Vroomtattat 2nd Gear April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 About 2 weeks ago, I was behind a 3 tonner - double L plate, somewher inside Kaki Bukit. I just watched that fella mounted a curb and almost hit a fire hydrant. I think whoever the instructor inside must had a field day scolding the trainee driver. Luckily nobody and nothing was damaged, only that both left wheels of the vehicle was on the pedestrain walkway. I make it a point to either stay far behind or quickly overtake these vehicles. double "L" plate means driver undergoing test?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 i saw V200 driving around yishun ring road before!! that's my unit..or rather NSF unit..decamped from khatib to "somewhere near" now NS unit is M-yell-yell-san hope I am not contravening anything Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drumstick Clutched April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 The manual gear 3 tonner is the old mercedes truck which is no longer in use. I remember I use that for my SAF driving test. . The Fiat 3 Tonner is the same as the 5-tonner MAN truck both is auto gear different is 5-ton air conditioned and no SWD but got stupid speed limitator that restrict the speed to 50km/h. Eh??? I tot Iveco 3 ton is MT??? Got auto 1 meh?? Last time at KBC, when learning...I would say it's a crash course. Coz you will have to start from a total newbie to be able to drive a class 4 vehicle in about 1 mth time... its really damn tight schedule and each day only about 100mins of driving. Rest of the time is either parking or lesson. Still remember the time when on HS code...take toy car and gotta explain all steps and procedure... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waterh2o 4th Gear April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 Eh??? I tot Iveco 3 ton is MT??? Got auto 1 meh?? Last time at KBC, when learning...I would say it's a crash course. Coz you will have to start from a total newbie to be able to drive a class 4 vehicle in about 1 mth time... its really damn tight schedule and each day only about 100mins of driving. Rest of the time is either parking or lesson. Still remember the time when on HS code...take toy car and gotta explain all steps and procedure... Maybe I remebered wrongly but definitely the manual type is the very old mercedes truck with the thin steering wheel which is the one that i used for SAF driving test in 1993. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 mine was 2 weeks but i think the offroad portion is dammm guniang the 3 tonner can take much much more punishment from offroading and floods just look at the air intake, it is so dman high i think the driver drown, the tonner still havent drown Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear April 10, 2009 Share April 10, 2009 do the pte instructors still "big /small voice" to the trainees ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched April 10, 2009 Share April 10, 2009 Eh??? I tot Iveco 3 ton is MT??? Got auto 1 meh?? Last time at KBC, when learning...I would say it's a crash course. Coz you will have to start from a total newbie to be able to drive a class 4 vehicle in about 1 mth time... its really damn tight schedule and each day only about 100mins of driving. Rest of the time is either parking or lesson. Still remember the time when on HS code...take toy car and gotta explain all steps and procedure... Now old 3 ton replace by 5 ton. 5 tonner is Auto gear, aircon and infront can seat 3 person include driver. If i not wrong also got cruise control. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ara84 2nd Gear April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 wah really bring back memories for me. had to take the toy car test twice. 1st time failed cause tester complain tat my car not keeping in lane during round about. those were the gd old days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Incom 1st Gear April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 Now old 3 ton replace by 5 ton. 5 tonner is Auto gear, aircon and infront can seat 3 person include driver. If i not wrong also got cruise control. Training is still using 3 tonner, no aircon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Incom 1st Gear April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 over e past few mths, been seeing quite a no. of 3 tonners running ard pasir ris estate. It seems PR has become a driving circuit for them.....c also sian . i thot in my days of NS, military veh r not allowed to dr into residential est??? The SAF driving centre is near the UBI vicom. Training route in bedok, tampines and pasir ris area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 Now still got "big small voice" lar but cannot scold lao bei lao bu. SAF taking it very serious.! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Incom 1st Gear April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 do the pte instructors still "big /small voice" to the trainees ? Most kao peh instructor is the one teaching reverse parking for 3 tonner. I guess most vehicle instructors are the same, "big/small voice" to trainees. Mine threaten that my civilian driving license might get revoke if I do not drive properly on the very first day. My reply, i would record the conversation and wrote a complain letter up to his superior. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Incom 1st Gear April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 i agree i recently go for the conversion course the 3 tonner is realy very hard to drive many many blind spots the weight of vehicle makes it difficult to move off and stop (don do brake stunts in front of 3 tonner ) driving one gives me no pleasure it was like operating a machinery i did drive to pasir ris driving is ok after a while. The reverse parking more siong. If the weather is hot, my uniform gets drenched after 1 round of reverse parking. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 Now aday the SAF driving instructor is from SAF? watch them wearing white uniform. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 over e past few mths, been seeing quite a no. of 3 tonners running ard pasir ris estate. It seems PR has become a driving circuit for them.....c also sian . i thot in my days of NS, military veh r not allowed to dr into residential est??? Military vehicles not allowed in residential estate? 1st time i'm hearing this. Maybe many years ago, is it? Then those camps situated in residential estates how? Vehicles get heli-underslung into and out of camp? Haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 Now aday the SAF driving instructor is from SAF? watch them wearing white uniform. They have been wearing that for more than 10 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 They have been wearing that for more than 10 years. During my time in year 1990, those driving instructor are still wearing SAF uniform. I think they are on longer under SAF regular liao. They have outsource to private just like the cook house. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 When I was learning the 3 tonner last time, I had to use 2 hands to engage the reverse gear.. luckily the forward gear are easier a bit. And I am one of those who got gold in IPPT, can do more than 15 chin up, etc.. After each lesson, the wrist really hurts.. You are right.. No driving pleasure haha.. And the brakes.. Step hard and you can send yourself flying if you forget to buckle the seatbelt.. Not hard enough and the monster will take forever to stop.. Took myself 10 minutes to get used to it.. That was when I missed Civic so much.. Not forgetting that the gear will pop out sometimes...Still 3 tonner is nothing compared to my 7 tonner back in seletar camp...that one is really a monster to drive!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...