too. [rolleyes]

Some people recommend 3m micro fine sanding sponge available at Stamford and Autobacs for glass polishing.

I used it also, but it wears out quite fast.

If you use the 3m sanding sponge, be careful. It might be too rough for plastic.

You can try on a small unnoticeable portion first.

And always use it wet.

It's quite difficult to take out the headlamp.

You need a heater gun trained on the glue beneath the plastic.

As it melts, you slowly move a bit out at a time.

Unfortunately, it's not a job, I would want to diy.

I myself would use a rotary machine, with a 4 inch polishing pad to do it. Not necessary PlastX, some polishing paste like Meg DACP also will do the job, what ever works and see what you have in the inventory.

got 1 is plastic polish and 1 is plastic cleaner. i got the plastic polish. able to clear off the yellowish substances. autobacs got liao..i think 14/bottle. 250ml if i not wrong