Kezg1 5th Gear April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 Someone sent this to me this morning and I thought it is good to know about it...... Every body should read this... > > > > I have used an onion which has been left in the fridge, and sometimes > > I don't use a whole one at one time, so save the other half for later. > > Now with this info, I have changed my mind....will buy smaller onions > > in the future... > > > > Written by Zola Gorgon - author of several cookbooks.. > > Watch out for those spoiled onions... > > > > > > I had the > > wonderful privilege of touring Mullins Food Products, makers of > > mayonnaise. Mullins is huge, and is owned by 11 brothers and sisters > > in the Mullins family. My friend, Jeanne, is the CEO. > > > > Questions about food poisoning came up, and I wanted to share what I > > learned from a chemist. > > > > The guy who gave us our tour is named Ed. He's one of the brothers. > > Ed is a chemistry expert and is involved in developing most of the > > sauce formula. He's even developed sauce formula for McDonald's. > > > > Keep in mind that Ed is a food chemistry whiz. During the tour, > > someone asked if we really needed to worry about mayonnaise. People > > are always worried that mayonnaise will spoil. Ed's answer will > > surprise you. > > Ed said that all commercially-made Mayo is completely safe. > > > > "It doesn't even have to be refrigerated. No harm in refrigerating it, > > but it's not really necessary." He explained that the pH in > > mayonnaise is set at a point that bacteria could not survive in that > > environment. He then talked about the quint essential picnic, with > > the bowl of potato salad sitting on the table and how everyone blames > > the mayonnaise when someone gets sick. > > > > Ed says that when food poisoning is reported, the first thing the > > officials look for is when the 'victim' last ate ONIONS and where > > those onions came from (in the potato salad?). Ed says it's not the > > mayonnaise (as long as it's not homemade Mayo) that spoils in the > > outdoors. It's probably the onions, and if > > not the onions, it's the > > POTATOES. > > > > He explained, onions are a huge magnet for bacteria, especially > > uncooked onions. You should never plan to keep a portion of a sliced > > onion. He says it's not even safe if you put it in a zip-lock bag and > > put it in your refrigerator. > > It's already > > contaminated enough just by being cut > > open and out for a bit, that it can > > be a danger to you (and doubly watch out for those onions you put in > > your hotdogs at the baseball park!) > > > > Ed says if you take the leftover onion and cook it like crazy you'll > > probably be okay, but if you slice that leftover onion and put on your > > sandwich, you're asking for trouble. Both the onions and the moist > > potato in a potato salad, will attract and grow bacteria faster than > > any commercial mayonnaise will even begin to break down. > > > > So, how's that for news? Take it for what you will. I (the author) am > > going to be very careful about my onions from now on. For some reason, > > I see a lot of credibility coming from a chemist and a company, that > > produces millions of pounds of mayonnaise every year.' > > > > Also, dogs should never eat onions. Their stomachs cannot metabolise > > onions. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scenic98 Clutched April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 i always like my satay with slices of onions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 Hmmm.............. Indian rojak also uses alot of onions..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 Even Burger King uses lots of onions... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 Maybe you should read this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 A very good point. Btw, has any conclusion been arrived for the mass poisoning? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 i always had the impression that creamy n delicious mayo would be the bacteria magnet. now i know... but i'm still gonna leave the opened mayo in the fridge. quite scary, cos i ever re-used onion for salad before. cut half one day and finish the other half the next day. lucky didn't get anything Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Makecar Neutral Newbie July 27, 2009 Share July 27, 2009 If onions are attracting bacteria, where are they coming from? Somewhere else in your fridge? Perhaps it is time to clean the fridge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched July 28, 2009 Share July 28, 2009 If onions are attracting bacteria, where are they coming from? Somewhere else in your fridge? Perhaps it is time to clean the fridge I thought the low temperature in the fridge inhibits and slows down bateria growth? And that onions (or was it garlic?) in itself have antiseptic properties? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 28, 2009 Share July 28, 2009 There are a lot of species of Onions eg. shallots. Is this referred to all onions? Yeah, ppl have been eating satay with shallots or regular onions for ages. The Whopper I eat also has onions in it and I saw them chopped onions stored in plastic containers. And food outlets selling sausages & hotdog also have chopped onions. Mac also have them in their cheeseburgers. Siao liao, I have been eating a whole sh*t load of bacteria. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear July 28, 2009 Share July 28, 2009 The only thing I know about onions is I fart a lot after eating them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detion 1st Gear July 28, 2009 Share July 28, 2009 All the fastfood outlets uses packed precut onion and if this is true then there is alot of food poisoning cases lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear July 28, 2009 Share July 28, 2009 Craps. We have all been eating raw onions left in the open, like those in indian rojak and malay satay for ages and nothing has happened. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched July 28, 2009 Share July 28, 2009 Fact is we all have been eating sh&tloads of bateria since we were born. What does matter is that there are good bateria, and there are bad ones. If there are more bad ones than good ones inside your intestines, you will have more than your fair share of stomach problems. But some bad ones, like E-Coli, Salmonera, can be devastating when in sufficient quantities. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear July 28, 2009 Share July 28, 2009 People like you are the sort who will fall for Nigerian scams. Please lah, use your brain. All you have to do is take a few words unique to the story, like "Zola Gorgon" and then add the word "hoax", then just Google this string of 3 words. This is what you get: http://www.snopes.com/food/tainted/cutonions.asp If you don't already know, Snopes.com is one of the best websites that expose hoaxes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wuluikia Neutral Newbie July 28, 2009 Share July 28, 2009 > > So, how's that for news? Take it for what you will. I (the author) am > > going to be very careful about my onions from now on. For some reason, > > I see a lot of credibility coming from a chemist and a company, that > > produces millions of pounds of mayonnaise every year.' Please read the above carefully. Will someone say bad thing about there own product? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtravagant Clutched July 28, 2009 Share July 28, 2009 wah bro. . you can become a good investigator liao. . . ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...