ACCA

Robo

Hi TS,

i'm currently taking ACCA, wld strongly recommend the lecturers below:

FTC-Saminathan (Best), Roy Goh (ok la), Yvonne Goh (For foundation papers, very detailed)

SAA - James Kwan (some students like him, but i find ok la)

FTMS - CK Fung (For audit papers -good)

yep, my little contribution =)

i fark auditors indirectly too.. telling them everything there liao lor, why u keep asking me stupid or wad!? [laugh]

i guess guys doing accounts generally dont like auditors.

For auditors everything must be in printed papers then they are happy.

Even electronically stored documents that meet the strictest compliance requirements (e.g. EMC Centera storage) also not good enough, they want to see it in paper. I have clients who still back up their server data into physical tape, because "it's an audit or compliance requirement", when nowadays smarter companies back up to virtual tape libraries, and replicate their backups to a remote data center.

That's how I get f88k by auditors indirectly. They do not understand technology, and still insist on the WWII era of paper, pen and abacus. I won't be too surprised if they have a telex machine somewhere in their office. Can you believe they even do the a casting test i.e., use a calculator to counter check that that computer didn't calculate wrongly?

I'm being sacarstic anyway. Maybe auditors are more savvy nowadays.

u got ACCA and passed CFA Level I and u r a car salesman now? [confused]

Yeah, like I said, I need to get my head checked :D

For auditors everything must be in printed papers then they are happy.

Even electronically stored documents that meet the strictest compliance requirements (e.g. EMC Centera storage) also not good enough, they want to see it in paper. I have clients who still back up their server data into physical tape, because "it's an audit or compliance requirement", when nowadays smarter companies back up to virtual tape libraries, and replicate their backups to a remote data center.

That's how I get f88k by auditors indirectly. They do not understand technology, and still insist on the WWII era of paper, pen and abacus. I won't be too surprised if they have a telex machine somewhere in their office. Can you believe they even do the a casting test i.e., use a calculator to counter check that that computer didn't calculate wrongly?

I'm being sacarstic anyway. Maybe auditors are more savvy nowadays.

Actually, u know y we do casting checks? Who can ensure u got link e cells correctly? Imagine a huge consol worksheet which has been amended 10 times, can u ensure those cells still link correctly?

Btw, we hate it as much as u do, u go think how fun it is to cast the same thing 10 times [sweatdrop]

No doubt I dun have to do it but I dun wan my assts to waste their time too.

Hi TS,

i'm currently taking ACCA, wld strongly recommend the lecturers below:

FTC-Saminathan (Best), Roy Goh (ok la), Yvonne Goh (For foundation papers, very detailed)

SAA - James Kwan (some students like him, but i find ok la)

FTMS - CK Fung (For audit papers -good)

yep, my little contribution =)

thanks for the info~ [thumbsup]

getting an acca does not necessary mean that you will end up being a main stream accountant

i for one didnt

i came out of ntu accounting and entered the forensic accounting industry

it is a very small industry within accounting. basically if a company suspect insider fraud and donno how to check, they get us in

my course mate got a CFA during his worklife and began doing compliance in banks

another coursemate climb up his way from audit assistant to audit manager to financial controller

getting an acca does not necessary mean that you will end up being a main stream accountant

i for one didnt

i came out of ntu accounting and entered the forensic accounting industry

it is a very small industry within accounting. basically if a company suspect insider fraud and donno how to check, they get us in

my course mate got a CFA during his worklife and began doing compliance in banks

another coursemate climb up his way from audit assistant to audit manager to financial controller

frankly... im partly taking it for the bonus company is giving out if i achieved ea lvl of acca.. [laugh] its a 4 figure sum btw..

den CFO keep urging me to do it, company gonna subsidise a good part of the fees too.. no strings attached.

so why not.

Yup, thanks for helping me gain an insight in this profession. Didn't wanna waste my time away in army as i do not need to stay in. And uni will be starting in aug, so i was thinking if i should stop acca, to reduce my burden. But, i have come to a conclusion, i will take both. Thank you! [:)]

hey...hey.....don anyhow say

if i am earning big bucks, i will be driving this: [nosebleed]

VW_Race_Touareg_2_blue_vr_EMS.jpg

or this: [inlove]

2006_Hummer_H3_H1_and_H2.jpg

and hey maybe even this: :wacko:

indian_haul_truck.jpg

but poor me is driving this: [bigcry]

Ssangyong_Musso_Sports.jpg

[blush]

Edited by Mustank

u CFE ah

dat time go tis course conducted by tommy "something". He CFE head of SG or something..cant find name card. Talk like so yaya like dat... <_<

musso sports gd enuf ahhh...at least more ex than my car... [smallcry]

no lah i no cfe

but my boss (not tommy) can get the cfe without exam because cfe is given to anyone who is in the industry for donno how many decades

anyway my company don give extra pay for cfe

cfe, cpa, cfa all not impt to my boss and my pay

bec they pay based on output

:blink: i am a diesel addict :wacko:

Which schools in Singapore conduct CIMA? Have been searching around, but fruitless.

CIMA vs ACCA: CIMA is more relevant to me. Problem is, most are going after ACCA in Singapore. [sleeping]

Yeah, like I said, I need to get my head checked :D

no, dont need check ur head..im just surprised that Tan Chong Salesman can EARN SO MUCH..... [laugh]