ACCA

Robo

just to add on,

ACCA is a course that u need to go all the way, ie pass the final stage for the cert to mean something

else u stopped half way, even u get a partial cert, that doesnt carry much weight.

so if u intend to take up ACCA, make sure u have the time and commitment to finish it

and it is not that easy esp the final stage, i quit to study full time for the final stage.

but it was worth it.

Hi Iziz, sorry if i sounded blunt. May I know why did u not continue working in the audit profession? Is it due to the very stressful lifestyle? am at the crossroad and now thinking of what course i shoud take. Thanks !

If one want to be a trained accountant.. A Big 4 passage is a must... Without extensive Big 4 experience, one has to work very hard in order to go far in accounting profession...

i beg to differ...

i didnt join the big 4s.. but am climbing steadily now..

i prefer to fark auditors.. not kenna fark at.. [laugh]

nowadays all profession are streesful

if you take law, you do pupillage and slowly progress from associate upwards. at the end of the day, one will be a salaried employee unless you can show your boss that you can bring in clients (business). then you progress from a high class worker to a rainmaker

if you take accounting, you work as audit assistant upwards. you can be a financial controller one day. same thing about the worker vs rainmaker

if you take medicine. also the same. sama sama

at the end of the day, it really really doesnt matter which profession you choose. because at the end of the day, all work is stressful, some more than others.

it is more impt that you enjoy what you do for a living

unless got some $$, do medicine, finish the watever compulsory service in public hospitals and NS then open own clinic. too bad i lousy in studies n no rich godfather

just to add on,

ACCA is a course that u need to go all the way, ie pass the final stage for the cert to mean something

else u stopped half way, even u get a partial cert, that doesnt carry much weight.

so if u intend to take up ACCA, make sure u have the time and commitment to finish it

and it is not that easy esp the final stage, i quit to study full time for the final stage.

but it was worth it.

which institution did u go to?

mainly at FTC.

as advice by another bro,

find out which are the better lecturer and try to attend those lectures even if it means going to 2 different schools but make sure that lesson doesnt clash.

as good lecturer really make the difference when it comes to passing or re-taking the paper.

to share my experience, i attend lesson 4 days in a week when normal lesson are conducted.

when exam nears, i will go for remedial lessons, taking the no of lesson to 6 day a week.

super tiring and u tend to run out of steam pretty quick,

that is why i mention that u really have to commit fully and really determined

BUT it is all worth it.

which institution did u go to?

Edited by Allen

unless got some $$, do medicine, finish the watever compulsory service in public hospitals and NS then open own clinic. too bad i lousy in studies n no rich godfather

Doctors are poor pple nowdays, esep those who open their own GP clinic! LOL. Any stockbroker/remiser will beat them flat.

i second that, me din join the big 4 when i have the chance to

now, heading an internal audit dept in a listco.

i beg to differ...

Doctors are poor pple nowdays, esep those who open their own GP clinic! LOL. Any stockbroker/remiser will beat them flat.

huh ? fo real? i went to clinic juz for sorethroat + cough the bill comes up to $28 liao. and it just took the GP like 3mins to entertain me and im out of the room. if one day can get like 50 customers maybe song song gao jurong liao. since the place not big and aljunied area i dun tink rental taht high bah. and the cost of drugs is so damn low!!!

mainly at FTC.

find out which are the better lecturer and try to attend those lectures even if it means going to 2 different schools but make sure that lesson doesnt clash.

as good lecturer really make the difference when it comes to passing or re-taking the paper.

to share my experience, i attend lesson 4 days in a week when normal lesson are conducted.

when exam nears, i will go for remedial lessons, taking the no of lesson to 6 day a week.

super tiring and u tend to run out of stream pretty quick,

BUT it is all worth it.

wah salute u ley bro. anyway i tried ACCA too, last time do till 2.4 after that give up. Can't see myself doing accounts rest of my life. hahaa

huh ? fo real? i went to clinic juz for sorethroat + cough the bill comes up to $28 liao. and it just took the GP like 3mins to entertain me and im out of the room. if one day can get like 50 customers maybe song song gao jurong liao. since the place not big and aljunied area i dun tink rental taht high bah. and the cost of drugs is so damn low!!!

WELL.. u're probably one of the 10 he see daily..

those business good gets better.. those bad closed down fast... only we dont see them close

mainly at FTC.

super tiring and u tend to run out of steam pretty quick,

BUT it is all worth it.

like that i most prob will rotate between FTC and another one.. i can foresee sibeh xiong.. but LL my boss keep encouraging me to take... i think also good lah.. add to my credentials. heeeheee

Edited by Robo

i second that, me din join the big 4 when i have the chance to

now, heading an internal audit dept in a listco.

yea.. me havent climb so high yet.. but so far.. not to bad.. [rolleyes]

Hi Iziz, sorry if i sounded blunt. May I know why did u not continue working in the audit profession? Is it due to the very stressful lifestyle? am at the crossroad and now thinking of what course i shoud take. Thanks !

U asking a car salesman on career advice? Think u need to get ur head check together wif mine [laugh]

i beg to differ...

like i said, big 4 exposure will give you a better head start in your accounting career. Some of our local listed cfo/fc are in their early 30s... all ex big 4 auditors.

Any of these schools conduct Graduate Diploma in Accounting and Finance (for non-financial people)? Seen this course last time, but seems like all have stopped. I really don't need ACCA and I really dun want to be an accountant.

Dun have to take full ACCA, think its cheaper to just take e 1st stage and u will get a pretty good understand of basic accounting ardi.

just to add on,

but it was worth it.

In case u r not AWARE, the final stage can now be taken in bits and pieces, not 1 shot [lipsrsealed] so no need to quit job nowadays.

If one want to be a trained accountant.. A Big 4 passage is a must... Without extensive Big 4 experience, one has to work very hard in order to go far in accounting profession...

But e downside is tat if u stay too long inside audit/Big 4, ur skillset is limited and going back to commercial is not as easy as most ppl think.