Twofouronenite 1st Gear May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 Dunno 4 wat reason, when the air con is on, there's a stinky smell. It would go away after a few minutes. Ride is just 6 mths old and problem started after the 3rd or 4 t h mth. The stinky smell is like laundry not being dried properly Any bro/sis got any idea wat's wrong? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myturbo Neutral Newbie May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 Did you turn your temp to ard 24 degree & higher? Another reason is due to condensation in the A/C pipe. When off your engine, the droplet did not dry properly. only 6 mths so better go back to AD & had them to wash your a/c. It's free anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupe07 Neutral Newbie May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 Dunno 4 wat reason, when the air con is on, there's a stinky smell. It would go away after a few minutes. Ride is just 6 mths old and problem started after the 3rd or 4 t h mth. The stinky smell is like laundry not being dried properly Any bro/sis got any idea wat's wrong? did u put ambi pur or any other air freshener and bake ur car under sunlight??? they are the cause of it... to get rid of "nvr hang dry" smell, u have to change ur air con filter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear May 5, 2009 Author Share May 5, 2009 (edited) did u put ambi pur or any other air freshener and bake ur car under sunlight??? they are the cause of it... to get rid of "nvr hang dry" smell, u have to change ur air con filter. Yes, got ambi pur but car not normally and most of the time not park under sunlight. Guess will take out the filter to see how. Did you turn your temp to ard 24 degree & higher? Another reason is due to condensation in the A/C pipe. When off your engine, the droplet did not dry properly. only 6 mths so better go back to AD & had them to wash your a/c. It's free anyway. Sometime air set above 24. That's wat I'm suspecting as well. Edited May 5, 2009 by Twofouronenite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 When I wash my car, I always blast hot air out of the aircon for 15 minutes.... that will always remove any damp smell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hook-Up Neutral Newbie May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 Dunno 4 wat reason, when the air con is on, there's a stinky smell. It would go away after a few minutes. Ride is just 6 mths old and problem started after the 3rd or 4 t h mth. The stinky smell is like laundry not being dried properly Any bro/sis got any idea wat's wrong? Consider 2 change/or try use a air gun 2 blow the air con filter. I have tis exp, my friend actually change his filter every 6 mth.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear May 5, 2009 Author Share May 5, 2009 Consider 2 change/or try use a air gun 2 blow the air con filter. I have tis exp, my friend actually change his filter every 6 mth.. Look like car got no air con filter. So problem shld be water condense in e pipe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 Usually b4 reaching destination,i would off the compressor,let the fan blast the remaining cool air. Would wait untill not so cool then off the engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 No aircon filter for a 6 mths old car? Did you check properly? My 2001 Sunny VIP oso have aircon filter. What car is it? Should have leh. If so, change the aircon filter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hook-Up Neutral Newbie May 7, 2009 Share May 7, 2009 Should have,normally is behind dashtop comparment.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverkris 5th Gear May 7, 2009 Share May 7, 2009 Dunno 4 wat reason, when the air con is on, there's a stinky smell. It would go away after a few minutes. Ride is just 6 mths old and problem started after the 3rd or 4 t h mth. The stinky smell is like laundry not being dried properly Any bro/sis got any idea wat's wrong? Normally this will happen for cars with heater function on their aircon (means the car can on both aircon and heater function). Cars like the lancer glx will have this issue. Add a aircon filter will improve (though not solve) the problem. Lancer glx does NOT comes with the filter. But you can turn off aircon, blast fan full power for 10 min per week to prevent this problem. Other people tried removing the heater function on the aircon (think remove a couple of wiring) also can solve this problem but dun know where is the wiring. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear May 7, 2009 Author Share May 7, 2009 No aircon filter for a 6 mths old car? Did you check properly? My 2001 Sunny VIP oso have aircon filter. What car is it? Should have leh. If so, change the aircon filter. Civic FD1. Neber check ask ard, all the owner say dun have. Should have,normally is behind dashtop comparment.. Yes, was told behind dashboard compartment. Normally this will happen for cars with heater function on their aircon (means the car can on both aircon and heater function). Cars like the lancer glx will have this issue. Add a aircon filter will improve (though not solve) the problem. Lancer glx does NOT comes with the filter. But you can turn off aircon, blast fan full power for 10 min per week to prevent this problem. Other people tried removing the heater function on the aircon (think remove a couple of wiring) also can solve this problem but dun know where is the wiring. I turn temperature to "HI" can feel hot air coming out, so guess have heater. Tried on the air balst for few mintues was better but still a little smell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyeo Clutched May 9, 2009 Share May 9, 2009 Dunno 4 wat reason, when the air con is on, there's a stinky smell. It would go away after a few minutes. Ride is just 6 mths old and problem started after the 3rd or 4 t h mth. The stinky smell is like laundry not being dried properly Any bro/sis got any idea wat's wrong? Hi 'Twofouronenite', if there is an air con gas leak and short of gas, you will get such smell. Such problem can also occur to new cars if not properly installed. Did you manage to get the SE workshop to ascertain the cause/s? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear May 9, 2009 Share May 9, 2009 ur ride should have air con filter... replace the air con filter... recommended change is every 6 months or 10,000 km whichever is earlier i got my filter from this guy....quite cheap also.. u may like to give him a try... http://www.flickr.com/photos/27932872@N06/2603561813/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 9, 2009 Share May 9, 2009 due to dampness of the air con. u got to have this habit: every daily trip, about 3-5 mins before u finally park yr car, turn off the cold air function and let the air con blow normal air, increase yr fan speed to 2 level up. then u can turn it off when u finally parked yr car. this is to get rid of any dampness in the air con system when u are on the road each time. confirm will solve yr problem. another thing, get yrself an air con filter, preferbly with charcoal filter. you can buy from a vendor from this MCf or autobacs (more ex)........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear May 9, 2009 Share May 9, 2009 Civic FD1. Neber check ask ard, all the owner say dun have. Yes, was told behind dashboard compartment. I turn temperature to "HI" can feel hot air coming out, so guess have heater. Tried on the air balst for few mintues was better but still a little smell. FD does not have air con filter so does altis. however there is a slot for it, u jus need to buy the filter n install urself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear May 10, 2009 Author Share May 10, 2009 Hi 'Twofouronenite', if there is an air con gas leak and short of gas, you will get such smell. Such problem can also occur to new cars if not properly installed. Did you manage to get the SE workshop to ascertain the cause/s? If problem still not resolve by next servicing will get KM to take a look. Thks! ur ride should have air con filter... replace the air con filter... recommended change is every 6 months or 10,000 km whichever is earlier i got my filter from this guy....quite cheap also.. u may like to give him a try... http://www.flickr.com/photos/27932872@N06/2603561813/ Maybe will get one, lately very busy. Thks! due to dampness of the air con. u got to have this habit: every daily trip, about 3-5 mins before u finally park yr car, turn off the cold air function and let the air con blow normal air, increase yr fan speed to 2 level up. then u can turn it off when u finally parked yr car. this is to get rid of any dampness in the air con system when u are on the road each time. confirm will solve yr problem. another thing, get yrself an air con filter, preferbly with charcoal filter. you can buy from a vendor from this MCf or autobacs (more ex)........ Keep forgetting, this seem to help a little but did not totally eliminate. Thks ! FD does not have air con filter so does altis. however there is a slot for it, u jus need to buy the filter n install urself. My G9 never have this problem with or without filter and don't even need to on the fan full blast. Even have a few Glaze and Ambi Pur, also don't have this problem. Only different is no heater function compare to currrent ride. Thanks for the info. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear May 10, 2009 Share May 10, 2009 only civic hybrid got the filter...all the rest of the civic does not comes with filter... not sure on the civics by PI... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...